We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feel like King of the Fort in No.39 Galle Fort...”
other traveler has booked this property
No. 39 Galle Fort - Formal dining table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No. 39 Galle Fort - Formal dining table
No. 39 Galle Fort - Entrance terrace No. 39 Galle Fort - Third bedroom entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
No. 39 Galle Fort - Formal dining table
No. 39 Galle Fort - Entrance terrace
No. 39 Galle Fort - Third bedroom entrance
No. 39 Galle Fort - Garden
No. 39 Galle Fort - Outdoor patio
No. 39 Galle Fort - Living area
No. 39 Galle Fort - Terrace over looking garden
No. 39 Galle Fort - Entertainment room
No. 39 Galle Fort - Master bedroom
No. 39 Galle Fort - Master bathroom ensuite
No. 39 Galle Fort - Reading room
No. 39 Galle Fort - Second bedroom
No. 39 Galle Fort - Second bathroom ensuite
No. 39 Galle Fort - Patio and garden
No. 39 Galle Fort - Master bedroom window
No. 39 Galle Fort - Dining area
No. 39 Galle Fort - Third bedroom
No. 39 Galle Fort - Third bedroom ensuite
No. 39 Galle Fort  Villa patio
No. 39 Galle Fort - Outside seating area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
Any
English first
Tim W
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feel like King of the Fort in No.39 Galle Fort channeling romance from times gone by.”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pop through the doors of No.39 and what opens up for you? Your own personal colonial style mansion, that’s what!

The high roofs, the well-chosen furniture, the inviting upstairs TV room, and each of the amply-sized bedrooms all exude luxury and sophistication,… and then you have the impressive courtyard! We weren’t too sure what to expect when coming to Fort Galle, but once we came into No.39 we knew we were in for a treat as we knew we would feel right at home in this ultra-elegant abode for the few days we were here.

The villa manager Mark greeted us with a warm smile and a plethora of information about the Fort and the area, as well as giving us great tips on where else we should explore and what we should do while in Sri Lanka. Each bedroom and bathroom, as well as the conjoined dining and relaxation space, had meticulous attention to detail for us to relax and either just read a good book, or have a drink and chat with each other.

The daily complimentary breakfasts cooked by our chef-come-butler Ajit were second-to-none: scrumptious (and spicy!) Sri Lankan-style stringhoppers with shaved coconut, chili, and dhal. DELICIOUS. Otherwise, you can opt for a Western-style omelette or similar instead.

The style and features throughout the property engage you with a sense of romance and adventure, and sets itself as the perfect locale for you to then explore the Fort and see all the little streets and alleyways - not to mention the simply stunning views from the Fort walls – just minutes away from the main crossroad where the property sits.

Ideal property for Fort Galle adventuring. 5-stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The awesome colonial style, and the breakfast!
Liked least: Courtyard has mosquitos, but no harm as we just slapped on some protector.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ActionAl
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Private Oasis”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect home base for exploring Galle: we loved coming home to No. 39 after roaming the lanes of Galle Fort each day.

The villa looks unremarkable from the outside, but as soon as you walk through the door you are greeted with high ceilings, Sri Lankan art and comfortable furniture and a lovely courtyard. The villa is remarkably spacious and very, very private.

Ajit, the villa's live in attendant, makes a delicious breakfast and really cares for his guests. He'd turn on the A/C in the bedrooms in the afternoon, before we'd come home, so they were the perfect temperature for us. He also lit tea candles and keeps the property in immaculate condition.

The 3 bedrooms were incredibly comfortable, amazing water pressure, super fast Internet, great overall energy throughout the property.

Full marks Ajit, thank you for looking after us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarsar31
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Galle Fort!”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you are looking for a villa right in the heart of the action then this is it. We stayed 2 nights and loved every minute. The team of two staff and villa manager made us feel extremely welcomed from the moment we arrived. The villa is a wonderful 3 bedroom villa, all bedrooms come with ensuite bathrooms and air-conditioning. Breakfast is included daily and is a traditional Sri Lankan meal however the staff can also purchase other ingredients if you prefer a cooked breakfast with eggs, toast and cereals. They can also cook lunch and dinner and a menu is provided to help you choose but the team is also flexible and can cater to dietary requirements if needed. If you are looking for a villa in Galle then I highly recommend this property. Plus it's great value for money! Thank you to the team for looking after us... we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fast wifi
Liked least: No Pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cags74
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb villa in the heart of Galle Fort”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had an extended family stay for 3 nights and didn't want to leave! We had 8 people. There are two day beds in a small room which is like the foyer to the main bedroom and this was very suitable for 2 young kids. You can also sleep an extra kid in the TV room on a day bed, but there is a pressure pump in the ceiling of this room that's a bit noisy for sleeping.

We were looked after by two young men, both called Ajeeth, both very helpful and the food was very nice! Had a huge seafood bbq on arrival which was delicious.

Location excellent, close to everything in the Fort.

The house is incredible, the restoration is superb, with soaring ceilings, tasteful period furnishings, privacy and great ventilation and fans. Air con and fans in bedrooms, all have a nice ensuite.

Just perfect for a large family group. I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delightful villa”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The front was not attrative but once we opened the door the villa cheers every one up after an 8 hours drive from Kandy ! The dining table was all set up ready to have dinner. The first impression was so important . Although there are some minor issue but we feel at peace and happy to stay on this main street , Light House Street 's villa . This villa eventually became the head quarter of after party hang out . It was a perfect set up . couple of nights we have 25 people in , no one wanted to leave they all enjoying themselves so much . It was good to see . I stayed behind at my master suites which is quite soundproof from the party's noise. The manager also managed to book us great massages , that was a real treat !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the living room and out side room
Liked least: leaking when it was pouring with rain
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loloke520
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing