We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror”
Review of Suriya Arana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suriya Arana
Ranked #13 of 224 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horror”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

it's a big house where the owners live and tourists can rent a room. We stayed there for only one day. In the  night time somebody knocked on our door and windows. It was Raining that night, and our room was flooded with water. Our Luggage was wet. Can you imagine that all your clothes,photocamera,souveniers and so on became completely wet?? That was awful! A lot of mosquitoes. We have room with included breakfast, but the hosts did not do it because of sleeping. But ask for  extra $ 5 for a service they could take.
We ordered the transfer to the airport and paid for this in advance, but the driver was just sleeping till the last moment and that's why we were in a hurry... 
Dining in the hotel prepares the owner herself and sells them very expensive. If you go outside and eat at the restaurant next door surely you'll get half the price.
Its a very dangerous hotel. Beware of it! Think twice before choosing it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Makrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    71
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
95
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent the last night of our 18 day Sri Lanka round trip in the Suriya Arana. It is a well-run and spotlessly clean guest house with a lovely garden located in a quiet area of Negombo. Judith and Saman gave us a warm welcome. We had a beautiful big room and the food was delicious. This is an ideal address on your way from or to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We started our 3 week trip in Sri Lanka with the warm welcome of Judith. Rooms were clean, food was good and Judith was helpful. She arranged a 5 day tour with driver Sheehan for us.(80$ a day) All prices were reasonable, compared with what we have seen in the rest of Sri Lanka, but cleenliness and hospitalty were a lot better.
At the end of our trip we stayed two more days at Suriya Arana. The place is situated on a quiet backroad. In 5 miutes walk you are at the beach, where you can use the facilities of a luxury Hotel.
Nearby the airport, this is a good place to start and end your trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked this via a phone call and email after reading the reviews on this site. I arrived in the morning directly from the airport with my 2 sons and spent 2 nights. There was no problem with our early arrival. We took the family room and paid 7300 rps which included aircon and breakfast. It turns out that was the most expensive guest house we stayed in during our trip. The wi-fi worked well, the food was good and everything was very clean. The room we stayed in had all kinds of electrical problems and one night we couldn't even use the fan upstairs because all the power was off in the loft. The hot water heater was electric and worked only sometimes. (The owners were in the process of fixing that issue as we were leaving so it should be better by now.) My sons really enjoyed playing with the owner's son so for them this place was a highlight. For me, it was a block away from the beach so the location was ok but not great and I must say, after comparing to other guest houses, it was overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LannaAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We arrived in Negombo in April this year to find that the hotel we had booked on the beach was much less than acceptable . With the advice of a local Tuc tuc driver we ended up at Suriya Arana --what an amazing experience!! Judith and Sam and their charming 11 year old son welcomed us warmly to their lovely clean guest house situated in a beautiful orchid garden. We had the pleasure of eating Judith's wonderful meals served in the garden. judith is a wonderful cook with many years of experience in a 5 star hotel. We stayed 3 days at the beginning of our month trip and 2 at the end before returning home . While the Guesthouse does not have a pool nor is it on the beach ; we spent the day at Jetwing Blue Hotel (5 star facility) for $6 each to use all their services beach and pool . This hotel is only 5 minutes stroll from Suriya Arana. We would definitely stay at this guest house again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnowltonMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked Suriya Arana guesthouse in advance and were met at the airport by Judith whom we found to be very warm and friendly. Our room was spotless, very large, airy and comfortable. In fact the only negative remark we have is that the bathroom was a little small for a family of 5, but very clean which is of course more important. We had a lovely home cooked meal in the evening and a good breakfast in the morning. The guesthouse is very centrally located, the beach is within walking distance, so are the shops, restaurants.. if you fancy eating out and Negombo's historic sights. It is set back from the main road so you don't get all the noise from passing cars which is a big plus. Judith was very helpful and so was the rest of her family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

When we arrived, they were unexpectedly full. Quickly they set us up in a different hotel from friends, which was nothing to complain about.

We had a look at the rooms the next day (good) and had breakfast in the garden.

All in all very reasonable choice with friendly people who can arrange everything and are more than willing to give you a good start.

I would recommend a place at the beach or with a pool, but that is personal and difficult to find in this price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonasdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 42 in Negombo
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 224 in Negombo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriya Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriya Arana

Property: Suriya Arana
Address: 92 St. Joseph's Mawatha Ettukala, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suriya Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Suriya Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriya Arana Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing