We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel.”
Review of The Fort Printers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fort Printers
Ranked #1 of 168 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay. Room was very nice and very unique. Food is great. Staff were kind and allowed us privacy. The hotel could use someone who is more familiar with concierge like duties. Rooms are very unique and really comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiatravel4years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 599 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a charming hotel located in the old fort and has real character. The conversion to a hotel has been achieved with real sympathy to the old building. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and with high ceilings. The restaurant is excellent. The service cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: Geography room is at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the 'Geography' room. Very nice, spacious room with air-con. The whole place has a very colonial feel to it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The highlight though was dining in the evening, in particular a Lobster Carpaccio starter that I had and a Lobster Curry my other half had. They've got wifi in the lobby and this a great place to relax with a g&t in the evening! Also try the passion fruit martini!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's a different world to what you'll find outside the fort of Galle. A great place to enjoy the atmosphere of this colonial style neighbourhood and explore the cafes and restaurants in this area. The rooms are huge with high ceilings and great bathroom facility. Very friendly, warm and helpful staff. It was perfect for our last two days in Sri Lanka, preparing for the flight home and getting back to normal life. Not exactly a real Sri Lankan experience but at least part of the history. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyDropSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wonderful stay at a very welcoming place. We stayed at the headmaster s room which we highly recommend. Staff were exceptionally friendly and very very eager to help with anything. The restaurant/pool area is set underneath a frangipani tree and the flowers gently float down whilst we had passion fruit martini s in the evening

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kankani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent stay. The rooms were large and very well designed, the staff were genuinely friendly, and the pool was great for escaping the heat in the afternoons. Awesome location right in the middle of the Fort. Would definately recommend this place to other travellers.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place should be ranked #1 in Galle.

We had initially passed over the Printers based on reviews on this site, we then ended up walking in to take a look without realizing which property it was. The beautifully restored colonial era printers building is fantastically located, smack in the centre of Galle. Unlike many of the surrounding properties price vs value is spot on. The restoration is extremely well done, we loved the outside feel with the slick touches that make all the open areas welcoming. The pool is beautifully integrated and great for doing a very morning laps. (We had it to ourselves for most of our stay, with more people it would be a tad small)

The food is incredible though not the cheapest (the fish burger is the best we have had anywhere) with a decent wine list.

We loved the room and didn't find many of the shortcomings described in earlier reviews. With the exception of the absence of TVs (which is a plus in our mind) it appears the new management has really gone through to address remaining issues systematically. The only ones remaining for our stay was a non functioning lightbulb and lack of space around the bed (which is structural).

The issues regarding management have been solved with their fantastic new GM. I would rank the service as the best we experienced in Sri Lanka. Even after hours when the GM is off property the staff is well equipped to deal with our requests (food, transport, billing, etc).

Whole heartedly recommended.

Room Tip: The headmaster suite is amazing and worth splurging for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 26 in Galle
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 26 in Galle
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 26 in Galle
1,850 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#3 of 26 in Galle
260 reviews
0 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 168 in Galle
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Printers

Address: 39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $172 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fort Printers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Guests get the convenience of hotel services and the ambiance of a villa at Fort Printers… The eighteenth-century mansion turned printing facility now houses five stylish, antiques-filled suites—four linked via a second-story walkway, common in colonial buildings of the era; the fifth, poolside. The jackwood floors, copper-lined rain showers, and extra-long lap pool are generating a buzz among design-savvy visitors.” - Conde`Nast Traveler Hot List 2006 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fort Printers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Printers Hotel Galle
Fort Printers Galle
Hotel Fort Printers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing