We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't suit everyone”
Review of The Fort Printers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fort Printers
Ranked #2 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

3 of our party loved it but the other one was not happy, the pool looked unused and unloved. The food and service was lovely but one night all the staff disappeared at 8.30 leaving a very willing but ultimately confused night guard trying to get us some drinks. Be prepared for a different experience but you could enjoy it like us. Special mention to person who put a mattress topper on the bed to make it softer for me worked a treat.

Room Tip: History and geography have windows whilst art only has internal windows looking on hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 572 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Old historical hotel inside walled city so very interesting.
Good restaurant but not cheap for area.
Just not overwhelming for us, town itself included.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I booked this place because it looked really stylish and elegant. I wasn't disappointed in that regard. I paid about GBP £90 a night, which for Sri Lanka (more expensive than you'll think) is pretty middle of the road. The place itself is gorgeous, airy and modern, great art, nice staff, brilliant food. However there were some quite major niggles, which, if they want to charge that amount of money, I would have expected be present/remedied:
- No fridge in the room. That is pretty basic and poor.
- Only one towel and no handtowels in the room - again, basic.
- Mosquitos are HORRENDOUS in this hotel. The staff should spray the rooms in the evening and put mosquito coils in all rooms each night but didn't.
- Wifi doesn't quite reach the rooms. I had to hover outside in the heat being feasted upon to get a signal, really annoying.
- to say it has a pool is misleading.The pool looked a bit scummy and certainly wasn't something i'd be swimming in. Small too.

On the plus side, the air con was good, the bed comfy and the room itself nicely designed and simple. The copper bathroom was really nice and the rain shower lovely after the balmy days in Galle/by the beach.
The location is superb. Walking distance from everywhere you need to be.
Try Fortaleza, the Italian restaurant, and shopping at Barefoot and the street round the corner from the hotel.
Galle was my favourite place in Sri Lanka by far. Small but perfectly formed. The same can't be said of the main town, which is, like most Sri Lankan towns, a proper carbuncle.

It's a tad overpriced, and there are issues, but I would stay again, and the atmosphere is nice.

Try their sister hotel also, Frangipani Tree, in Unawatuna, down the coast, which is STUNNING.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLuxeTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were looking forward to our 2 night stay in Galle in a hotel that was rather different from most of those we had stayed in during the rest of our trip, but found it to be a case of style over substance. Yes, it's good that historic buildings can be given a new lease of life, but it was let down in a number of areas.

Our welcome was friendly and the downstairs "public" rooms are stylish and comfortable.

Our room was the Arts Suite at the top of the staircase. This was large and airy, with beams and a very high ceiling (the roof in fact), and the porter asked if we wanted to lower all the blinds on all the windows. We declined, but soon realised that the room is surrounded on three sides by the staircase and an internal corridor leading to two other rooms. If the blinds are left up, there is no privacy.If the blinds are pulled down, there are still gaps around them and in light of the bathroom arrangements (see below),this was not ideal.Tthere is some natural light from two windows set into the roof, but there is no blind for them, so you are woken at dawn with light streaming in.

The " bathroom" is actually a shower cubicle, a toilet cubicle and a basin, all within the main room and separated from the bed by just a partition. Neither of the cubicles has a ceiling.They are on a raised platform, which poses its own risks.

No hand towels were provided, and the bath towels were on a rack ouside the shower room, which was the other side of the toilet cubicle from th basin - not ideal.

Others have mentioned mossies - I confess that we did not see many but we did sustain a large number of bites that were on parts of our bodies covered up when not in the room. I just hope they were mossie bites and not bugs of a crawling variety!

Breakfast was well presented - a delicious fruit blended drink, followed by a platter of fruit, followed by eggs and bacon/sausage. However, we were not told in advance what breakfast was to be and my wife cannot eat most raw fruit, so that was wasted.

We dined once in the hotel - the food was good, but much more expensive than any other meal we ate in Sri Lanka. The following evening we went to the Heritage cafe just down the road and had an equally enjoyable meal for less than half the price (no alcohol served though).

Others have mentioned inefficient A/C. Ours worked quite well, but the vents were pointing directly at the bed, and the fan speed was fixed, thus subjecting us to a blast of chilled air in bed - we had to switch it off at about 1am and use the room fan instead. I mentioned this the next morning and was told it would be seen to, but by the evening it had not been touched so I stood on a chair and pushed the vents to a more sensible angle.

Returning to our room late in the evening we were surprised by a knock at the door, and opened it to find the Room boy who wanted to wish us a good onward journey - I found this to be rather intrusive and a rather blatant method of obtaining a tip, which I would rather leave in the room of my own volition, rather than feeling pressurised to hand it over there and then.

Our final impession was soured by poor service at our final breakfast. Aiming for an 8 am getaway, and knowing that breakfast took about 45 mins, we had arranged the previous day for a 7:15 breakfast. However, when we sought confirmation that evening that this would be OK, we were told that 7:45 was the earliest that breakfast could be provided. As this was too late, a breakfast box was offered which we indicated that we would come down at 7:30 to consume. Arriving at 7:25 the next morning, we were shown to a table, provided with lukewarm coffee, but no breakfast box. We then sat and waited till 7:45 when the normal breakfast service commenced, inc a platter of fruit for my wife, once again wasted, and eventually some eggs, but no bacon, which we had to eat in a considerable hurry. As we went back to our room we confirmed that we needed a porter for an immediate departure, but after waiting 5 mins we lugged the bags down the stairs ourselves.

Most of the staff were friendly and attentive, but I feel that they lacked training and direction.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit_abroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was a return trip to Galle (last 14 years ago), and the town has moved on a lot. Not affected so much by the tsumani it has such potential. In a good location, we were not disappointed at Fort Printers. Although not cheap, it fulfilled all our expectations. On arrival it was explained that there was a mosquito problem in the hotel which would be rectified by a fumigation that evening. This is done every month, and afterwards we did not have a problem, and nets were also provided. We had the Prefects Room - 2 steps from the pool, which was of a high standard, large with nice washing products. One small issue - that room did have noisy plumbing, but hey this is Sri Lanka !
The breakfasts were good, well served with very friendly helpful service. The pool was nice for a small dip, but needs attention and frequent filtering ! Dinners were excellent, with an innovative menu, though not cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed in the Headmaster's Suite. Spacious, quiet, stylish and comfortable! Dinner and breakfast delicious. Hotel team very friendly, helpful and proactive, organising a taxi to collect us from tha airport and on to our next destination. They even found the local name for pandam leaf for a recipe for us. Can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: Headmaster's Suite is very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. This is a very welcoming hotel, with excellent food. Breakfast (fruit platter and egg disk with tea or coffee and fruit juice) is included. Not recommended for those expecting the "cookie cutter" five star experience. The rooms are comfortable and quite large, but a little "old style" and lack some of the facilities often seen in western hotels, such as refrigerators and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDavidMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#9 of 25 in Galle
568 reviews
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 25 in Galle
239 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 25 in Galle
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Printers

Address: 39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $163 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fort Printers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Guests get the convenience of hotel services and the ambiance of a villa at Fort Printers… The eighteenth-century mansion turned printing facility now houses five stylish, antiques-filled suites—four linked via a second-story walkway, common in colonial buildings of the era; the fifth, poolside. The jackwood floors, copper-lined rain showers, and extra-long lap pool are generating a buzz among design-savvy visitors.” - Conde`Nast Traveler Hot List 2006 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fort Printers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Printers Hotel Galle
Fort Printers Galle
Hotel Fort Printers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing