We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little beachside retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea view from podigedara
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from podigedara
main Bathroom Entry Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sea view from podigedara
main Bathroom
Entry Pond
Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott P
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little beachside retreat”
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Situated about 5km south of unawatuma Podi Gedara feels pretty unpreposessing from the busy main road. But .......walk through the apartment and you go to a different world. The nice aircon bedroom leads to a small but usefully equipped kitchen which in turn leads to a terrace which sits just above a safe lovely rockpool upon which the Indian ocean waves crash down.

There is loads of outside space and you are in your own great secluded space for chilling out. Walk down the steps and into your own rockpool complete with traditional fishing pole. Spent 5 great nights here and aim to be back.

Andree was a great host. We loved our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameh82
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I stayed at the lovely apartment by the beach in September of last year for 10 nights. Words cannot describe how gorgeous this property is. It is reasonably priced and Andree the owner and operator of this amazing apartment will see to your every need.

We had an amazing time here where we did nothing but enjoy our stay next to the beach! It is truly a private beach to yourself. Regretfully, the pictures online do not do this apartment any justice.

We arrived at the apartment to a fully stocked fridge. We opted for a daily clean up and change of linen and towels at a reasonable price. Wifi signal was great. Andree had a great booklet introducing the area and her recommendations to the things you can see, where to shop, best places to dine, and pretty much everything you may need and more for a wonderful stay at Podi Gedara.

The locals are very friendly and the neighbourhood was safe. I rented a car from Colombo Airport and the drive to Podi Gedara was pinpoint accurate on Google Maps.

My wife and I highly recommend you go for Podi Gedara. This is a five-star property and a hidden gem of a place. Andree is an amazing host who you will be friends with instantaneously. The south beaches of Sri Lanka are like nothing we've seen in our many travels.

Four thumbs up by Farah and Me.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veeveedxb
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique beach side apartment”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Podi Gedera was an amazing retreat for a few nights of seaside living with many amenities. Easy access to beach and perfect 'natural' lap pool within the reef immediately in front of your apartment. Ground floor balcony also includes outdoor tub with sea views. The owner Andree is very informative and helpful about local activities and restaurants although you could be tempted to cook with a fully equipped kitchen and fresh fish to catch at your doorstep. Private, safe and a super comfortable bed ! Treat yourself and relax !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes1...
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GEM WE DISCOVERED IN SRI LANKA/GALLE”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is amazing, beach is on the doorstep. Closer to the sea you cannot get. We specifically enjoyed the terrace watching the ocean. Wonderful and caring host, Andree (the owner). Kitchen equipped well equipped with everything you may need. We had a lovely stay and will definitely go back whenever we need to go south again (Galle area)

Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSas
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on Earth.”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you've never been in Paradise, this is your opportunity.
An amazingly beautiful apartment in front of the Ocean, in one of the most beautiful scenarios of the South Coast. Andree, is the most amazing host ever, and will help you in anything you need.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing stay with warm welcome. ”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at Podi Gedara recently having found it online. We arrived to a very warm welcome from the lovely Andree who lives above the apartment. She was really friendly and gave us loads of information on places to eat and visit. Wijaya Beach Restaurant was a short tuk tuk ride away (a really nice driver called Nihal will be recommended to you who is very reasonable) this pace does delicious food.

You have your own patio area right next to the sea which is amazing. It made a change from staying in hotels.

Andree also owns a little boutique hotel with four bedrooms (Eka beach) down the road where we had breakfast a couple of days. This place seems lovely too- she obviously knows what she's doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the natural rock pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing