We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Negombo
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Pilgrimage and fun trip with family

What a wonderful country we just got back from. Srilankha is beautiful and people their are... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kuenga
,
Bhutan
via mobile
Good knowledge, excellent driving, pleasing customer service

Definitely recommend Ashok for the great service during our family trip to Sri Lanka. Good... read more

Reviewed December 22, 2019
796vijayp
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his passion family holiday whale watching driving skills sense of humour his knowledge trip to sri lanka beautiful country ashok animals smile van nature tourists sights advice culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

Definitely recommend Ashok for the great service during our family trip to Sri Lanka. Good knowledge, excellent driving, pleasing customer service and very accommodative. Overall Ashok made a big difference to our holiday!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 796vijayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senanayakeashoka, Owner at Journey to Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

Thank you very much your kind recommendation
Highly appreciate ..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019

After the horrible terrorist activity in Sri Lanka last Easter tourism has hit a very unfortunate low. While travel in Sri Lanka for my partner and I was great because there were so few tourists, the effect on the local people (many!) who depend on tourism to feed their families and school their children has been devastating. NOW is the perfect time to go to Sri Lanka and without doubt, Ashoka is your man! He will take you where you want to go in his country, starting from the airport if you need, and as a local he will suggest things only a local can know! His knowledge and love of his country runs deep and wide! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank balikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senanayakeashoka, Owner at Journey to Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

Dear madam
I'm highly appreciate your lovely recommendation and about current situation. Thank you very much for visited our paradise. !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

We just returned from our family trip to sri lanka. We had hired Ashoka and his van for the five days we were at Bentota and Colombo. Had an amazing time thanks to the knowledge he has on the country and the places to visit. He took us for whale watching to Mirissa. Arranged our tickets as well for the same. took us to all places we wanted to see and his suggested places as well. Very safe driving and kept his van very clean. even carried water for us everywhere. All in all an amazing experience and would highly recommend his services.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank viraldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senanayakeashoka, Owner at Journey to Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Thank you very much for using our company JOURNEYTOLANKA as your travel service provider in Sri Lanka. You provide a very important foundation for your valuable feedback.
We are very grateful that we always ensure that our customers are provided with the best, most memorable service and 100% protection during your stay in Sri Lanka. I hope to see you again in our beautiful country.
Thank you for your valuable time to write a great review about us.
I wish you all the best.
Ashoka...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019

Many thanks and special mention for Ashoka who made our journey unforgettable. Very enthusiastic, good driver, knowledgable, resourceful and never say no attitude. Overall we were very happy and have recommended his services to all our friends and family planning to visit Sri Lanka. Galle is a must visit.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank VishalD719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeytolanka, Owner at Journey to Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Thank you very much for using our company JOURNEYTOLANKA as your travel service provider in Sri Lanka. You provide a very important foundation for your valuable feedback.
We are very grateful that we always ensure that our customers are provided with the best, most memorable service and 100% protection during your stay in Sri Lanka. I hope to see you again in our beautiful country.
Thank you for your valuable time to write a great review about us.
I wish you all the best.
Ashoka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

We just returned from our family vacation to Sri Lanka, and could not have been more thrilled with the experience!

We were lucky enough to have Ashoka as our guide for the duration of the visit, from airport pickup to drop off, and I can’t express enough what a wonderful experience he provided us with. Despite a very optimistic tour which we asked for (we have younger children, and October can provide challenges with rain) Ashoka managed to accommodate all our requests, while suggesting several things that we had not thought of along the way.

We were very appreciative of his knowledge about just about everything we saw. Whether it be plant and animal life, or history of the areas we visited, he provided us with excellent explanations on everything. He was also more than happy to answer our questions about everything from religion to current affairs in the country. And he especially made a point of finding things during our travels that were interesting to our children, which we greatly appreciated.

Some additional things that contributed to our great experience have been mentioned in other reviews, but are worth mentioning again. His driving was outstanding. Driving in Sri Lanka was much different than we were used to, but we never once felt at risk with him driving. His van was always clean, with cold water and AC waiting for us. Despite several rainy, muddy adventures, he always had the van spotless when we started the day. He knows people and little side stops just about everywhere. This resulted in us getting some truly fun and unique experiences, and we never felt like we were being taken advantage of as tourists. Adding to that point, he was always upfront about stops when asking us if we wanted to make them. He would tell us what the cost would be, and how inflated they where in relative terms. I appreciated this because it allowed us to make conscientious decisions on activities without feeling pressured. And on the few things we decided to pass on, it was no big deal at all. And finally Ashoka’s General demeanor and attitude were always wonderful. He always had a smile, or some joke for the kids. He genuinely seems to love what he does, and it is apparent in how he talks about his country and it’s history.

We highly recommend Journey to Lanka and Ashoka for any trip to Sri Lanka. When we return we fully intend to use him again.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank MIabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeytolanka, Owner at Journey to Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2019

Hi Dear sir ,
Thank you very much for your valuable kind recommendations i am highly appreciate ...

All the best ...!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews