We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house...delicious Mrs Wijenayake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Haven Guest House
Ranked #13 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house...delicious Mrs Wijenayake”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I recently stayed for a couple of days at the Beach Haven Guest House during a short trip to Galle, rooms are confortables, clean and the balcony is a fresh and relaxing view of the streets.
Location in centre is perfect.
Mrs Wijenayake is very kind and sweet and she know needs travellers.
I higthly recomend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    67
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
88
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I recently stayed at the Beach Haven Guest House during a short trip to Galle, and at the end of my stay, I did not want to leave! The comfortable, clean, good-value rooms, the beautiful and historic surroundings of Galle Fort, and the warm welcome that I was given by Sita and her family and friends, all made it a perfect place to stay. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich_lem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'm very pleased with my stay in this guest house. I stayed here for one night first but extended it for two more nights, since I liked it a lot. The family running it is very heplful and friendly. I had one room on the second floor and it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlunse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I would advise all Travellers if passing through Galle to stop and spend at least one night here. Guest house was very clean and an amazing rate a night for what we received. We booked very last minute and were lucky enough to get a room. There was 4 of us and the house accomodates even groups to stay in one room which keeps the cost down.

As for location, the guest house is situated in Galle fort and is the most picturesque little community. It is located within a couple of seconds of restuarants, shops and bars.

With regards to the hosts, they were very warm and welcoming and were able to point us in the direction of amazing places and restaurants. Also free qifi was a bonus for travellers.

Please stay here and visit the beautiful town that is Galle Fort.

Room Tip: Rooms available for all sizes of groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitwell05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we had delicious dinner one night and the location in great to wander around to fort. Our room was simple but comfortable and AC worked a treat. No shower curtain so bathroom gets wet with no bath mat available.

Very friendly people, happy to offer advice!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms, with AC as the fort can get quite hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

It was lovely to find a place with a bit of history in the face of all the new developments springing up in Galle. The guesthouse has a very friendly, family feel to it and we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We've been in Sri Lanka a few months ago (Feb 2012) but we didn't manage to upload our reviews yet, so here they are.
We stayed there 2 nights and would have stayed more if we could! For 1500 lkr we had the cleanest room of our trip, with a very agreable perfume when you get in, hot water and free wifi. It's perfectly located, in the Fort and 2 minutes from the beach and on lighthouse street.
The only drawback is that it's near the 2 mosques, so you'll probably have to hear the loudy call to pray.
We definitely recommend it, you can book without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#15 of 125 in Galle
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#1 of 125 in Galle
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Guest House

Property: Beach Haven Guest House
Address: 65 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house started in 1968. According to the Lonely Planet travel guide (1980 edition-page 82) there were only two guest houses in the Galle Fort. This is the only existing guest house. It was started by Mrs. N.D. Wijenayake, the Former Deputy Mayor of Galle. Guest house has 4 A/C rooms. Rooftop balcony overlooking the sea and pleasant verandah. It has no curfew time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing