We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Horizon Guest House
Ranked #67 of 234 Negombo B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and good location”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As a lot of others have written fairly positive reviews I decided to stay here on my first and last nights in Sri Lanka. If you choose to stay in Negombo it is presumably because of location to/from the airport.. I actually prefer Mount Lavinia in Colombo but that area is much further from the airport.
So The Blue Horizon is a good choice, It is clean, close to the beach and has good friendly and English speaking staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percycasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
90
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After being extremely sick for my last few days in Sri Lanka from an infection I made a decision to fly home early and needed somewhere to stay the night before my flight. I couldn't have asked for a better place. It was perfect!

For the price I paid (roughly £20), my room was spotless with lovely bed sheets, a mosquito net, and air con. The bathroom was great too with a hot, working shower- a luxury in Sri Lanka!

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and were always willing to devote their time to ensuring I was as comfortable as possible.

The location was a short walk away from the main strip where there were restaurants, internet cafes, and the beach.

It was the perfect place to wind down after a long trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having read reviews on Trip Advisor and Booking.com, I booked a weeks stay at Blue Horizon. We had read that it was a basic guesthouse but all the reviews were very positive. Maybe my expectation was too much, but this is much more of a backpackers hostel than a place to stay for a couple in our 30s. We were checked in very quickly after arriving at 7am and given a temporary room until ours was ready. The room was dark and humid and we found it a real problem to relax and get some sleep, after a night flight. We ended up going for a walk, to get to the main road, you have to walk down an alley, past people's houses, it was a shock to see a man in a bath in his garden as we made our way to the beach!
We returned to the room to try and sleep and it seemed we were right above the kitchen and could hear pots and pans banging, clattering which was then followed by maintence work.
We were shown our actual room, and it was disappointment. Our 'balcony' was the main walkway to access the path to the beach and already had people sat in the chairs, smoking. The room was small, it was an improvement from the temporary room, but not what we expected from the photos, reviews and the price.
We made the decision not to stay at the guesthouse and found alternative accommodation. This is somewhere I would recommend for one night before a flight, or for young travellers, who aren't too fussy, not for a 30-something looking for a nice week in Sri Lanka!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Joanne.

1.First of all thank you very much for the time you have spent on making a review about BLUE HORIZON

2. I really doubt if you have any right to review BLUE HORIZON as person
a. Who did not pay any cent to BLUE HORIZON
b. Who did not spend a Single night at BLUE HORIZON

3. As a gesture, we offered you a room on COMPLIMENTARY as you arrived very early than 7.00 am as you have mentioned. And you did not Book for the previous night too, so we thought that you would be very tired after a long flight so we transferred you to a TEMPORARY room as soon as you arrived. You were there for almost 7 hours using all the facilities it had. Eg A/C, Hot water, TV.. And we did not charge anything when you were checking out.

4. Urgent maintenance work was carried out right under your room as we had a blockage of waste water system but it was finished around 17.00 hrs of the day you arrived.

5. BLUE HORIZON is used by many Families, Guests around the world during last few years and we are proud that we have the highest number of reviews ( on our category ) on leading websites and we are a winner of Service of excellence for year 2012 / 2013 from tripadviosr. and BLUE HORIZON is not what you have described for sure.

6. The alley to the Beach is passing the gardens of some residences and you know it is just a 2 minutes walk to the beach. I think i am lucky enough not to get any complaint for the person who was bathing while you were walking to the beach. As you have looked at him while he was bathing with Clothes of cause. If he was bathing on the road you may have got Shocked, but he was bathing inside his premises, so it is you had LOOKED at him.

7. I invite you to Calculate the amount that you had paid to the place you were in Negombo and Compare the facilities you got. The room we allocated to you was just next to our Garden where many long stay guests prefer to stay. The room we allocated to you had AC, HOT/COLD WATER SHOWER/ FLAT SCREEN TV 26 inch, MINI FRIDGE, MODERN BATHROOM WITH SHOWER CUBICLES, FREE TEA/COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES.

I am shocked to see your review after not charging you a cent for your 8 hour stay but it shows your character

Any way thanks for visiting this lovely Island.

Regards

Anuranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Owner and his staff are very helpful, good breakfast, always care about guests! Near beach and restaurants, bars, shops when go out from back side. This time we lived for 3 days and feel very comfortable. When we have to go to the airport at 4:30 in the morning, they busy prepare good breakfast for us to takeout! It's so great for them to do that for us! We want to thank them for all their help and will choose them next time!酒店主人和员工都很关心客人,有问题随时找他们都能帮忙解决,离商业街和海边都很近,走路约10分钟。下次还是会选择他们的。

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulipchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed there for our first night in Sri Lanka. Lovely staff, nice place, clean room well furnished. We've left quickly to kandy, but it seems the location is quite good (5 min walking from beach). Definitly, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chamarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have stayed here several times for the last 2 day's before leaving Sri Lanka. Everytime it was a great pleasure !!!!
It's a clean, small friendly place on a good location, where ariving / leaving is possible on any time of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanny112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights 08 to 12 July at Blue Horizon and found it a nice and friendly place to be around the beach. Within a 3-5 minutes short distance to beach and plenty of eateries and tuk tuks around the place, you are never far away from anything you want. Owner Anuranga with staff Tudor, Sunil, Hector and Kumar always there to help you and service. Sad the cook has left as the off season but so many eateries around. Doing up few things in preparation for the season while we were there. Can do with few fresh decorations at reception and upgraded internet facility at the front hall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WasanthaSamarasekera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#18 of 234 in Negombo
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Fashion Inn
Holiday Fashion Inn
#10 of 234 in Negombo
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel J
Hotel J
#25 of 234 in Negombo
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suriya Arana
Suriya Arana
#12 of 234 in Negombo
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Kapuru
Villa Kapuru
#2 of 198 in Negombo
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#16 of 234 in Negombo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Guest House

Property: Blue Horizon Guest House
Address: 81, Cemetery Road | Kudapaduwa, Negombo 031, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Horizon Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon is only 15 - 20 minutes from the International Airport and only approx 100 mtrs from the beach. An approved guest house by the Ceylon Tourist Board since 1981.Now BLUE HORIZON guests can enjoy organized tours in Sri Lanka from 02 to 14 days for an unbelievable price. This service is only for our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Horizon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing