We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were tipped by a friend of us about the Palace Hotel in Negombo. And were happily surprised. It is not the top-end but excellent value for money: friendly staff, spacious room and very nice rooftop pool and bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan en Monica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep M, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
7
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good decent B&B hotel in Negombo. Close to the Browns Beach and other shopping areas of Negombo.

Friendly staff. The rooms are decent and clean. The bathrooms and toilets are clean.There is no room-service so to say. Do be aware that if you need lunch or dinner, you have to tell them in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We bought a complete tour in Colombo airport, the driver took us here the first night. We saw 3 rooms before finding one without hairs and dust evrywhere and witha mosquito net. We started unpacking and we noticed a window was broken, immediately after I found a bug big like an hand walking on the curtain. Beeing first night in sri lanka we were not sure about average level of accomodations, anyhow I called back my driver and ask him to bring me to another place immediately. We stayed another 2 weeks in sri lanka and never found such bad and dirt places.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negombo hotels

belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

After three weeks of traveling all around Sri Lanka, we decided to stay the last week in Negombo. After a bad experience with the way-overrated The Icebear, we looked for a better solution, and we found it in The Palace Hotel. A reasonable price and super friendly staff. Don't expect to get everything like food to be a top level, but who needs that in a place like Negombo where you have restaurants every 10 meters.
But this is more than compensated by the superfriendly staff (and espcially the smile of Devika) and the very comfortable rooms. Our five-year old son enjoyed the swimming pool on the roof.
And yes, John Cleese (with a tan) is working here during the night shifts!
Enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartJoyEfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tisovec, Slovakia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I came to spend a night before my flight out of Katunayake airport. The hotel is situated right on the main street with all the other hotels and restaurants. However, my room smelled wet and it was all the way upstairs. Luckily, I was able to get a good discount. For one night I guess it is ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orientoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nice hotel, the manager was good and the receptionist awesome guy nice roof top pool and food is bit poor rooms are k and nice area 29m walk to beach nice hotel to spend

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelushanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place has had some bad reviews, but we loved it! We stayed for two weeks in room 209 nice room with two big beads.The staff was very nice, but......a bit like Fawlty Towers, so how can you not love it :) Great little pool on the roof, we sat there every evning just enjoying being in Negombo. It´s a very laidback place so don´t be in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Terrace Green Hotel
Terrace Green Hotel
#15 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breeze Residence
The Breeze Residence
#23 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#34 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
#20 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 140 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing