We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous property, perfect for families”
other travelers have booked this property
Azure waters outside Iyla
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Azure waters outside Iyla
Private pool at Sunset Outdoor seating with a view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Azure waters outside Iyla
Private pool at Sunset
Outdoor seating with a view!
Relax on a deck chair by the pool and watch the sun go down
Master suite with with four poster bed and amazing ocean views
Master suite
Master suite
Twin bedroom with gorgeous ocean views
Twin bedroom in the day
Double room with four poster bed and ensuite
Ensuite to double room
Ensuite to master suite
Ocean view from Iyla
Sunset by the pool
Alfresco dining
Ground floor lounge
Deck chairs on the lawn
Stilt fisherman outside Iyla
Stilt fisherman outside Iyla
A morning walk on the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SamanthaW...
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, perfect for families”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at Iyla Villa was nothing short of magical. We went with extended family and had 3 children in tow. This place is perfect for children. It's on the beach, has a lovely pool and superb garden.

The food was outstanding. We paid for provisions and Mahendran (the on site chef) whipped up some delicious rice & curry meals. Multiple options catering to different palettes and he even made special food for the children. Each meal was planned well in advance and he always had the table set and ready to serve on time.

The staff were always so eager to make our stay enjoyable and yet not intrusive at all.

Most rooms have a gorgeous view of the beach which is absolutely blissful to wake up to.

The little things like greeting us every morning with tea and coffee didn't go unoticed and were much appreciated.

I absolutely loved this place. It has all the modern amenities and the charm of the best of Sri Lankan hospitality. I couldn't recommend this place enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Villa with potential, however, poorly managed”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The villa itself is nice, modern, and the location is right on your own almost deserted beach. Unfortunately, it is right next to a very busy road, and for some strange reason, the downstairs section of the house (where you relax, eat dinner etc) is open to the outside. There is a wall between the road and the house, but no wall on the downstairs of the actual house. So it is very, very noisey. The villa is modern, but is starting to show signs of being battered by the sea - fans were broken, paint peeling, curtains starting to weather, door bell not working etc. Having said that, for now, it is still ok, but in another year, it will need some serious maintenance. The villa was largely clean, but for some reason they left a matress on the landing for our whole stay, which was unsightly and unnecessary given there were serveral rooms it could have been stored in.

Unfortunately, letting the villa down is the appalling management. We were informed prior to our arrival that the chef would sit down and discuss with us our meal requirements and then go and shop accordingly. We stayed at a number of villas in Sri Lanka on this trip, and this was common practice. However, when we arrived, we were presented with receipts immediately and asked to pay in excess of 20,000 rupees. They had pre-purchased all the food, and a lot of items that we would never eat. Furthermore, they were requesting more than double what we had spent at any other villa for the same length of stay. I provided them with 10,000 and explained that we would not eat the majority of the food they had purchased, therefore we wouldn't be paying for it.

Management advised that they had to pre-purchase the food as it was too far for them to travel to the supermarket. We had stayed in a number of villas, far more isolated than this villa, and each day they purchased from fruit, vegetables, fish and milk without any concern.

The villa manager left on day 1, and advised he would be back on day 2. He did not return for the remainder of our stay. Each day, the chef harrassed us for more money to cover food, and it was clear that the manager had taken our 10,000 rupees and not left anything for the chef to ensure we had food for the week. Each day we were harrassed, and had unpleasant phone calls, making the whole stay less that relaxing.

Finally, on the last day, I was presented with the receipts, upon reading them, it became clear that they were charging us for everything - water, the welcome drink, soap (most of which was openned and half used by the previous customers). I provided them some more cash, but refused to pay for everything.

Overall, food was ok, although lacking in the fresh fruit, veges and seafood that we had found so plentiful and delicious elsewhere. The chef and house cleaner, whilst well meaning and pleasant, spent a lot of time watching television on the villa couch, sometimes when we were just outside on the beach.

The beach is lovely though, and those views in the morning when you wake up are spectacular. This villa could be fantastic, but the owner should take a serious look at the management.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. We are certainly surprised by the issues with the staff as in the past our guests have all written very highly about the staff and in particular about the wonderful service they received. We will look into the matters that you have highlighted as although Iyla is not a 'business' for us but rather our home on the beach we would not want anyone to feel that they didn't have a wonderful holiday.

This was the first time that we had agreed to give out only 1 room as typically Iyla is only given out as a whole house. We do usually buy some provisions in advance of guests arriving so that they can have refreshments and a hot meal, and all other food is bought daily from the local market unless there are special requirements and it has to come from Galle. Also our staff buy fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood from the local area. We will look into the short comings you have pointed out and whether too much was bought as initial provisions given that there were only 3 of you. We also do not typically present bills to guests until the end of their stay as the staff have a cash float provided by us so again we will check with the manager. I am sorry that there was a misunderstanding about the manager being there full time as there were only 3 guests (two adults and a toddler) we had assumed the services of a full time house boy and a full time cook would suffice.

We are in the process of our annual refurbishment during the low season as I'm sure you will understand that homes by the beach have a high degree of wear and tear. Again as Iyla is our home we always want to make sure that it is well maintained and comfortable.


Please be assured that we have taken your feedback on board and will look into the issues raised.

Yours sincerely,

The Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav M
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation !!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Family of 9 spent 3 nights/4 days here. Almost did not go as there were no reviews on TripAdvisor. This is the first review but don't let that steer you away from a quality place!

Location:
2.5 hours from Colombo airport and about 20-30 minutes away from Galle. Right on the beach. During high tide, the waves touch the wall of the villa. Absolutely beautiful and stunning location, setting and views. Located on the main road, occasional sound of train/car. Not a bother.

Beach:
Not ideal for swimming as it is quite rocky. Good for surfing (surfing school is a 5 min walk on the beach from the villa). There are a couple of spots for swimming in the sea. Safe, clean, tidy, gorgeous. Villa to beach is a few feet!

Staff:
Kumar and his team are what make Iyla Villa special. Fantastic service and personal attention and care. They knew what we wanted before we knew we wanted it! Always smiling, ever happy to serve and never trying to fleece you for money! Probably the best service we have had in a long time.

Villa:
Beautiful 5 bedroom villa with expansive sea views. Lovely breeze. Went in April when Sri Lanka was hot but it was fine with the breeze. Lovely large pool. Books, DVDS, TV, music system, board games, pool floats, etc. All possible things are provided for at Iyla Villa.

Lovely place for a family trip or one with friends. The staff at the villa took the effort of organizing a great barbecue for us and always served us with a smiling face! Will certainly visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Dear Gaurav and family,
It was our pleasure having you at Iyla. Thank you for the kind recognition of our staff who really do make Iyla special.
We hope that you will come back and visit soon. Take care, Sumi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing