We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Horizon Guest House
Ranked #70 of 240 Negombo B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place close to the beach”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got a triple room, which was large and clean and had a little outside sitting area (though we didn't use this much). I was very impressed by the owner, who welcomed us late at night and did a very quick check-in - showed us the room, gave us some water, and told us breakfast is downstairs - which is all you need really when it's late and you just want to rest. The breakfast was good and the place was a short walk to the beach. It wasn't too far from the airport either (<20min drive)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dearest Guests,

We all at BLUE HORIZON Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about BLUE HORIZON on TA .

We want our valued guests to get into their rooms as soon as they arrive after long flights. Specially during late nights

We are Happy that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Wish you all the Best of luck for the future !

Anuranga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
90
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed in the Blue Horizon Guest House. We initially chose the place based on the reviews that said it was clean and friendly, and it lived up to its recommendation. It is not a 5 star hotel, but it is comfortable. It is as clean or cleaner than many motel 6's. The staff are friendly and accommodating. There is free wifi, although it is a bit slow at times. The beach is only about 200 yards away. The in-house food was good. On our second visit, the cook's mother had died, so he was away, so they did not have lunch and dinner available. Finding cheap, good food nearby was a little difficult. A nearby hotel with a pool allows the use of the pool for Rs 400 per adult per day.

One item to remember: they do not have the ability to take credit card, and the nearest atm is two kilometers away. Make sure you have enough cash for your stay.

Nathan

Room Tip: They have family rooms and will supply extra mattresses and baby beds if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waldocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dearest Valued guest of BLUE HORIZON
Mr Waldock & Family

Many Thanks for the time you spent on sharing your experience on TA and Many Thanks for the lovely review. It was really nice to have you all back in this year too.

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us this time too.

Wish you all the best of luck for the future and do hope to serve you all again soon.

Anuranga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there twice during our trip in Sri lanka. The hotel is not a 5 star but so cozy, clean and most of all very very friendly. Our room was huge with lots of space. Loved it! If you are looking for an ultra modern place this is not the place for you, but for the traveler that apriciates a unique touch this is just the right place

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dearest valued guests,

We all Thank you very much for choosing BLUE HORIZON for your stay during your tour in Sri lanka. and sharing your experience on TA by posting a lovely positive review.

We are extremely happy to hear that you did enjoy the service and the facilities of BLUE HORIZON

Wish you and your family all the best of luck for the future and do hope to serve you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came to This hotel Fist rival day.The room we had very clean .But when we going to room the room lights are not working.we called to reception and they done it. Anuranger is very friendly owner.Food was ok .climate was very hot Because of that we decided to move to hill country.
But we had a good shower.Room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Uper floor Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dearest valued Guests,

We all at BLUE HORIZON thank you very much for staying with us during your tour, and for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TA by posting a lovely positive review.

We are extremely happy to note that you did enjoy the service and the facilities of BLUE HORIZON

We wish you all the best of luck for your future and do hope to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here one night in Aug. Our flight was delayed therefore we arrived at the hotel almost in midnight. Aircons in both rooms had been running before we arrived so the rooms were very comfortable. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast was very good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kontheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Valued guests of BLUE HORIZON

We all at BLUE HORIZON Thank you very much for the time you spent on making such a lovely positive review about your stay with us. We all are happy to note that you enjoyed our facilities and the service. Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your tour in Sri lanka.

Team BLUE HORIZON wish you all very best of luck for the future and we do hope to serve you in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night for the usual reason - we were catching an early plane!

We were received very well and although we arrived early every effort was made to get our room ready. We had booked the family room which was OK (clean bed, good shower and a TV showing the Olympics) which was all we really needed since we were off immediately to Columbo returning late in the evening.

Even though we were leaving very early we still got our bacon + eggs and a small gift to remember our stay. I guess if we had stayed a few more days we would have more to say but if all you need is a place to stay the day before you leave SL then this must surely be the place.

Room Tip: Book the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Valued guests of BLUE HORIZON

We all at BLUE HORIZON Thank you very much for the time you spent on making such a lovely positive review about your stay with us. We all are happy to note that you enjoyed our facilities and the service. Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your tour in Sri lanka.

Team BLUE HORIZON wish you all very best of luck for the future and we do hope to serve you in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night before going back to the airport. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable and only a stones throw to the beach. Owner was very friendly and helpful and service was excellent. Great value for money, would happily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAB819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Valued guest of BLUE HORIZON

We all at BLUE HORIZON Thank you very much for spending your time on Sharing your experience with other travelers and posting such a lovely review. We all are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and the service.

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your tour in Sri lanka.

Team BLUE HORIZON wish you all the very best of luck for the future and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#20 of 240 in Negombo
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Fashion Inn
Holiday Fashion Inn
#9 of 240 in Negombo
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suriya Arana
Suriya Arana
#12 of 240 in Negombo
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel J
Hotel J
#27 of 240 in Negombo
455 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#11 of 240 in Negombo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Guest House

Property: Blue Horizon Guest House
Address: 81, Cemetery Road | Kudapaduwa, Negombo 031, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Horizon Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon is only 15 - 20 minutes from the International Airport and only approx 100 mtrs from the beach. An approved guest house by the Ceylon Tourist Board since 1981.Now BLUE HORIZON guests can enjoy organized tours in Sri Lanka from 02 to 14 days for an unbelievable price. This service is only for our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Horizon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing