We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fort Printers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Deco On 44(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fortaleza(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amangalla(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
414
156
35
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
156
35
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheadmaster's suitelobster curryhistory roomsmall poolguest kitchensri lankaboutique hotelcall to prayernew wingpolished concretemain buildinglarge roommosquito netpacked breakfasthigh ceilingstea and coffeelounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 623 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We initially booked a 2 days stay that prolonged to be 12 , easily we could have spent here a couple of months, we will in the future.....Galle Fort is a stunning place, it falls under the patronage of Unesco and it has preserved all the charms of a different era.
The Fort Printer has been refurbished with incredible taste and style, choose from modern and slick rooms downstairs or stylish and antique on the first floor.
Peter and his team did an amazing job in accommodating all the needs of our big family and went beyond that, we felt completely at home. Our kids did not want to leave the hotel , staff was friendly, attentive and professional.
Food was outstanding , they are the king of Lobsters/Jumbo Prawns, the best we had in the country ,private yoga lessons were organized on site with great ease and always with a smile.
I wish they had a spa, but there is a great one within walking distance from the hotel.
My advise: even if you are after a beach/surfing holiday do not waste your money in staying in a crappy hotel in Unawatuna , stay at the elegant Fort Printer and take a short tuk tuk ride to the nearby beautiful beaches and when you are done come back home.
We surely be back .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NavutuDreamsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have nothing but praise for the Fort Printers Hotel with its very high standard of service, spacious and beautifully furnished rooms/bathrooms, and delicious cuisine. It was a pleasure to dine in the courtyard restaurant by the pool – for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The menu is not extensive but the quality and variety of food was exceptional. Unfortunately the pool is on the small side – not suitable for anything but a “dip” – but there is a reciprocal arrangement with “sister” hotel Frangipani Tree Resort in Thalpe (15 minutes drive) where you can relax in the tropical gardens and swim in the larger pool.

It was a joy to stay in this stylish hotel in the heart of Galle Fort in January 2013. Its lovely interior is so cool and calm – but step outside and you are immediately “hit” by the vibrant and colourful atmosphere of the Fort area. This hotel is certainly a great base from which to wander the streets and lanes of the Fort area – to explore both the historic aspects plus a great range of interesting shops, (many quite “up-market” and selling an array of high quality goods and souvenirs - unlike many other tourist destinations where it’s difficult to find anything other than “kitsch”). It’s also well worth the few minutes walk to the bustling main Galle township – especially to check out the fruit/vegetable, spice and fish markets. A day trip from Galle to a number of popular coastal beaches is easy by local bus or tuk tuk or by transport by the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This beautifully converted old factory is an awesome base to explore the Galle Fort near main streets with lots of great shops and good restaurants within walking distance to the lighthouse and other main attractions. Loved the personal service, and the helpful and attentive staff. Gorgeous clean space, with tasteful interior. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We wanted a bit of a blow out last couple of nights in Sri Lanka as it was one of our birthdays so we chose Fort Printers. The hotel gave us a good deal on a short notice direct booking undercutting Agoda's price. The hotel is an excellent conversion of a beautiful colonial house with two nearby annexes which have also had a similar makeover. Our room at the top of the across the road annex was spacious and airy - they've made no attempt to recreate a colonial feel; instead using modern design to create simple but luxurious rooms. The room was accessed via a lovely sitting area with wifi and water, tea and coffee facilities nearby. A real pleasure to come back to after a day out and about in the hot and humid environs of Galle. We were on a B&B basis so had a lovely table served breakfast in the courtyard under the frangipani tree overlooking the pool. The staff were attentive without being ever present and happy to provide help or information as needed. It was no problem for me to borrow the hotel's Mac and printer to do boarding card printouts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here as the last part of our trip to Sri Lanka. We stayed in the New Building across the road. With an amazing floating staircase and the most comfortable bed we had experienced throughout Sri Lanka. It was a spacious room and the bath tub was to die for!

The members of management Peter and Rohann made our stay memorable as they prepared a cake for my girlfriends birthday as well as providing us endless advice about the Fort in Sri Lanka.
The food was delicious and I would reccomend this hotel for anyone!

From,
Juan and Amanda
Travelling from Chennai

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews