We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price/quality, great for airport stayover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Horizon Guest House
Ranked #105 of 279 Negombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly owner, clean rooms and 20 m tuk tuk ride to the airport. Price is really good for room and assistance provided. It's all basic and there is some noise from the street, but overall the experience is a good one, ideal for when you need to wake up early-ish to finish your trip to Sri Lanka

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a very good budget hotel and I would recommend this hotel if you have to stay for a night before taking your morning flight .. Staff was very courteous and arranged breakfast for us at 6 30 early morning .. Rooms were very clean and bathrooms were clean as well .. Hot water facility is also available .. All in all , its a very good place to stay if you are departing to airport next day and would recommend .. Its worth !!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinod5380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I booked a first night here but my friends were leaving for the airport at 10pm. The owners allowed them to leave their baggage from about 5pm so that we can take a walk down the beach. On the map it might not seem close to the beach but there's a back alley that leads to Lewis place and then to the beach (about 4min).
Room upstairs might not be the most modern but it is spacious and most impt a/c and hot shower are working. Had a good night stay and decided to extend my stay for the next 2 nights. However, room was fully booked and I had to shift to Suriya Arana the next day. Suriya arana is modern but like what many reviews say, service is not good, boss is always trying to make money. After one night, I shifted back to Blue Horizon and was given a room downstairs. This time, the room is smaller but newly renovated with shower screen and all. V nice. What I like about this guest house:
1) cheap! Compared to others along the beach.
2) owner and staff are very friendly and informative but NOT pushy. They leave you to decide and quote very reasonable prices. Tuk tuk to airport costs 800rp, i know some are offering 700rp but if u do not mind that 100rp, let them settle for u.
3) free dilmah tea and coffee 24/7. Even when I checked out they asked if I wanted coffee or tea.
4) owner gave us free mineral water. When my friend wanted a bottle before gg to the airport, they gave them free as well. Wow!
5) Food from then kitchen is not bad too. Fried rice 400rp, chicken soup is 250 rp yummy! On the downside, you got to wait awhile though. Breakfast is awesome. 3 types of fruits, toast with jam and butter, egg of your choice, sausages and bacon.
6) I checked out at 12 pm, again my flight is at night 10pm. Owner offered me freee room to bathe and rest with a/c.
7) Wifi is free and accessible from the rooms.

Extra info: you can take bus 905 along lewis st to town centre for 20rp. From the bus station u can take an aircom coach to colombo for 150rp gg on highway, takes ard 1 h.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank seehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the best budget options if you have a late night flight. 20 min from the airport. No traffic jam as compared to staying in Colombo. Neat and clean rooms. Excellent AC. Small but super clean bathroom. Average breakfast. 10 minutes walk from the beach. Strongly recommended for short term or airport transits.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms towards the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaustubh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had 2 nights & 3 days here, before flying back home. Good place to stay, Happy with large room, A/C ok, fridge, breakfast good, staff very good & helpful. Plenty of places to eat & drink nearby, & the beach not too far away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Like many other reviewers, we decided to stay here one night because of its close proximity to the airport. Our room was clean and adequately furnished. Very friendly staff. Reasonable breakfast. If judged for what it is, a modest priced guest house, I'd score it 5, but I give it 3 because in my opinion a guest house will never have the creature comforts to warrent a higher rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezzahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed there for our last night in Sri Lanka. The Blue Horizon is a good choice. The room was nice and clean, it is on good location and has good friendly, helpful staff. We needed a late check-out (at 6pm) and there was no problem and no charge for that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igg0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 43 in Negombo
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winston Beach Guest House
Winston Beach Guest House
#158 of 279 in Negombo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 43 in Negombo
1,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 43 in Negombo
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Guest House

Address: 81, Cemetery Road | Kudapaduwa, Negombo 031, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $26 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Horizon Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon is only 15 - 20 minutes from the International Airport and only approx 100 mtrs from the beach. An approved guest house by the Ceylon Tourist Board since 1981.Now BLUE HORIZON guests can enjoy organized tours in Sri Lanka from 02 to 14 days for an unbelievable price. This service is only for our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Blue Horizon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing