We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serendib Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Jetwing Blue(Negombo)
$121
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel J(Negombo)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Beach(Negombo)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amagi Aria(Negombo)
$72
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pledge 3(Negombo)
$104
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Sea(Negombo)
$114
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$73
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
362
100
20
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
100
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankasmall poolbreakfast was amazingport of calltwo nightsthe main roadairport pickgreat place to startnegombo beachrooms are largenice gardenquiet locationbefore flying homerestaurants and shopswelcome drinkfish marketguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 494 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Unfortunately I cannot agree with all the previous positive comments. This is what happened:

We chose Serendib Guest House for the first night after our arrival in Sri Lanka due to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. In October 2012 we booked a double room and also the transfer from the airport, clearly stating the date and time of arrival. This was confirmed by Hilary, also indicating date and time of arrival. In February 2013, 4 weeks prior to our stay, I reconfirmed – as requested – date and time of arrival. This was – again – acknowledged by Hilary.

Upon arrival in Colombo – very tired after a long flight - we waited and waited…and waited for an hour in the heat for the driver to show up – but he never did. We phoned Serendib Guest House several times – no answer! Finally we had to look for alternative accommodation because we did not want to risk to just show up there. Because it was a Saturday many places were fully booked and we ended up in a place infested with mosquitoes at almost twice the price.

I wrote an e-mail asking for an explanation. Hilary admitted that she had made a mistake and apparently had us booked for the next day. Also she claimed that she could not answer the phone because she was “on my own downstairs and cannot climb safely on walking with crutches after breaking my hip recently.”

Now, I do understand that mistakes happen. However, in this case the date and time of arrival had not only been stated (and confirmed) once but SEVERAL TIMES!!! Also I find it dubious that no arrangements had been made to ensure that the telephone was answered (at 14.00 h!).

Adding to this the fact that we had only booked for one night and had made it pretty clear that we would like to travel around the island by public transport – rather than booking a tour with Serendib Guest House – I can’t help but assume that Hilary might have found a more “profitable” guest… So beware if you would only like to stay for one night and not go on a tour with them!!! The whole story leaves a very bad aftertaste and this is the first time something like this has happened to us during 15 years of independent travel around the world.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank susi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hello S,

You have not seen or stayed at Serendib guest house, so the review is speculation. Yes I made a mistake by writing your name on the wrong page - that's it a mistake I have apologised for more than once.
I have indeed broken my hip and cannot make it to answer the phone in time, you chose not to use the two other telephone lines as contact, you also choose to go to another guest house without coming here first.
I'm sorry the guest house you stayed at had mosquitoes in the room however that is beyond my responsibility.
It is your choice of course to stay at another place but since you have not even seen our guest house or experienced either that or tours I do not see how you can comment.

I trust you enjoyed Sri Lanka and were not too bothered by mosquitoes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived in Sri Lanka and arranged an airport pickup through the guesthouse. A great van came and pick us up and brought us to this wonderfull and great guesthouse. On our way the driver gave us information about a lot of things in Negombo which was nice. When we arrived at the guesthouse it was nice to just sit for a moment and relax after a long flight. We received something to drink and got a chance to talk to Hilary and Buddika, which was very nice. They are so kind and friendly and really gave us a warm welcome. The house is surrounded by a nice garden with a swimming pool. It is nice to sit outside and relax. The room is a great size with a nice double bed. We had an airconditioned room, which was perfect. We did not have a mosquito net, but this was also not nessasary. The bathroom was big and clean. Unfortunately the weather was not that sunny and because the water is heated with a solar system, we did not have a hot shower. The shower could also have given a little more water. The guesthouse is a little off the mean road, but Hilary walked with us to make sure we found the guesthouse when we got back and that made it very easy to locate. It is nice that the guesthouse is not on the main road, nice and quiet and also great to have a little walk. Breakfast is enormous. You did not need any lunch after experiencing this great breakfast. When you think you have had it all, they come with more food. Very nice and luxurios. We planned to stay our last night of our trip through Sri Lanka here as well and it would have been great to meet Hilary and Buddika again, but we dicided to stay at our last destination, so we did not have to travel again. I do highly recommend staying here when you want to relax some days before going on the road or relaxt before you fly back home. It is a wonderfull place! Buddika is also great with assisting you to plan the rest of your trip. He managed to receive tickets for us for the expo train, which was really kind. I can however recommend not to take the afternoon expo train. The windows are small and not all the windows can be opened and this is a pity if you want to make nice pictures. If there is no morning expo train, do not be sad, just take the regular train second class. You have big windows which can always be opened and it is a nice experience. The guesthouse is really a perfect choice to start your holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillemijnDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely guesthouse on our first night in Sri Lanka.

Very friendly owners. Guesthouse is a little difficult to find and when we telephoned for directions when our driver couldn't find the place one of the owners kindly came and met us on his motorbike and showed us the way.

Our room was fairly basic but large and clean. There is a nice little pool and outside sitting/dining area.

Breakfast was fantastic with the most delicious Sri Lankan potatoes - not to be missed.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I higly recommend this coasy litle guesthouse.

Nice litle pool, god atmotphere nice rooms and god breakfast.

Hilary, Milinda and the girls were very nice.
.
We were traveling around on the coast of Sri Lanka, and the two last nights when we came back to Negombo, we had to stay another place that were terrible. I asked Milinda if they had a room that was avalable, but unfortunately they were fully booked. He was very helpfull about finding us another place to stay.

So if you appreciate god service (eaven when you`r not staying there) ,nice hostes and god location, this is the place for you:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose to stay at Serendib after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We spent two days and nights there before joining our group to travel around Sri Lanka. All the high expectations raised by the excellent reviews were completely fulfilled. We were picked up early in the morning at the airport and greeted warmly when we arrived and immediately offered refreshments.The accommodation was spacious and spotlessly clean. The pretty garden and pool were put our disposal during the day where often we would be offered and brought snacks and drinks. Breakfasts served in the garden were delicious, flavoured with the fresh herbs picked from the garden by Budikka. Hilary was so friendly and very well informed about anything we wanted to know. The Guest House uses its own associated tuk-tuk drivers whom they will phone when you want to go to any of the nearby restaurants or into the main part of the town. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for Hilary and Budikka from the time of our booking to the time of our departure. Situated as it is in Negombo, Serendib provides an eminently more suitable base to start a tour of the country than Colombo which is actually further from Colombo airport. Not everybody tours; one couple we met were staying there for a month! We stayed in a number of hotels and guest houses on our subsequent tour of Sri Lanka and thought that Serendib was the best. It really was just like staying with good friends.

Room Tip: Just trust the proprietors
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardwallace48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews