We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apa Villa Illuketia
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Galle
newhaven
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is AMAZING!... the house is set in the most amazing mature garden you could possible visit and i would highly recommend that you stayed here if you are visiting Sri Lanka.

The wildlife is crazy ranging from monkeys to monitor lizards

The staff are extremely friendly and the food is to a very high standard (the kitchen is also very clean!!).

We got married here and the setting was breathtaking and well worth the cost.

The hotel has their own tuk-tuk.

Room Tip: They are all nice... but the best rooms are located in the pond house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdavies2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
31
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ringmer
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I only spent one night at this property as a guest at a wedding.
The setting is amazing - your personal national park. Giant monitors,a troop of monkeys,birds of paradise, kingfishers,frogs,a snake and all kinds of insects. Then there are all manner of trees and plants. You could wander around for hours with or without a camera. Beautiful!
As a wedding venue - perfect. The setting could not be better and the lady in charge oversees everything to perfection.
The property is notoriously difficult to find. I just phoned them up and asked them to send transport. No problem. They have their own Tuk-Tuk with a price list clearly displayed!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely little getaway for us for a night on our 2 weeks trip around Sri Lanka. Couldn't recommend it more highly. We stayed in one of the little suites, walked the gardens and enjoyed the old Raj atmosphere. Beautiful...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A lovely grand house so well designed and with so much space that it feels as if you have it all to yourself, even when there are other guests around. Set in beautiful lush gardens: we really enjoyed being shown around by the head gardener and were enthralled by all the herbs and vegetables as well as country life in the vicinity. You could spend hours chilling out on the verandah listening to the sounds of nature. The food was exquisite and the delicious Sri Lankan rice and curry is indeed highly recommended. Staff were helpful and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Apa Villa Illuketia for 2 nights, and enjoyed every bit of it. Its architecture, gardens, rooms and service is unmistakably the best in our whole sri lanka trip.
You MUST have the Sri lankan dinner at Illuketia. The variety, taste and presentation of the dinner is simply marvelous!! We loved it so much that we had it for both the nights, and skipped eating out in Galle.
A dip in the pool was not only relaxing, but mesmerizing with the view it had to offer!
We had the luxury of the pond house, which is very simply yet beautifully done. The vast gardens - flora, fauna, & animals were a treat to watch.
A special mention of the manager & staff, who were very friendly, helpful and prompt.

Room Tip: Pond House rooms are away from the main house, and give you privacy and awesome view of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajtkhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent our honeymoon staying in boutique hotels all over Sri Lanka but this was definitely my favourite. Not only by far the best value for money, but an outstanding combination of beauty, tranquility, individuality, homeliness, style, and laid back charm.

Having booked late we couldn't find accommodation right on the coast and had reservations about staying inland - but we were so glad we ended up here. Beaches are only a scenic 15 mins away by tuk tuk, and after a day of sand and sea surrounded by people it felt like coming home to this oasis of lush jungle calm.

Grounds and interior are both effortlessly stylish, making the most of the natural beauty of the scenery and architecture.

The endless gardens are indescribably beautiful with one of the most gorgeous pools imaginable hidden away at the bottom. Designed to feel like you're swimming in a lake surrounded by jungle and the sounds of the wildlife, it's a truly magical place to take a refreshing swim.

Service is laid back, friendly and efficient, food was great and fantastic value. The rooms are simple but classy, cool, comfortable, and a lot more functional than some of the very fancy hotels we stayed in. After dinner there's a choice of relaxing on the terrace with views of the garden and sounds of the jungle, or lounging on comfy sofas in the big airy living area.

If you fancy a day off exploring local beaches, Illuketia's sister hotel Apa Villa Thalpe is right on the beach about a 15 mins tuk tuk ride away. The sea views are stunning, especially at sunset, and they have all the facilities you could need including another fabulous pool.

Though you can't swim in the sea right there, 20 mins walk along the sand and rocks takes you to a great palm fringed beach with sunbeds, bar, restaurant and safe swimming, also a perfect spot to watch the surfers when the waves come in. Get a tuk tuk if you're not up for a bit of a walk though.

I know people have said it's hard to find but if you follow the directions on the website you should have no problem. I'd also read mosquitos might be a problem, but if you use anti mozzie spray it's fine - we actually found you need it wherever you are in Sri Lanka not just inland. Galle is about 25 mins away in a tuk tuk, Mirissa around 40 mins.

Hans the owner of both Apa Villa hotels has travelled most of his life and put his wealth of experience into providing something exceptionally special for travellers like us who seek chilled out charm, style and value. We loved it so much we extended our trip and stayed on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breakfastatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had serious doubts about this place on my way to it, and was wondering what I had gotten myself into this time. Apa Villas seemed far from Galle and too far into the country. We missed the turn, which is easy to do. Then the road leading up to the hotel was narrow (encountering another vehicle requires some negotiation) and appeared to be leading us into the middle of nowhere.

I was relieved the moment I stepped inside. It's a stunning place. And as beautiful as the building may be, the tropical grounds outshine it.

PROS
- Unique, interesting architecture and tasteful decor and furnishings
- A koi pool inside, and a moat filled with koi surrounding the deck
- Huge decks on some of the rooms, with cushioned seating
- Large, beautiful common area and deck
- Gorgeous grounds. Lush, green and home to bizarre and exotic plants
- Wildlife. In two days I saw howler monkeys (watching them navigate the trees is great breakfast entertainment), a 4-foot water moliter lizard living in the moat (don't worry, it's more afraid of you than you are of it), multiple colorful birds, and a chameleon
- A visually interesting swimming pool, like out of a dream
- Very good service. I received help with my electrical converter, food and drink are always available and they don't overlook details
- Excellent food. I had two breakfasts and one dinner. Best nasi goreng I've ever eaten
- Nice staff. Helpful but not obsequious. Like to engage in conversation (good) while still respecting my privacy

CONS
- The turn-off is impossible to find, even with the map from the website. There's no hotel sign in English. My driver, who had called the hotel, missed it. The information you need is on the brochure you receive AFTER you arrive: that after turning off onto Akuressa Road, go 800 m. after the 4 km marker and turn left at the Walkers Building
- There was confusion about a room for my driver that wasn't resolved until the manager arrived (20 minutes later) from the other property. It was resolved, it was just a hassle
- It's loud. Every sound is magnified and reverberates through the building. This probably wouldn't have been a problem if I hadn't had jetlag and was going to sleep at a normal time, like 11:00. However, at 8:30 I could hear every conversation and noise from the kitchen

I highly recommend Apa Villas for anyone who enjoys a tropical setting and appreciates architecture.

www.esmetravels.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esme_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
3.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
234 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,739 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#11 of 23 in Galle
43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Villa Illuketia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Villa Illuketia

Property: Apa Villa Illuketia
Address: Illuketia Watta | Wanchawala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galle
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Villa Illuketia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa hideaway with five suites set in 12 acres of garden and ponds. A luxury that our guests can discern on arrival. Only 15 minutes from Galle town, going to Illuketia is a return to nature and plantation lifestyle. The splendid mansion with original wooden temple doors, carved window frames and Oriental-style furniture is drawn out of a traveller's journal. A swimming pool in the far end of a lush garden allows a dip while watching birds and monkeys at close range. Three differently styled bedrooms are placed around a courtyard fish pond in the main house and two other suites are located in a separate Pond House. Each room varies in size and outlook, with its own walk-in wardrobe, sitting area indoor or outdoor. The Hibiscus Suite is considered the master room with a long private balcony lined with cushions and facing tall jack trees and rice fields. There is a separate walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The Lotus Suite is aligned long and spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Windows look out to a water channel and flowering trees. The Citronella Suite is cozy and comes with a dining table and chairs in a private open-air verandah. It has its own wardrobe and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are air-conditioned with additional ceiling fans and power points. The villa serves organic rice from its own rice fields, fruit, herbs and vegetables from the garden. Apa Villa's Sri Lankan Curry Rijstafel Dinner is all-time favourite among guests.. Apart from this, there is All Day menu of snacks, light meals and tea service. Evening meals are from an A La Carte with our stewards serving in the traditional sarong and tunic outfits. Booking for long-term of Pond House and whole villa welcomed. Illuketia and its grounds is ideal for weddings, anniversaries and birthday celebrations or groups with special interests like bird-watching, workshops, mahjong, painting and photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Apa Villa Illuketia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Villa Illuketia Hotel Galle
Apa Hotel Illuketia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing