We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fort Printers
Nearby Hotels
$398
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$242
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Deco On 44(Galle)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
$140
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millennium Resort & Gems(Galle)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Lady Hill(Galle)
$110
$88
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
414
156
35
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
156
35
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheadmaster's suitelobster curryhistory roomsmall poolguest kitchensri lankaboutique hotelcall to prayernew wingpolished concretemain buildinglarge roommosquito netpacked breakfasthigh ceilingstea and coffeelounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 623 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a wonderful time we had in Galle staying at the Fort Printers. We had a room across from the main hotel in an annexe where it was quiet and comfortable with a marvelous bathroom where we enjoyed a relaxing bath. Wojcek and Justina were the perfect hosts and all meals were delicious. we would recommend without hesitation to other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being a boutique hotel, I stayed with my 5 year old Son. Staff were always eager to assist. From Voitec the manager to Rohan to chef, all catered for our needs.
The Fort is filled with history, and staying here gives u a similar experience of being in Rome. Ambience is truely sensational.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the Fort Printers, lovely small boutique hotel with fascinating history. The Headmasters rooms was spacious and very comfortable with lovely seating area. The local Sri Lankan breakfast dish of 'hoppers' with prawn curry and coconut sambal was amazing! The managers Woijeck and Justina are doing a wonderful job, they are so welcoming, even getting up to meet us at 4.30am! They have great tips on where to visit and the drivers they use are first class, special mention of Vijay. All the staff are helpful and friendly - all in all a great place to relax and enjoy Galle and the surrounding area. Hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice and clean boutique Hotel. I've liked the minimalism in decor and furniture and a lot of fresh flowers all around. All the rooms are different and very stylish. You will surely enjoy the cleanest swimming pool and the free wifi connection everywhere. The food is perfect! It was a big pleasure to get a flavored pumpkin soup and fresh quizzed papaya juice for the lunch. Try also the coffee and a chocolate dessert, you will never forget it! The service is nice. The management team is very friendly open and ready to help! In case you are going to spend some time in Galle, my recommendation is at least to walk in and to have a perfect lunch or dinner as we did, but better of course to spend a few wonderful days and nights in The Fort Printers Hotel in Galle, you will really enjoy it, no doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Fort Printers in Galle for just one night but left wishing we had stayed longer. This was by far the most beautiful of the hotels we stayed in our trip in terms of the interior decor, quality of fittings and fixtures and general relaxation factor. We choose a deluxe room for slightly more and had a great big freestanding bath, beautful polished concrete bathroom and a large space to relax. I dont know what people below are talking about with the safe, Im 5ft1 and i didnt have any problems using it, yes its on a cupboard, but its not a super high cupboard or anything.

We were facing on the pool and you do get some noise from there but that was kind of nice too as we donjt like to feel isolated, its a small hotel so you might have 2 or 4 people in the pool at most.

We ended up going out for dinner so I cant comment too extensively but I will say that after having breakfast (cheese omlette) we wished we had eated there. That cheese omlette was probably the nicest tasting thing i put in my mouth the whole trip! Yummmm! it was like they put melted french brie on the inside when they folded it in half. Bravo!

I went around the place taking photograohs and exclaiming to my partner "i want to live like this one day!" the design of the place was beautiful with the timber work and fabrics and heavy doors, just lovely.

The manager was very lovely too and quick to make himself known and check everything was going well.

This place represents excellent value for money and a wonderful place to relax and recharge after many places that werent quite what we are used to, I understand you travel to see things done differently but it was a very welcomed interlude to experience wonderful creature comforts and service levels.

Room Tip: Go deluxe, i dont know what the standard rooms are like but the deluxe was BEAUTIFUL!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammoyachty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews