We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice guesthouse in the middle of Negombo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Tourist Guest House
Ranked #18 of 208 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse in the middle of Negombo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very nice guesthouse with pleasant and careful owner. 3 minutes to the beach, 10 minutes to fish market by tuk-tuk and 10 minutes walking to the center of entertainment in Negombo. The room was clean and comfortable. Thank you, Nishan!

Room Tip: You will see the Ocean if take 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedosov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine-Negombo, Owner at Marine Tourist Guest House, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    163
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
34
162
82
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I arrived Negombo in the evening looking for accommodation. I walk-in at the Marine Tourist Guest House and lucky to find an AC room available. I accepted the owner's price and said I would take the room. I told him I would grab my friend at the restaurant next door and come check in. It literally took 5 mins and when I got back he gave our room to someone else! This is so ridiculous! Now when I thought about it, the other group who took our room probably offered more money than us. We got there first and had an agreement. That was absolutely one of the worst Sri Lankan moments! Stay away!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine-Negombo, Owner at Marine Tourist Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
I am sorry to read what you have commented. "Room hopping" is so common for travelers to compare price and negotiate, mostly and unfortunately, we the owner is encountering many sneakily cases whereby verbally/personally agreed for taking up the room and with ending up for NO SHOW.

There are many guests walking in and out for enquiry, no doubt for that I am honestly offering the best price to guests at all times, eventhough with experincing the above for NO SHOW.

In business, you are aware, room is confirmed and guarantee when there is an email confirmation or with deposit or even with early full settlement.

By reading your 2 other reviews for hospitality in Negombo and other cities, as traveler were experienced not so good fun and pleasure while you were here or there. Hope you will be having a great time for next trip again to Asia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in this place for 1 night. They are a basic guest house but for the money paid I don't think you can find any better places in Negombo.

Location - Land side in Luwis lane, just a 1 minute walk to the Negombo beaches. Parking is available for 1 vehicle only. However it's not a problem as you can park by road. They do not have a restaurant, but there are dozens of restaurant available within walking distance.

Room - Large room with large bathroom. AC was available and bathroom was with hot water. Basic amenities. TV did not really work and the room seemed unfinished with plug points not fixed properly. Room service or telephone is not available.

Owner, Nishan was very friendly and a nice guy. We had a long chat with him about the area and common interests. In day time there is a lady who takes care of the place.

We booked this place online after spending lot of time online reading reviews and checking prices. I believe our research work was paid off as this was a good find. Definitely recommend for anyone with a tight budget.

Room Tip: Top floors will have a better view. But there is no elevator, so if you don't like climbing I re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

i have stayed in couple of guesthouses in negombo untill i found this one.. this is a realy nice, clean, super friendly place that don't over charge u like all the other ones. the owners really sweethearts!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lglickman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 night. The rooms facilities is good. Very clean, comfortable, and they got mosquito net as well. The location also convenient and easy to find, nearby with the airport. Price is reasonable but overcharge for half day bicycle usage. Very helpful and informative owner. To accommodate in Negombo area is better than Colombo. Because I found that accommodation in Colombo is over priced compare to Negombo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAAriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am an Indian academic, visited Sri Lanka in end-July this year in connection with an International Conference, which was organized at Negombo – 20 minutes drive from the International Airport. Apart from the academic engagements, I had the opportunity for an exploration of the sea beach on the Indian Occean, local markets, the Dutch Canal and other sites of interest. I stayed for four nights at a moderately rated ‘Marine Tourist Guest House’ run by a friendly family of a young gentleman named Mr. Nishan Fernando.

I got to know from the organizers of the conference that a series of conferences will be organized there in the near future. So I write this review of Marine Tourist Guest House. I highly recommend this guest house for the conference participants who have limited resources ( particularly the students) and want to escape the formal travel partners who keep margins (not uniform always) in their deals. I highly recommend this guest house for the following reasons:

• For providing a safe, homely and peaceful accommodation with all the facilities of starred hotels.
• For the interiors reflecting the taste/passion of the owner in hosting and also delicate cultural (Sri Lankan ) feel and flavor
• For its moderate charges
• For assisting in arranging less-expensive travel arrangements within SL.
• For expressing interest in incorporating some additional facilities.

I am thankful to ‘Nishan’ – the owner of the guest house for his humane concerns that I experienced since the time of selecting his guest house via internet. This was one among the options that were suggested by the organizers of the conference.
For me, brief interaction with his mother was a boon as I got to know much about the culture and cultural history and also her perceptions of the Indians!
.

Here are the details of Marine Tourist Guest House, Negombo:

Marine Tourist Guest House
No.118 Lewis Place
Negombo
Sri Lanka
Tel: 94 71 564 1827
E-mail:beney888@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krishna325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kherson, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at this guest house for 2 weeks.
It is very clean place . rooms were clean large and comfortable , very close to the beach.Huge rooms consist of a large shower room with sink and toilet, double bedroom with fan, A/C and a beautiful balcony faced to the ocean. The bed and shower room are all new, and very good quality.There are new bar of soap, toilet roll ,clean towels at the bathroom always.
There are also sharing rooms at the hotel and kind of “budget rooms” for tourists who want to save . Those rooms are also clean and have fans ,fresh towels and good bedclothes.
Nishan (owner) arranged airport transfer both ways to the airport and it worked very well , his driver Niranjen came in time.
Nishan speaks perfect English, so if you need advice and recommendation on places to visit, ask him. He arranged 3 days trip for me around historical places of the island by car , it worked well, the trip was completely safe .
Nishan and his mother are very friendly to guests , they gave for free nice Sri Lankan tea and coffe for visitors .
To have wi- fi was also excellent.
Thanks Nishan for a good accommodation and hospitality.
Definitely will come back.
Oksana.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.9 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 208 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Tourist Guest House

Property: Marine Tourist Guest House
Address: No.118 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marine Tourist Guest House in Negombo. Our budget Guest house ,hotel is located 100 m away from Negombo beach. The Marine Tourist Guest House of Negombo is in the Negombo tourism resort. If you are looking for the ideal home-away-from-home accommodation, Marine is the ideal place. Situated in a peaceful environment and just minutes from the Colombo airport, Marine Tourist Guest House is the place for you. Largest, cleanest budget guest rooms in Negombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marine Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing