We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Roof Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean View Guest House
Ranked #98 of 143 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2012

With no neighbours this guesthouse is nice and quiet! The rooms, whilst basic are cool, clean and comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly, caring and helpfull and breakfast out on the balcony was just such a perfect start to the day! We found this place to be the perfect base for us. The garden upstairs was great! With a big swing (my partner looses about 20 years upon sitting on any swing) and a tortoise (like I said - 20 years!) the stunning ocean views, sunsets and dinners are secondary! The garden's great, quiet and private. A nice place to enjoy lazing in the sun.

2 negative comments, firstly we spotted a cockroach on the balcony (it's Sri Lanka - there are going to be cockroaches! Get over it) and secondly we had one of the front rooms (the cheaper of the 2) and the heavy rain beat through our shutters one night and I had to get up and raise all our belongings off the floor and put some towels down to catch it. The staff were very apologetic and thoroughly cleaned our room the next day making it all as good as new! And yes, on the coast you are prone to a couple of sea storms by night. It didn't get into our room the other nights - this storm was just a big one I assure you!

Room Tip: Be aware of the 10% service charge added - this is standard practice EVERYWHERE eating, sleeping, lo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mridrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Ocean View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked this place because it was the only place we could find inside the actual fort and the minimum booking was for 5 nights which in hindsight was a bit long for us, 3 days would have been plenty to explore the old town - which is absolutely gorgeous and full of fabulous shops! But the most disappointing part was the extortionate price US$160 a night!! When we arrived & were shown around, I thought it worth no more than $50/night. On top of that, the air con was ineffective so we sweltered thru all 5 nights (& being from Australia we are no strangers to hot weather!) and the bathroom tho clean was dark & dingy. The toilet ran too unless you fiddled with the button. The staff and owners were very welcoming (but very keen to sell you some jewellery from their shop!) & happy to provide mozzie spray & coils when I was eaten alive at night, & the roof-top tortoise a gorgeous & interesting addition to the lovely garden. Breakfast was also good.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Really great location with views over the ocean as the name would suggest. The family are really nice! Unfortunately the room looks like it hasn't been cleaned in a while. There are ants everywhere and the bathroom is quite grotty. The toilet is loose so wobbles when sat on. The bed is really comfy and has a mosquito net and it has good aircon and fan. With a bit of a clean a fixing some things it really would be a great place to stay. Or if it were a LOT cheaper! Its about 3000 ruppees (possibly with tax on top) a night which is expensive but most places were booked up when we looked for somewhere to stay so we ended up here. Sadly I wouldn't really recommend it which is a shame because the owners really are nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We really appreciate this guesthouse in Galle: ideally located to visit the old fort, very nice hosts, very clean place with A/C and mosquito curtain.
We opt for the room without view but it was perfect: calm, clean and very comfy.
There is a lovely roof terrace where you have breakfast with ocean view.
We would strongly recommend this place

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this guesthouse. The room is clean and the bed is good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast on the terrace was very good.
Sitting on the terracce we had a perfect view over the ocean and the sunsets were amazing.
It' a perfect place for a couple of days, exploring the old city of Galle.
And just above all, this place is feeling very well !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hermanedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Have seldom seen such a view of the ocean from the dining table. The Sunset in the west coast of Galle where the property is located is simple breathtaking. Hues of pink and amber will sketch the sky in a typical never seen before composure. The open rooftop has a splendid view of the ocean and a walking path on the fort perimeter. You can spend hours in the morning and evening and sink into the culture and environment of this Portuguese colony. The host Mrs. Yasreen is quite friendly and warm and to talk to her about the Tsunami which hit Sri Lanka and the way they were saved was an experience in itself. She will do all it takes to help you for that extra bit. When I wanted to surprise my sister for her birthday which happened to fall on the next day after we checked in, she sent her son and a relative with me and blocked a cake at a shop which was just about to close. The very next day, she gave a lovely earring set to my sister as a birthday present. She also invited us to see some of the items in the gems and jewellery showroom which her husband was handling. Quite warm and hospitable, the host and the staff would do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: On the first floor which has a private balcony to see the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andybhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

After enduring the night from hell at another place, we came across The Ocean View House.As it was a quiet time in Galle we were offered the 2 front double rooms with aircon & hot water for $35.00 each, alternatively we could have paid $45.00 for a twin room but that had no view.The rooms were very clean, aircon worked a treat, paid additional for breakfast, but you paid for what you ate, we tried breakfast on 2 mornings, [having left our previous accom under very unpleasant terms], both mornings we enjoyed the food & the view on the patio overlooking the water. The lady that runs the place is more than pleasant, the owner is extremely lucky to have her as manager.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#29 of 143 in Galle
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#20 of 143 in Galle
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thenu Rest Guest House
Thenu Rest Guest House
#46 of 143 in Galle
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Old Dutch House
New Old Dutch House
#97 of 143 in Galle
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#15 of 143 in Galle
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Guest House

Address: 80 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $75 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View is a Guest House located in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Galle Fort. It has clean and comfortable A/c or Non A.c rooms with luxury attached ensuites with running hot/cold water. Some rooms have Sea Views. Spacious Balcony and Roof Garden for Relaxation. Halal food and no Alcohol. Wifi wireless Internet Connection for our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing