We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Haven Guest House
Ranked #13 of 152 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

great place to stay if your on a budget. Really nice family run home and guesthouse. Very central to all and great views from the roof! Great coffee shop on the corner with decent priced sandwiches.i had a room in house and was comfortable, it was just pretty hot. But thats the climate in sl. Maybe a room with ac next time...,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsNyc_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 258 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Professionally-run and very experienced - maybe the oldest guest house in the whole of Galle? Nice balcony, clean and functional rooms, wi-fi, good breakfasts. Very good base for Galle Fort and you might be able to get a discount for travelling alone. Owners speak excellent English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mrs W (junior) and family are just fantastic! We visited Beach Haven as the last remaining family members to do so (my sister, brother in law, Mum and friends have all stayed... more than once). We stayed in one of the a/c rooms at the front, very well set up with a luxurious 4-poster bed, lockable cupboard and a nice terrace out over the street. Mrs W made us feel very at home - remembering each of my family members from their trips - no mean feat considering just how many people must have stayed over the years. We had good local recommendations for places to visit, eat and drink, and lots of nice stories about her family and the town. The location in the fort is amazing. Breakfast feasts were a real treat, and really good value (as was the room). We left feeling very well looked after, showered with gifts to take home for my family, and a rather fetching lace tablecloth wedding present for ourselves! Would highly recommend a stay - be treated like Dutch royalty!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have just returned from 2months living at Beach Haven.
This beautiful guesthouse is run by some of the most caring people I have ever met. From the first day they bent over backwards to help me with anything. Full of fantastic advice and ideas.
There is a large range of room types and along with the great breakfast it was a very comfortable stay!
There is a lovely veranda to sit and watch the sun set from and it makes for a very sociable place as well.
I can't fault this place and miss it already! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second visit for a 12 night stay. As again the family were very caring and able to solve any problem that occurred. We had a good breakfast round a large family table conversing with the other guests which was a great start to the day. The guest house is in an excellent location very near the ramparts and easy walking distance to many restaurants and coffee bars.
The rooms are clean with mosquito nets and most have shower room en-suite with hot water, some have fans others a/c. We had two rooms on the first floor with a cool balcony to sit out in the evening. wifi connection is good.

Room Tip: Book early as the guest house is usually full and ask for upstairs room as cooler with a balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banwellannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013


Good location within the fort 100rps to bus station
Rooms here do vary in cost, because we had not booked in advanced all the cheaper rooms were full, which meant we paid 3500rps, rooms was decent size fan room, mossie net, hot water, relatively comfy bed. Wifi was very good, but our room was located beside the modem! Lion beer available which is a bonus for the fort! I did not eat here but had heard satisfied comments from other guests.
Overall would recommend, lovely colonial balcony to sit outside your room and relax in the evening!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is about my 5th stay at beach haven and I'm always very happy to return 'home'. Over the years the family has really become my second family. Sita and her family are always there to solve whatever problem may arise. Breakfast is served at a ver large table so you get a chance to talk to all the other guests and to share travel experiences.
The guest house is very cozy and clean and is only one block from the ramparts and the sea. It is probably the least expensive of all the guest houses in the Fort. Don't hesitate to stay here but be sure and book early asthe place fills up quickly.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room upstairs so as to have easy access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 152 in Galle
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#4 of 152 in Galle
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#15 of 152 in Galle
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 152 in Galle
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#11 of 152 in Galle
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Guest House

Address: 65 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house started in 1968. According to the Lonely Planet travel guide (1980 edition-page 82) there were only two guest houses in the Galle Fort. This is the only existing guest house. It was started by Mrs. N.D. Wijenayake, the Former Deputy Mayor of Galle. Guest house has 4 A/C rooms. Rooftop balcony overlooking the sea and pleasant verandah. It has no curfew time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing