We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable rate for good accommodation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed May 9, 2013

if you want to have a good location for your vacation, very friendly staff..nice swimming pool.. very nice beach area, very good room and very clean. bathroom is good.. clean beach! nice management........i recommend it to everyone to stay in this hotel..very delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evgeniya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It might have just been for the couple of days of our stay but there was a lot of building work going on directly above our room. It started at 9am and was still going at 5pm when we left for the airport. This perhaps wouldn't have been so bad if the people down the hall weren't having a party until midnight and we could hear the tv and the baby crying in the room next door to us. I know that all if these things are coincidental but I think that if the hotel had perhaps moved us to a room further from the works or maybe had thicker walls it might have been less noticeable..most hotels close during building refurbishments and it might have been wise for Golden Star to follow their example.

In terms of general service we ordered the set 5 course meal and were surprised when our main course turned up first. When we questioned it the waiter said that we should have ordered the other 2 courses if we wanted them. Luckily they did sort it by giving us the first 2 courses after the main course.

There was however no apology for the mess up with courses, no apology for the party down the corridor and no apology for the building work. Funnily enough the only time they asked whether we had a nice stay was when they saw trip advisor open on the laptop. Needless to say, when we return to Sri Lanka we won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

we have been 5 weeks in sri lanka, traveling with two little children. we decided to spend our last days in negombo golden star beach hotel, it was perfect place to finish our holiday. very relaxing hotel, friendly staff, nice and clean pool and very tasty food. we really enjoyed our last days in this hotel.
we can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

i have been here more 4 times in last 3 years i feel this is the place i can spend my holiday.
i came as a guest and i go as friend. all staff are very warmly friendly..

pool side are very nice you can get such a good sun,, and also beach are very nice you can walk soo far...

Room Tip: rooms large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our last 6 nights in Sri Lanka and decided to spend more than normal for a room, (10,000. rupees a night with breakfast) and were very pleased with the breakfast and friendly service. The room was clean and all of the electrical appliances funtioned which is not always the case. What disturbed me however was the noise from work being performed on two new rooms beside the swimming pool and near the beach. I complained to the hotel staff but it made no difference, from 08.30 to 17.00 all you could hear was jack hammers etc; The management offered me another room but it would have made no difference if you wanted to lay on the beach. After I arrived home I wrote a letter of complaint but have so far not received a reply. After visiting Sri Lanka 4 times and this time for 10 weeks I rate the hotel to be overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Room number 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

the beach is very nice and very clean,, the food was very good also price has excellent..
golden star hotel staff is soo friendly, they are always ready to help for every body.

we had such a fun sports activites, beach vollie and some other games that was soo good..
thanks for that..

so i can recomend this is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: south side rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice rooms...nice and clean beach. Very good and kind staff. Friendly too! Good service. I was very pleased with my stay at golden star. I will come back as soon as possible... I recommend this hotel to any traveller in the world, i am very sure that they will provide a good service as they did to me! The view was very nice from room number 53 which they allocated to me..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andeq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Negombo
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in Negombo
617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#29 of 43 in Negombo
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#33 of 43 in Negombo
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 43 in Negombo
911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#18 of 43 in Negombo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Beach Hotel

Address: 163 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: $64 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Star Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing