We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite's”
Review of Spoon's

Spoon's
Ranked #7 of 137 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of our favorite's”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Found this little place open after a huge rain.
The owner is really nice, always smiling, taking care of its customers.

We recommend it to anyone around.

The price is really ok , between 500-900 for a big fat Sri Lankan plate.

Will definitely come again!

Helpful?
Thank JulienAndPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    49
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
“Best R&C in touristy Sri Lanka”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After having tried Rice&Curry in all of Sri Lanka's main tourist destinations, we ran into Spoon's by accident in touristy Galle, and could not believe our luck.
A truly home-cooked meal, prepared with passion and care and undoubtedly using the best ingredients.
Perhaps ask for avocado lassi, which is not on the menu, which is so rich that it replaces any appetizer or starter.
In a word: incomparable.
However, set sufficient time aside as the food is made from scratch it takes more time than in other places.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great curry, friendly place, tiny cafe”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We found Spoon's by accident the first night, and by intention the second. The rice and curries are excellent- all cooked fresh, with good spices. Large portions (if you aren't very hungry, one of the rice and curries would probably be fine for two). It's a tiny place-only four tables. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in galle fort!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very friendly, family run cafe style restaurant which after our 6 week stay in galle fort we vote to be the best place to eat! Good value for money with big portion sizes and all freshly made. Devilled prawns and the rice and curry are both excellent! Recommend it to anyone who looking for authentic food in a relaxed informal environment!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiribathgoda
1 review
“"I had a spoon full"”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Among the most expensive restaurants in galle fort, a new small, yet great restaurant. Worth every penny you spend. With big potions.
Love your rice and curry..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AryanRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon's also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Spoon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing