We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel right in the middle of old Galle”
Review of The Fort Printers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fort Printers
Ranked #2 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel right in the middle of old Galle”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The hotel was converted from a old printer shop, hence the name. The rooms are spacious and clean
The restaurant was really good, serving great imaginative food for dinner, a welcome respite after 2 weeks of rice and curry! Breakfats was equally good, with a great choice of fresh fruit juices, eggs etc.
A great boutique hotel in the middle of the ancient fort town in Galle, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    142
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
342
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxing and the whole internal design is really charming and elegant. However the castle in my opinion does not reflect the soul of Sri Lanka and it is more preferable to stay at a smaller hotel by the seaside. Although the service quality and cleaning is perfect at fortprinters, it is a bit overpriced. Moreover i did not like the idea of semi-open toilet in the room (there is no ceiling of the bathroom and the toilet) so if you are going with your new girl/boyfriend you should consider that. Other than that, the food was very delicious both at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

If I ever get a chance to go back to Galle, II would def stay at the Fort Printers again!
Lovely, spacious, clean room and friendly staff.
Pool was a bit small but you can visit the Frangipani Tree place which is about 10-15mins three wheelers ride. It is worth travelling there, beautiful pool and beach right in front of the hotel.

Strongly recommend the food at Fort Printers.
Great location, close to restaurants/cafes which are mentioned in the Lonely planet book and also to the lighthouse/Fort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We have just returned from our trip to Sri Lanka which we kick started with 5 full days at the amazing Fort Printers. Admittedly only 3 of the 5 rooms were occupied but throughout our stay this place felt like a private villa, with exceptionally polite and efficient staff for whom no request was too much trouble.

Our room, the Headmaster's Suite, was enormous- luxurious enough to lounge around in all day as well as a separate dressing room....and by the way..it DOES have wi-fi! The pool is gorgeous and we spent many quiet afternoons dipping in and out and chatting to our fellow guests.

Having read some of the negative comments I would say that those who are looking for the traditional 5 star experience (ie. mini bars, business centres, monogramed robes, plasma screens, fort knox security) this place is probably not for you, but come here knowing that this is a small, private and meticulously run hotel to really get away from it all and I'm sure you will have an amazing holiday.

Thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraByrne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This hotel has a wonderfully comfortable and relaxed vibe, and oozes style. For instance, the sofas are chic, contemporary and beautifully designed but it's impossible to sit in them without wanting to take your shoes off and curl your feet up under you. And in this hotel you feel that it's absolutely fine to do that - that it's exactly what they want you to do.

The service is good; unintrusive but very obliging (we had them cheerfully moving heavy furniture so that cables would stretch from laptop to speakers), the food is unfussy but very good indeed. The wine is without question the best I drank in Sri Lanka in the space of several months. The management is readily available for queries and advice and will happily go out of their way to address any concerns or arrange transport etc.

The location is perfect for exploring Galle and the surrounding area; it's right in the middle of Galle Fort, which is scenic but quiet at night so you are guaranteed an uninterrupted night's sleep, and it's well located for trips inland or up the coast in either direction.

I loved this hotel; its the kind of place where you can relax and not worry about anything. It has all the class of a 5 star hotel and none of some hotels' slightly suffocating sense of having to be on your very best behaviour at all times. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallIslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The Fort Printers is in a great location within the fort. Rooms are stunning and have lovely views. The food and service exceeded our expectations and we were all treated like royalty during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoweAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Great restored old colonial building, huge rooms, clean, great staff. Nice location in Galle Fort - easy to explore the city. Food choices and quality were great. Rather small pool, but didn't detract from the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Printers

Property: The Fort Printers
Address: 39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fort Printers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Guests get the convenience of hotel services and the ambiance of a villa at Fort Printers… The eighteenth-century mansion turned printing facility now houses five stylish, antiques-filled suites—four linked via a second-story walkway, common in colonial buildings of the era; the fifth, poolside. The jackwood floors, copper-lined rain showers, and extra-long lap pool are generating a buzz among design-savvy visitors.” - Conde`Nast Traveler Hot List 2006 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fort Printers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Printers Hotel Galle
Fort Printers Galle
Hotel Fort Printers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing