We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of a 3 week tour of Sri Lanka and thought it was excellent. The hotel itself is modern, clean and in very good decorative order (most other hotels I stayed at were badly in need of renovation). Every day I saw someone painting or repairing something. My room was also excellent. I paid $50 (walk-in rate) for a large room with a sea view, satellite tv (star sports, movies, hbo etc), fridge and a lovely bathroom. The rooms are serviced every day. The swimming pool is nice with attendants on hand to provide a beach towel. The food is fine. The hotel deserves its high ranking and I thoroughly recommend it. It was clearly building a good reputation as when local taxis and tuk-tuk drivers found out I was staying at Paradise Beach, they would invariably say something like: "Very good hotel, yes?" . The only negative comment I have is the noise which other people have mentioned. Somehow every noise seems to reverberate and you can hear every door closing on your floor. That aside, this is an excellent, modern, clean hotel with good facilities in a good location at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    399
    269
    78
    26
See reviews for
233
466
109
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed in Paradise Beach Hotel for nearly one month and enjoyed it very much. The staff was extraordinary helpful and friendly and we felt welcome to be their guests. The rooms were cleaned every day nicely sometimes with a flower on the bed or a beautiful arrangement of the sheets. Room service was perfect but mostly we enjoyed our meals at the nice restaurant with sea view and personal service. The pool was very clean and the garden was kept in good order. Additional wishes were responded if possible like getting breakfast before scheduled time, electric kettle for preparing baby food...
The only thing to complain about are the parties in the evening and nights. If you plan to stay at PBH and do not like to be disturbed you should asked in advance if any party is going to take place. The problem is, that in most of the comparable hotels in this area they give these parties to compensate for the lack of booking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chessington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights between Xmas and New year and it was the best I have stayed in in a long time. Rooms lovely Food great, Management and staff the best could not done enough for you I will being going back again next year for longer this time

I have noticed people complaining about the music at night well it was not a problem it stopped by 12 and it was great to see Sri Lankan Weddings and parties happening at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

If you stay in this hotel, you will not get any sleep. There are vents about the door to the room and in the bathroom (see picture) that enable you to hear every noise possible in the hallway. Also, some of the people that stay in this hotel enjoy blasting their TVs all morning and night with their doors open. I had to go next doors at 7:00 AM to ask if they would close their door as their TV was on full blast. Furthermore they have Sri Lankan wedding receptions most evenings that start around 8 PM and end after 12 AM... I felt sorry for the staff who had to set up for this every day. They were overworked and it sickened me. I also felt bad for the guests staying there because during these receptions, they coral all of us into a corner out of the way and serve us our dinner. It is almost like we are a nuisance. Also, I found a cockroach in the closet, the shower leaked, they forgot to clean our room a couple times and didn't give us our wake-up calls. The noise thing by far is the biggest complaint though. Would NOT go here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeniq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisebeach29, General Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
As a new Hotel We did not have lot of booking with the holiday makers and to set that off we had accepted some wedding reception during this period. The management made sure the music was stopped by 2300hrs.And in future we will not have so many weddings. during the high season. and for the noise in the room corridor, we are seailng the bathroom vents so that the noise will not travell through.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

My husband and I are newlyweds, just married in November 2009 and stayed at PBH for 3 weeks. My husband is Sri Lankan and I am Canadian, therefore depending on who is inquiring about rates you will sometimes get conflicting prices :( My husband visited many hotels on the beaches in Negombo but found the best value and service from the staff at Paradise Beach Hotel. They knew I was arriving from Canada and none the less the price was very reasonable. The staff at Paradise Beach Hotel were more than friendly and courteous. The were more than helpful with our wedding which was held at the hotel. Everyone made sure that the day was perfect for us and assisted us in every way.
The rooms were cleaned everyday with clean towels and linen, our bed always had an artistic twist to it...always so pretty. If and when we needed anything they were simply a phone call away and someone assisted us as soon as possible. The waiters/waitress were always ready to serve and so friendly. The groundskeeper is one of the hardest working people I've seen, he made sure the beach was clean for us on our day. The pool is very clean, the ground are well kept, ALL the staff are more than helpful....and when the day came for us to leave I felt like I was leaving friends at PBH and not staff.
Yes the hotel does host events that involve music but ITS A HOTEL not a retirement home! So you have to expect them to run as such.
Thank you to ALL of you for making our wedding day and our stay with you wonderful. We will come again when I return in April :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElversAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Hotel

Property: Paradise Beach Hotel
Address: 289 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach, all sea view, 62 double/twin A/C rooms and 02 suites with private balcony, hot/cold water, safety deposit lockers, cable TV, tea/coffee maker & mini fridge. Our restaurant serves Western & Eastern cuisine, well known for seafood dishes, well stocked bar with wines, cocktails, etc. Conference facilities available for 100 pax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing