We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit speachless.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Haven Guest House
Ranked #13 of 152 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviwes we decide go for Beach Haven.Location is great, everything is close by walk u don't need a tuk-tuk.But I don't know why our room num. 5 there was something wrong....very but odour, A/C didn't work properly so nights where nighmare...view from room zero.
So we decide to leave eirlier.Probably we just wasn't lucky one:-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Levap1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 258 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

This long-standing guesthouse is very clean and set up to offer some home comforts such as a lounge for guests, a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Right in the middle of the fort, the guesthouse has fan or aircon rooms; the upstairs rooms were brighter and airier (and the only ones with optional AC) but the downstairs rooms were also very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Pan875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for six weeks during my medical electives and had a great time. The price is good, I enjoyed breakfast and it is a very sociable place. Plus, it is located in the heart of the fort in a very nice neighborhood.
My room was one of the older ones but still nice and comfortable. The owner, Sita, is a lovely woman who even took care of me while I was sick. Thanks again for that!
They offer a laundry service and call Tuk-Tuk drivers for you so you don't have to worry about paying too much.
I would always recommend this place, thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsyannic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Throughout my solo backpacking journey around Sri Lanka I was struck by the hospitality of the people. The most notable example is that of Beach Haven owner Sita Wijenayake. The guest house is clean and great value but it is the kindness of Sita and family that made my stay here during July 2013 so memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank JoshuaDando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Clean large room with air conditioning that offered good value for money, galle is small so glad I didn't pay extra at a different hotel for a view as you can get to some great spots from here. We didn't pay the extra for breakfast but I wish we had as the the lavazza round the corner that lured us in was truly awful!
Very friendly family and a sociable vibe with other guests

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Beach Haven is in the heart of the fort yet it is a peaceful place. It's a few minutes level walk from the bus station, and the beach, cafes, museums etc are within very easy walking distance. We chose a room on the first floor which was spacious, clean and comfortable, with the option of a/c. Along the corridor there was a communal room and balcony overlooking the street. There was tea and coffee making facilities and also a large fridge for the use of guests. The owner's years of experience showed through, to make our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor where we were able to catch the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleseturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

To put it simply, this place is a very comfortable place to stay at. For my three days in Galle, I had a completely hassle free stay, without an disturbances at all. I am not surprised Lonely Planet recommends this place.

The guest house is run by Mrs Wijenayake and her family. She has been an ex-mayor of Galle. You can do yourself good to pick her brains to hear some fascinating stories from Galle and it's history.

For travelers who are coming to Galle, there is absolutely no need to hire tuk-tuks from the Galle Railway station (unless you are going to Unawatuna, for that too there are plenty of buses available). The Galle Fort and this guest house are 5 and 10 minutes walk from the station respectively.

I would recommend you give them a call before arriving at Galle, especially during peak travel season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelers_Lunchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 152 in Galle
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#4 of 152 in Galle
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#15 of 152 in Galle
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 152 in Galle
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#11 of 152 in Galle
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Guest House

Address: 65 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house started in 1968. According to the Lonely Planet travel guide (1980 edition-page 82) there were only two guest houses in the Galle Fort. This is the only existing guest house. It was started by Mrs. N.D. Wijenayake, the Former Deputy Mayor of Galle. Guest house has 4 A/C rooms. Rooftop balcony overlooking the sea and pleasant verandah. It has no curfew time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing