We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so bad my son got sick”
Review of Alta Italia

Alta Italia
Ranked #144 of 173 Restaurants in Negombo
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so bad my son got sick”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

There was nothing italian in the food we ordered. My daughter's pizza was barely ok, but frozen and small for the price. My risotto was not even made of arborio rice and there was no apparent parmesan cheese. It was only standard white rice in a tasteless liquid sauce! My son's spaghetti was noodles with canned Ragu sauce and some added meat. Few hours latter, my son got sick and rejected all his spaghetti, proving the food in this restaurant is not only of bad taste, but also of bad quality.

Just to add some positive in this review, the bottle of water we ordered was cold!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VBoisvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    11
    13
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst cost/quality in Lanka”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We had two terribly overpriced frozen[!] pizzas with very random stuff on them. I don't even want to go into the so-called antipasti.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

we had a meal here on our last night and thought this was just an ok place the starters were fine but basic but felt the pizza was just like a frozen one
I know you don't come to sri lanka for Italian but we fancied a change after 3 weeks of wonderful curries
staff friendly as everywhere in sri lanka but would not go back its not cheap either

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cold beer, frozen pizza! ”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This is why we never trust Lonely Planet for food recommendations.

If you're going to eat out always follow the locals. But on this occasion we succumbed to pizza once again...she's a cruel temptress!

First up, the beer is cold which is unusual in Sri Lanka - totes amazing!

Pizza on the other hand could be frozen. We ordered a Sri Lankan pizza to mix things up a bit...two beers in it tasted pretty good. Let's face it, pizza is like sex. Even when it's bad it's still pretty good!

The place states under Italian management but the only Italian thing about Alta Italia is the Ferrari motif emblazoned on the ceiling!

Helpful?
2 Thank Thefreedomtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We tried it first time we came to Negombo and thought we may get some good Italian food as they position themselves as an Italian restaurant. but it was not even close!
ordered Seafood spaghetti. Except for spaghetti, some dry, overcooked, and very salty fish I had 1 (!) - small crab leg.
Luckily there was a cat around who seemed to have enjoyed the meal!
Complained to the manager but nothing happened.
So STAY AWAY! there are much better places to have some Italian food on the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yefudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Italia also viewed

Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 

Been to Alta Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing