We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great vibe, wonderful owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendib Guest House
Ranked #6 of 228 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice place, great vibe, wonderful owners”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Are there cheaper places to stay in Negombo? Of course there are, but Serendib is a clean, professionally run, tranquil retreat, set off the bustling main road by a few blocks. It is a perfect place to start and end your tour off Sri Lanka. My wife and I spent a few days there after our arduous 30 hour journey from the states. We relaxed in the courtyard, played with the dogs, and recovered from jet lag. This is a guest-house with five rooms, and large common areas, that are comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast is included, and the owners don't charge you for extra pots of tea, or fruit.

The real star of the place is Budikka (owner) who sets everything at ease with his mellow vibe and kind nature. He is full of helpful info and advice, and was the main reason we returned for our final night after our month-long tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello,

So please you arrived home safely after such a long journey. Thank you so much for the positive review here on TA it is much appreciated, our small team work hard to ensure you are comfortable and well cared for.

We welcome you back at Serendib any time, you are most welcome.

Buddika & Hilary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    94
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
285
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the start & end of our trip and it is a good value, safe place with a welcoming atmosphere. The breakfast is exceptional, especially the spicy potatoes. The small pool is a pleasant bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtw123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in November for 2 nights. From the moment of arrival to departure it was exceptional No wondr all the reviews are so positive!Buddika is so welcoming, his breakfast was the best Ive had anywhere! The grounds are well kept and the pool inviting. Away from the crowds along the main drag, it is an oasis. Pan to return 2013

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicntak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello, Thank you so much for the review here on TA. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you were comfortable in our home.

Buddika's breakfasts are becoming a legend on T.A. now. We welcome you back to Serendib next year, have a good festive season.

Hilary & Buddika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here on arrival in Sri Lanka and could not have picked a better place to recover from the flights. Hilary and Buddika were so welcoming and offered a laid back, relaxed few days, sitting on the porch, chatting, reading and stretching in the pool. Thanks to them we knew the best type of Arrack to buy, found the best prawns in Negombo, Buddika gave us so much help with trip planning and with Hilary's tips we completely changed our plans based on their more expert advice than our last minute guidebook cramming!

As for the accomodation...super clean, big room, spacious house and don't even mention the AMAZING breakfast, we had to get take away bags we were fed so much and after 3 weeks of further testing we can declare it was the best cooked breakfast we had on our trip. We only wish we had known what a great place this was (and a quick journey to airport) and we would have booked to stay at the end of the trip too. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry_George242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello how are you?? Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review. Buddika & I are so happy you enjoyed Sri Lanka and it was special for you.

Please do come back to see us when you can, we welcome you any time.

Have a wonderful Christmas,
Hilary & Buddika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just arrived in Kandy, from Negambo, where we stayed 3 nights at Serendib Guest House. We had originally planned to stay two nights, but we loved it so much that we extended an extra night. Not only was the Guest House clean and modern, but the breakfast was amazing - A Sri Lankan adaptation of the great Full English Breakfast, with all the vital ingredients. Buddika (the part owner) also went above and beyond the role of Guest House Manager/owner and helped us plan out the remainder of our trip. He also recommended some great things to us, from friendly and honest tuk-tuk drivers to great restaurants. Buddika also helped us understand the going rate for products and journeys, so that we didn't get ripped off. Hilary (Buddika's business partner) was also extremely helpful in all her emails to me before we arrived. All in all, an amazing place to stay in Negambo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly renovated back room on the top floor and although its a lovely room with a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathwilseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We used this guest house between flights we had. I believe it is a very good place to start or finish the srilankan experience. Their site is very friendly and I found them to be very responsible in handling our reservation.
The house is big, clean and very comfortable (with a very nice pool) and the staff are very very very nice, flexible and helping.
The downside is that its a bit complicated to reach (the tuktuk drivers call them and they explain). Our room was quite big and clean but had no window in it and hence felt a bit dump, we wouldn't want to stay in it unless so tired as we were (but it didnt effect our sleep). From what ive noticed they have other rooms that just as big and comfortable and with a/c. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have to agree with everyone else--this place is a winner. Removed from the noise of the street, friendly and accommodating. Rooms and the property in general are very comfortable and clean. Nice atmosphere to unwind in. Although for these same reasons it may not be appropriate for a busy group--it's a solo or couples sort of place. The breakfast is to die for--full on English excess. Recommend fully.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philthebrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#3 of 42 in Negombo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 42 in Negombo
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#2 of 228 in Negombo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendib Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendib Guest House

Property: Serendib Guest House
Address: No 83/1 St Joseph Street, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendib Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY OUR PEACEFUL AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE Situated only 7 kilometres from the airport and a 5 minutes walk from the beach, Serendib Guest House has the perfect location for your holiday in Negombo. Enjoy the comfort of five individually decorated rooms with separate bathrooms, - and equipped with good beds, AC / fan, and mosquito nets. In the morning, we serve you the included generous breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon/sausages, and vegetables, plus toast with butter and jam and of course coffee/tea. Our peaceful garden invites you to relax under palms and mango trees and cool off in the pools. You are welcomed to use a spacious living room with TV and prepare your snacks and drinks in our guest kitchen, where you can store food/beverages in the refrigerator. You also have free access to our WiFi. Our reception will tend to your needs, if necessary all day around, to make sure your stay will be as satisfactory and pleasant as possible. EXTRAS: To make your holiday in Sri Lanka memorable, we are happy to offer the following extra services: Pick up and drop off the airport. Sightseeing in Negombo by bike or "Lucky tuk tuk" Planning and organizing your Sri Lankan day or round trip with our car and experienced English speaking driver cum guide. Ayurvedic massage by a professional masseur, according to your need, in our massage room. Special honeymoon arrangements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Serendib Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendib Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing