We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't always trust the guide books!”
Review of Alta Italia

Alta Italia
Ranked #139 of 167 Restaurants in Negombo
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't always trust the guide books!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Like many other reviewers we went there on the basis of a number of guide book recommendations. It was really poor. A good example of what's good about Trip Advisor - more up to date information and we would have steered clear.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    11
    13
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not Italian”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As previous reviews have said, the place is not really Italian and we did not see any italian people working here. We had a vaguely passable pasta dish but they don't speak any English which made ordering tortuous and left us with one pasta dish between two of us and a side salad.

Don't bother.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not really italian”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It's ok, they claim to cook authentic Italian food but being Italian I know what is Italian food!!!!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank supermamcolombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yet another "Lonely Planet" disappointment!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stopped by this place for lunch, remembering it was mentioned somewhere in the LP.

From the outside, the place looked nice, the staff were welcoming, and the menu said it was under Italian management so we thought, "why not?". What a mistake courtesy of yet again, by the lonely bible.

The poor Italian spelling should have rang alarm bells but the pizza that came out was beyond terrible for the price. We paid Rs 950 plus 10% service charge. Elsewhere in Sri Lanka we've paid Rs 650 for one that came out of a wood fire clay oven and that one tasted nice. It doesn't sound like a lot but the night before we had a local meal with drinks for two for under Rs 400.

What actually came out on this occassion tasted like something you buy from the frozen aisle of a supermarket; greasy on top with a dough base that's as thick as the LP itself.

Incidentally, I've since walked past this place on a Saturday night and it was empty when elsewhere was vibrant.

To re-echo another reviewer, the so called "Italian" owner should be ashamed of themselves.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Most yucky Italian food ever”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I know, to go to European restaurants in Asia is a bad idea. Certainly when local cuisine is delicious. But there is almost no choice in the area where we were at that moment. And the fact that limoncello was on the menu convinced us to eat in this restaurant. Another fact was that the owner was an Italian. That would surely be good, we thought.

On the outside it looked very good. Nice design and menu was also quite attractive. We like everything on it. The staff was immediately very friendly.

I have seen something in the menu and I want to know more about it, the meal description is unclear to me. But the waiter has also no idea. I decide to take something else then.

Two of us had gnocchi and third girlfriend had pizza. Nothing was good. The gnocchi dough tasted strange. Ready made gnocchi from a cheap shop tastes hundred times better than this. And the pizza was just a frozen one which was heated in the microwave.

King coconut wasn't cooled but limoncello tasted good. And it was too expensive. Not a good value for the money, at all.

This Italian owner should be ashamed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraHodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Italia also viewed

Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 

Been to Alta Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing