We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”
Review of Suriya Arana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suriya Arana
Ranked #14 of 216 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here as a base for getting to the airport in the morning. We were welcomed with a delicious fruit smoothie on arrival, and feasted on wonderful grilled prawns fresh from the lagoon. The owners were extremely friendly, and obviously very experienced. The rooms seemed to vary in quality, I'd recommend getting one of the new rooms as they seem far more spacious. Our was one of the new ones, nice and clean, with international plug sockets too. Location is very close to the beach and the many restaurants along the main street, but far enough away to be quiet at night. At the time of visit there was a lot of expansion work going on, including the building of a small pool. Will be interested to see how developments go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonderLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    71
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
59
94
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived into Colombo airport in the early hours of the morning so it was both lovely and surprising to be greeted by the owners who couldn't do enough for us.
This place is simple and basic. Room was clean, bed comfy and breakfast was served on the lawn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCJones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Suriya Arana is located off the main street of Negombo, so it is a very quiet and private place. You can walk to the beach in 4 minutes, best through the Jetwing-Hotel-Complex (just walk through). It is also very clean, and the owners Judith and Sam are very friendly and helpful. They will also cook for you, if you order in advance (breakfast is included in the price). There is a pleasant garden and a nice terrace, too. Sam can also arrange tours to Colombo or a driver for your trip through Sri Lanka, if you want. Compared to the prices for accomodation in Negombo, Suriya Arana is very good value. Our room in the first floor was big enough with a good bathroom. During our stay in december 2013 there were two new rooms under construction. We would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Balloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place was like a home away from home.

Judith and Saman, the owners, will do anything to make your stay in the guesthouse and in Negombo and Sri Lanka as pleasant as possible.

The place was clean and pleasant and we could have dinner in the garden or inside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only for one night, but found the place to be good value for money!

+ friendly service
+ nice clean room with a small fridge
+ tasty continential breakfast
+ only 5 minutes to the beach

- no mosquito net
- hard to find - our three-wheeler driver did not know how to find the place before asking for directions twice
- wifi unreliable
- other services like dinner and car service a bit more expensive than expected (did not use)

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

At the end of our holiday we spent 2 nights in this nice guesthouse. Compared to other places we stayed in the past 4 weeks this is one of the bests. Breakfast is nice and if you like you can have a real espresso. The room (near to the entrance) is big and there are many places (verandas and garden) to sit and relax or read a book. Judith is a very good cook and we enjoyed her curry. Beach is less than 5 minutes walk. We don't understand some of the negative comments because we think they offer very good value for money!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank weethetniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Suriya Arana is well located near the Negombo beach and to restaurants on the main road. The couple who own the B&B have a wealth of experience in the industry and extensive knowledge of the area.

We are a family of four. They took excellent care of us. Our very very early morning arrival at the airport was no trouble; they personally picked us up and drove us to Suriya Arana. Departure was the same. We were headed out to a very specific location in Wattala. No trouble - they found it for us. Each time, the transport rate was very reasonable.

The room was great. Breakfast was very good.

Suriya Arana is the kind of place that gets repeat business from couples and families who travel frequently and who want a personal/local feel from their time away.

We would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BlakeandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#1 of 41 in Negombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 216 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#18 of 216 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriya Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriya Arana

Property: Suriya Arana
Address: 92 St. Joseph's Mawatha Ettukala, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suriya Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suriya Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriya Arana Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing