We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birdwatcher's delight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martin's Simple Lodge
Ranked #64 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Daintree
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Birdwatcher's delight”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

While it may be an adventure to get to Mr Martins, it is well worth it.
Yes, the facilities are basic, but the location and the effort Martin's daughters put into keeping you comfortable and well fed, make it a delightful place to stay.
We had three nights here, with two full days of walking in the park (Martin's is just outside the gate). The wildlife was wonderful - many, many birds, butterflies, snakes, lizards, beautiful orchids and much more.
The views from the lodge, overlooking the rainforest, are great. Blue Magpies are the first thing you see and hear in the morning. It doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Martin's Simple Lodge is what is says on the tin, 'Simple'. The rooms are very basic but clean and the women who looked after us worked very hard to see that we were comfortable. Yes, the ride up is either terrifying or exciting depending what type of person you are but the views are stunning especially the view from the communal dining area. This lodge is the closest to the park entrance and the forest is very tropical indeed complete with snakes, lizards, many leeches, and wonderful birds. We stayed for three nights and as keen birders found this time just about right. If you are not a bird watcher or nature lover than this place is definitely not for you but if you are at one with nature then Martin's (who we never saw) is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This Lodge is in the Sinharaja Rainforest and is 3.5 km from the Forest headquarters. The trouble is it is up a track only negotiable by Jeep and the "road" is a boulder strewn track up the side of the hill with a steep drop on one side. Not a journey for the feint hearted - it takes nearly and hour and I had my eyes closed the whole time! We stayed 2 nights and the journey back down took slightly less time but was equally nerve racking.
The lodge itself is in a beautiful setting but there its appeal ends. The rooms are very basic - the dividing walls are just plywood and dont reach to the ceiling so not a lot of privacy. The beds also are just wooden planks with the thinnest of mattresses on. Saying all that - the room was very clean with a good bathroom and shower. Martins daughters cook the simple Sri Lankan food and that was delicious. Unless you are an avid birdwatcher or naturalist this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galle hotels

Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This place is basic but clean and apparently the only place so close to the park--it's surrounded by forest. It's up a very rough track and Martin sent a 4 wheeler for us from the main road, but it adds quite a bit to your costs.

Everyone says that Martin is very knowledgeable being a former ranger, but I suspect he's a bit tired and seemed somewhat glum.

To access the park you must hike down to the park entrance, buy a ticket and hire a guide. The road's not so clearly marked and Martin's instructions aren't too precise, but we made it. I understand that this part of the park is better than at Deniyaya, though like in most tropical forests not too much wildlife is visible. That said, the famous Sri Lankan blue magpies (magnificent!) came to the lodge in the morning, and the guide was able to point out a number of other endemics. If you're coming from the south (Galle, eg.) it's a very long dusty journey as there is road construction.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trini2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Set on a hillside, surrounded by dense rainforest, visited everyday by emerald doves, junglefowl, blue magpies, grey hornbills, Indian pittas and other birds, with a resident water monitor just outside, Martin's Lodge is birder heaven! The facilities are very basic, and vegetarians may not have too many options, but when one is in the lap of nature like the Sinharaja rainforest, who cares!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umak235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

This is the only Lodge which is 200 meters away from the entrance to World heritage sinharaja rain forest. Basic but clean accomodation provided with hot & cold water facilities.Village style simple sri lankan foods are served.

Ideal location to observe birds while enjoying a cup of tea.The owner is Mr. Martin Wijesingha is a well known character with Sinharaja.He has a fantastic knowledge about sinharaja and has a fair knowledge about almost all the parts of Sinharaja forest.

  • Liked — Simple
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nishantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.0 mi away
Sinharaja Birder's Lodge
Sinharaja Birder's Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kalawana
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Magpie Lodge
Blue Magpie Lodge
#318 of 1,355 in Southern Province
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Edge
Rainforest Edge
#1 of 1 in Weddagala
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sinharaja Forest Edge
Sinharaja Forest Edge
#5 of 12 in Deniyaya
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 12 in Deniyaya
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Simple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Simple Lodge

Property: Martin's Simple Lodge
Address: | Sinharaja Rainforest, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Martin`s Simple Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing