We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your not going here for comforts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martin's Simple Lodge
Ranked #66 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Martins Lodge is the only lodge in the Sinharaja rainforest. We first went here about 5 years ago and was very simple then but has been upgraded over the years, but please still do not expect too much.It is a very simple lodge living alongside Mr Martin and his family who cook you basic but tasty homemade meals, Dahl, fresh veg, popadoms etc. Do not expect a bar, take your own drink and make sure they know its yours otherwise the other guest will enjoy your hospitatlity. There is a very very bumpy 20 minute track in a very uncomfortable track that is in a bad state or repair but worth every minute when you get there if you want the rainforest to yourself ( we have only ever had 2 other couples there with us at anytime). You will of course bump into the Sri Lankan magpie here and most probably one of the few places you will see it. Rooms are basic, but a good supply of hot water. Do not go here if you want a comfy bed and spacious room this is the original eco lodge. I have been here 3 times enjoyed just sitting on the balcony looking out into the rainforest. Go only if you are truly interested in the wildlife, not much to see but very few places left in the world where you can sit uninterrupted in the rainforest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very basic but ok and in a stunning location. A good place to stay to visit Sinharaja as it avoids the hour jeep ride up and down each day. Could be easily improved without spending a great deal

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in January. It is truly a simple lodge but you are so close to the park, it is peaceful, and the simple home cooked Sri Lanka food served is fabulous. I would advise putting your luggage on the jeep that picks you up from the town and getting off the jeep as soon as it reaches the dirt road and walking the hill up to the lodge. We did this on the way back to town but I wished that we had done that on the way in as I did not like being on the jeep on the very bumpy road to the lodge. It is not a very long walk at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momfrompr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is not your average holiday hotel. It is what it says it is and that is an eco lodge secluded in the rain forest. The bedroom was clean, the shower adequate, the toilet was temperamental and the wash hand basin emptied on your feet, but we spent very little time in the room. It did get very cold at night and the thin sheet was not adequate so had to go to bed in our clothes!! the restaurant overlooked the rain forest and here we met our fellow guests and eat. The food was delicious at lunch and dinner - plenty of different curries, but breakfast eggs were often cold. The ride up was bumpy but didn't take all that much time and being so isolated was delightful. Mobile phone worked.
However this lodge is really only suitable for keen enthusiasts of nature and particularly bird watching. The walking is not difficult but there are leeches and it is hot and humid and it can rain +++

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeinthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

While it may be an adventure to get to Mr Martins, it is well worth it.
Yes, the facilities are basic, but the location and the effort Martin's daughters put into keeping you comfortable and well fed, make it a delightful place to stay.
We had three nights here, with two full days of walking in the park (Martin's is just outside the gate). The wildlife was wonderful - many, many birds, butterflies, snakes, lizards, beautiful orchids and much more.
The views from the lodge, overlooking the rainforest, are great. Blue Magpies are the first thing you see and hear in the morning. It doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Martin's Simple Lodge is what is says on the tin, 'Simple'. The rooms are very basic but clean and the women who looked after us worked very hard to see that we were comfortable. Yes, the ride up is either terrifying or exciting depending what type of person you are but the views are stunning especially the view from the communal dining area. This lodge is the closest to the park entrance and the forest is very tropical indeed complete with snakes, lizards, many leeches, and wonderful birds. We stayed for three nights and as keen birders found this time just about right. If you are not a bird watcher or nature lover than this place is definitely not for you but if you are at one with nature then Martin's (who we never saw) is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This Lodge is in the Sinharaja Rainforest and is 3.5 km from the Forest headquarters. The trouble is it is up a track only negotiable by Jeep and the "road" is a boulder strewn track up the side of the hill with a steep drop on one side. Not a journey for the feint hearted - it takes nearly and hour and I had my eyes closed the whole time! We stayed 2 nights and the journey back down took slightly less time but was equally nerve racking.
The lodge itself is in a beautiful setting but there its appeal ends. The rooms are very basic - the dividing walls are just plywood and dont reach to the ceiling so not a lot of privacy. The beds also are just wooden planks with the thinnest of mattresses on. Saying all that - the room was very clean with a good bathroom and shower. Martins daughters cook the simple Sri Lankan food and that was delicious. Unless you are an avid birdwatcher or naturalist this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.0 mi away
Birds Paradise Hotel
Birds Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kudawa
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Magpie Lodge
Blue Magpie Lodge
#274 of 1,443 in Southern Province
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavarone Eco Lodge Sinharaja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 12 in Deniyaya
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Republic Galle
Villa Republic Galle
#1 of 1 in Gintota
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Simple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Simple Lodge

Address: | Sinharaja Rainforest, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Martin`s Simple Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing