We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good............Can be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Star Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good............Can be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed for just 6 hours.......arrived at 3.00 am and left at 9.00 am. I could get a quick sleep and again a quick bite.
The room given at far end (29A ) was just OK. The central switch (accessible with plastic of door key) was difficult to find as it was partly behind wardrobe. The breakfast spread was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    82
    107
    75
    68
See reviews for
89
127
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hanoi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at Dons Hotel next door but used Golden Star for meals and other services. The staff here were great - no complaints. Waitresses in the dining area especially were first class. However, the hotel was let down by poor management and expensive additional services. I gave them 6 items for laundry, but only 4 were returned. They refused to compensate me for the loss and even insisted that I pay for the laundering of the 2 missing items. Also not impressed by the cost (2,000 rupees) of the taxi to the airport. Its a real pity as the working staff were first class. They deserve better managers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildroverHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenst, Manager at Golden Star Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We are sorry for the loss of your laundry. We as management would not appreciate a complaint like this. Because the laundry was returned to you three days prior to your complaint and you did not check the laundry whether there is anything missing until the last day you were leaving. We would have done a proper check if you have given us more time plus our house keeper always check it before handing the items. We offered you to give us your contact details so we can investigate and return back to you with a refund for the loss if it is our mistake.

For the charge of the taxi to the airport that is our standard rate and you could have used any alternative if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel provides direct access to the beach. It has a cocktail bar with ocean views, with staff who will try to make cocktails to your own tastes. Many rooms open out to garden or the pool. The pool was popular, and looked clean and sparkly. Breakfast was included in our one-night stay, and there was a good selection of fruit, fresh-cooked omelettes, cereals, etc. The room AC and TV worked well, and beds were ok. WIFI was ok, but only in one spot in the room. The bathroom did not have a fan, or window we could open (as our room opened onto a corridor) so you could find it best to prop the door open when out of the room. We picked the hotel because it is only 15 minutes by car to the airport, and it was on the beach. We found about five basic restaurants within a few minutes walk. The hotel is not new, and you will find it dated, but it was fine for a non-fancy stay.

Room Tip: Ask for lawn or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Turned up with a quiet reception. Staff took my details then sat me down to get my details ready then served and showed to their rooms the next 2 sets of guests that turned up after me. Not a good start!!!

Was finally shown to room 32. The room in itself is fine bar that it is from what I can see the only room that looks onto the road, incredibly noisy and right above the local taxi rank. Most other rooms look onto the pool which is quiet. In addition wifi only available in the lobby not the room. For this lack of tranquility I paid a whopping £50. If you go to a lovely hotel 5 minutes down the road called the ice bear you get a room for £16 none of which are directly onto the road. Overall this room ruined my first night in Sri Lanka. I complained to staff to move me but they said they were full. However I watched a stream of people pour in all day and there were Definitely rooms that were quieter available.

Expensive hotel with lots of cheaper options neighbouring. And if you get room 32 you are guaranteed a sleepless night. Not worth the money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negombo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Katrineholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is my fourth time at Golden Star and i really enjoying to stay here during my vacation. I don't understand the bad reviews that the pool is not clean or that the workers there are not friendly, and over and over..
Every single time i feel warm welcomed and me and the workers are almost as friends. The pool is big and fresh, and same with the beach and the ocean. Golden has sunbeds on the beach and the palmtrees gives shadows and that makes the hotel so special! Aslo you can enjoy with sport-activities like badminton, volliball and other games. Very fun!
At the moment they are painting the walls of the hotel, and it makes the hotel look newer and more fresh.
It's a very good place to stay in and it's around 15 minutes from the airport. I will come back again! :D

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

this was a lovely hotel with a lovely beach. i really enjoyed my stay at your hotel. very clean beach :) the staff were very kind and smiling. me and my husband were warmly welcomed by the beautiful people at the front desk. they were very helpful as well. the breakfast was very delicious i must say. and quick service at the restaurant. our room was very clean and was with a nice view. this was my first stay at your hotel but my 3rd visit to sri Lanka. i'm touched :) so i will definitely come back to your hotel. i recommend this hotel to my friends who are waiting to visit sri lanka and to everybody who is planning to have a pleasant stay :)

Room Tip: nice view from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was booked by our travel agent and was assured that it was good. We arrived here around 8pm, raining, tired from our long journey from Kandy to Colombo, then here (Negombo). The reception looks very welcome. The family room was not what we expected, not refurbished room as told by the agent, rather small, aircondition not working, cockroaches, rude staff. We requested to change our room, after more than an hour of arguing and yelling at each other we were given another room which was a little bit better only. Breakfast was not great at all. Even though the location is good, I will not come back here anymore!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FZavier6052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#34 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#25 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Terrace Green Hotel
Terrace Green Hotel
#16 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Star Beach Hotel
Address: 163 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Star Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Golden Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing