We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & good help” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendib Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serendib Guest House
Ranked #6 of 201 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food & good help”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hillary & Buddika were warm, helpful and informative, as well as going out of their way to help us be better informed for our trip around Sri Lanka.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfasts plentiful, fresh, varied and delicious.
There is a 10 minute walk to the beach, which is pleasant to walk along in the evening and enjoy a drink or two at the beachside resorts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ayemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    94
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
281
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The guesthouse is located near the beach and 5 min from the citycentre on a quite spot. It was our first stop during our trip in Sri lanka and it was great! I had a room with view on the pool.The room was clean and big and had an airco. It was nice to have a pool because it was really hot! The breakfast was really amazing. Fresh food, eggs, bacon.. The owners are very friendly and help you where they can. It's a good place to start and end your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us & welcome you back here at any time.

Kind regards,
Hilary & Buddika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a flight out early next day and arrived around 5 at night. Less than 24 hours isn't enough to give you the true indicator.
Lovely people and very welcoming. They organized a driver to pick us up and drop us back to the airport. All very easy.
Pity the shower hose was broken and meant there was little or no pressure at the head for that early morning pre flight shower or our stay would have been perfect. I mentioned it and I am sure it was fixed that day, though a little late for me

Room Tip: Wander down to Blue Sky for a meal and free of charge you get a great conversation with Raja. He was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anomac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the review .

The problem with the shower only came to our notice after you had checked out, had we have known earlier it would have been fixed straight away.

We welcome you back here at any time, pleased you enjoyed your short time with us.

Regards,
Hilary& Buddika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you're looking for a more personal, relaxed, and homey experience in Negombo, don't hesitate to book a room at Serendib. The owners, Hillary and Buddika, are extremely accommodating and will make sure that you will be satisfied and comfortable. Many of their guests are repeat customers and I can see why. I'm already planning another visit to see them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review we both appreciate it. We welcome you back any time, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy & comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first Guesthouse experience, and they have really set the bar high for other guesthouses. The gentleman gave us a lot of great advice on travel. It felt very different than the normal hotel/hostel experience. At first it felt like staying at a distant family member's house that you rarely visit but the relaxed atmosphere, slow pace and being removed from the main street let us feel like this was a second home. This is truly a house that someone lives in not some house converted to a hostel/budget hotel and renamed guesthouse. Although the prices were a bit higher for pickup/transfers/day trips, etc, it was worth it. We never felt like we had to drop by a place where they will make a commission. We specifically told them not to drop by those places and the driver was friendly and very accommodating. It is a 15 minute brisk walk to the main drinking areas. We booked for 1 night but ended up staying for 2 nights and would definitely stay again to explore the city a bit more. The AC Queen room was big, simple and clean.

Room Tip: It can be a bit noisy because of the neighbor's remodeling/construction starting in the early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnguyen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Thanks Hillary and Buddika for an excellent end to a great holiday. This is the perfect guest house to be if you have an early start at the airport.
very good value. Large A/C rooms very comfortable and extremely welcoming and helpful hosts. Fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

So we arrived after 48 hours of travel, they picked us at the airport drove us to the guest house, deposited us in our room, behind the main house, which was perfect. It had ac, was very quiet, large and we then slept for 15 hours.

Buddika and Hilary are very helpful. The guesthouse is a short walk to the beach and town. The breakfast is cooked to order, large and delicious.

Worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdlanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 201 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#18 of 201 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendib Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendib Guest House

Property: Serendib Guest House
Address: No 83/1 St Joseph Street, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendib Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY OUR PEACEFUL AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE Situated only 7 kilometres from the airport and a 5 minutes walk from the beach, Serendib Guest House has the perfect location for your holiday in Negombo. Enjoy the comfort of five individually decorated rooms with separate bathrooms, - and equipped with good beds, AC / fan, and mosquito nets. In the morning, we serve you the included generous breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon/sausages, and vegetables, plus toast with butter and jam and of course coffee/tea. Our peaceful garden invites you to relax under palms and mango trees and cool off in the pools. You are welcomed to use a spacious living room with TV and prepare your snacks and drinks in our guest kitchen, where you can store food/beverages in the refrigerator. You also have free access to our WiFi. Our reception will tend to your needs, if necessary all day around, to make sure your stay will be as satisfactory and pleasant as possible. EXTRAS: To make your holiday in Sri Lanka memorable, we are happy to offer the following extra services: Pick up and drop off the airport. Sightseeing in Negombo by bike or "Lucky tuk tuk" Planning and organizing your Sri Lankan day or round trip with our car and experienced English speaking driver cum guide. Ayurvedic massage by a professional masseur, according to your need, in our massage room. Special honeymoon arrangements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Serendib Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendib Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing