We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of The Fort Printers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fort Printers
Ranked #2 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having read the reviews about Fort Printers were were expecting a lot, but were somewhat disappointed. The first room we were shown (across the road from the hotel in an annexe) had a ridiculously dangerous open staircase with no bannisters. The next room was fine but again across the road and so without the benefits of the lovely old hotel that we had expected. We arranged a take-away breakfast on the last day, but on asking for it were told that the staff knew nothing about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, not across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    142
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
342
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived in Galle having no accommodation booked and were very fortunate to find this little gem. We were welcomed by lovely staff after a long journey from Ella with wonderful fruit juice and a ice cold towel to be shown the History Room which was along a beautiful wooden terrace. The room itself was amazing. Huge, very simply restored with a lovely shower area with his and hers sinks and the most fabulous wooden creaking floors and lofty ceilings. We also had windows overlooking the frangipani courtyard with the fragrance floating into our room - lush! The only let down was the hard bed, which was not to my personal liking. The one night we stopped our room was "turned down" and the mosquito net drawn around the bed which was much needed. The staff kind and helpful, and breakfasts were lovely. I cannot comment on the dinner as we only stopped here for one night, and went out walking. The public downstairs areas were very comfortable and again wonderfully restored, with the most magnificent flower arrangements. For one night it was really worth treating ourselves and made for a unexpected addition to the excellent selection of Sri Lankan hotels and guest houses we sampled.

Room Tip: The History Room is at the end of the corridor which makes it more private. No fault at all with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was skeptical following some people's reviews in here and in other review sites.. However, we found that this is much better than what we expected. It’s classy in it’s own way. The rooms were comfortable. Hotel is located in the heart of the old Galle Fort and it’s one of the best locations to scroll the city from. The food was good also but again nothing fancy ! We really enjoyed our stay. One night is sufficient though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Fort Printers was lovely. Small, but perfectly formed, with a lovely pool for cool dips.

We spent 2 weeks in Sri Lanka, see my blog for tips, tales and pics:
http://waltzingflamingo.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/2-weeks-in-sri-lanka.html

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxane_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie in singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is one of the typical boutique hotels that are mushrooming in Galle currently.

It was a pleasant stay, although there were a number of mosquitos in the property. The bedroom had a four poster bed with a net, which helped but the common areas were not overly user friendly due to the mosquitos. We had the prefect's room. On the first night there were guests on the upper floor. We discovered at midnight that the ceilings and floors are pretty thin, as could hear them walking around, moving things etc.

Whilst there was some choice, on the whole, breakfast was very standard. The service however was very good.

Wouldn't necessarily return to the same property, but this is more becuase of the range of choice in Galle rather than due to this property in particular.

Room Tip: dont go for the rooms on the lower floors if you are concerned about being disturbed. However, the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groupof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here 1 night in the Headmasters Suite. Very unique style to the hotel which was formerly a school and then printers building. Excellent location in the centre of the fort. Breakfast was good but a little slow. They only start service after 8am. Overall service not as good as some other hotels visited on our trip. Didn't have dinner there but menu looked very good. Very small pool which I don't think anybody used. More a water feature than a swimming pool. Lots of mosquitos encountered in Galle but they do give you Mozzy nets around the beds at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Fort Printers during a February escape from the snowy English winter. The hotel is set in a great location, among local shops, banks, cafe's and restaurants within the old fort - a tranquil spot that doesn't allow a great deal of traffic, making it peaceful and intimate.
The hotel is styled very well with the right balance of modern and tradional. Sitting in the walled, courtyard dining area you get the feeling of being a guest at a superstar's second home.
Staff were always on hand and friendly, arranging tuk tuks to their sister hotel frangipani (guests can use the pool here - stunning), advising over upcoming travel in Sri Lanka, or turning down the room for the evening. Service around mealtimes was excellent and as was food, which was good value (£7-15 all dishes, including fresh seafood).
We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate size wise and amenities.
All in all, a fantastic find (by my other half) and a great experience. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to peacefully unwind in an exclusive but unstuffy environment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wils78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Printers

Property: The Fort Printers
Address: 39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fort Printers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Guests get the convenience of hotel services and the ambiance of a villa at Fort Printers… The eighteenth-century mansion turned printing facility now houses five stylish, antiques-filled suites—four linked via a second-story walkway, common in colonial buildings of the era; the fifth, poolside. The jackwood floors, copper-lined rain showers, and extra-long lap pool are generating a buzz among design-savvy visitors.” - Conde`Nast Traveler Hot List 2006 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fort Printers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Printers Hotel Galle
Fort Printers Galle
Hotel Fort Printers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing