We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach and great resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Star Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great beach and great resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The room to start, was just above average.
The hotel was just above par.
The food was a whole different story, Excellent and full of flavor and sri lankan culture. The staff was very helpful and the bar was very cheap.
The beach was very beautiful and a great place to relax

Traveled in March 2012

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kman1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    82
    107
    75
    68
See reviews for
89
127
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The official pictures were obviously taken some time ago. Faded glory would be the polite way to describe this hotel. Pool area dirty and poorly maintained, drain covers and doors to pump rooms etc missing or open, outside toilets unusable, tatty grounds, food seriously overpriced for the quality, rooms basic, bathrooms dirty, cracked tiles & bathroom equipment stained & tatty looking. At the end of the day this is a cheap beach hotel - but its not a bargain, you are getting what you pay for not what the official pictures are showing. We had to wait 7 hours for the extra child bed we booked, involving three phone calls and 2 visits to reception. In the end had to stand there and demand it so we could go to bed at night (it was New Year, so probably a skeleton staff on, but 7 hours for a bed that was promised on arrival is slow on any day of the year?)

Room Tip: Dont expect the "family room" to be any more than a standard room with 2 extra beds wedged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank locmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negombo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kenmare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here on three occasions in 2011, 2012 an 2013. Staff are amazing from reception to restaurant staff to housekeeping, every single one of them, they are a great asset to the hotel. Great location near town of Negombo. Rooms have all been renovated to good high standards. Food and service is excellent. Great selection for breakfast buffet. Lovely atmosphere in the resort. I cannot recommend it enough and a big thank you to all the staff including Sushan, Asela, Chamath, Suresh and everyone else who always makes me fell at ease. I will be back

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 54-57 are nicely located near swimming pool and restaurant. Ask for refurbished r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertvanBavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

thanks for your great hospitality, it was a 5 star 3 weeks holiday.
a great and pleasant staff, good service also the rooms.
your kitchen was every day a surprise, and tast full.

we coming again.
s&h the netherlands.

Room Tip: take the new restored rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hengki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had about 80 conference attendees from over 20 countries meet this last March at the GSHB for an international conference. For months I had communicated with the hotel (from the U.S.), booked rooms, and tried to arrange details. It was a bit difficult fully understanding what the different conference halls looked like, what the hotel's capacity was, and what materials we could buy once we got to SL, but the management at GS was always diligent about responding to my e-mails, even if they were lacking in detail.

Once I arrived at the hotel, everything went extremely smoothly- the hotel management and staff were incredibly helpful, flexible, and easy to work with. They did their absolute best to ensure that the conference was going well for us.

The hotel's location is excellent: the beach is beautiful and clean, the number of vendors on the beach was perfectly tolerable, and the pool was always clean and inviting. The hotel and conference halls were also very clean, the rooms well taken care of (sometime decorated with flowers and pretty towel arrangements), and we were thankful that for the most part the electricity at the hotel worked well.

The restaurant chef's were wonderful at communicating with myself and my assistant, and always checked that we were happy with the variety of food, and the level of spiciness (which we were). We also sat with them to discuss the menu for a big dinner banquet we were having at the hotel, and we were very pleased with their food options, as well as the way the banquet hall was prepared for us: great blue-hued lighting, candles at each table, and the room was arranged exactly the way we had discussed.

My only complaints are as follows:

- For a group our size, the WiFi network at the hotel was not adequate. It came in and out depending on how many people were using it at the same time. It was not very reliable, especially for several conference presentations- so either discuss this with the hotel before hand and see if they can temporarily increase their bandwidth for the conference duration, or come prepared to not depend on the internet.

- Don't assume that the hotel will take care of things like turning the AC on in the conference hall before a meeting starts (despite having given them a conference schedule), or that the sound guy will show up with enough time to do sound checks, or that little things you ask for will be remembered (like a new table cloth to replace the one that's been stained by our guests), etc. It was necessary for me to constantly remind the managers/staff of the things we needed, and I also always planned to show up to different meeting halls/break-out halls well ahead of time to assure that everything was in order.

As a whole the hotel was flexible with us cost wise, and because we were such a big group they were willing to give us some special deals. I'm very pleased with our experience at the GSBH and would definitely recommend it to others. Please feel free to e-mail me if you have inquiries about my experience, or if you have questions about holding a conference at the GSBH. My e-mail address is: nadinemorcos1@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Ask for one directly by the pool- definitely the nicest rooms and location! Some of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine_Morcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our honeymoon. Room was cleaned well and they arranged free fruit basket for us. Our room was Near to the Beach . when we stay the day we got room number 12 but unfortunately the room also occupied. Our rooms are attached with one door. The next room guest is a lady. When we talks she suddenly nock the door and said don't speak loudly I can't sleep. That's all whole day end on her word's. Please remove the door between the rooms. Bathroom was awesome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ragu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice rooms, simple but oké. The bathrooms are old and need renovation. The very old material makes it also a bit dirty.
The location from the hotel is good and direct by the beach. Service and prices are very acceptable. Its a beautiful place for an reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#34 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#25 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Terrace Green Hotel
Terrace Green Hotel
#16 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Star Beach Hotel
Address: 163 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Star Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing