We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and cool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apa Villa Illuketia
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A few kilometers from town in a lovely garden setting. Monkeys, birds and monitor lizards all around the place.
The rooms are classy, central courtyard with fountain is very italian style and the main lobby area very cosy. Food is great and the

Staff are warm friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Overall a really great stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miktangoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 135 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Magical. Quiet. Perfect.

This hotel isn't in Galle -- it's a 15 minute tuktuk ride away -- but that shouldn't stop you. (The hotel organizes the tuktuks, which are very easy.) The grounds are absolutely lovely, peaceful, magical. We ate a delicious breakfast while watching monkeys overhead. We arrived home from dinner and drank wine and whiskey on the porch, while listening to the frogs croaking away. After checking out the next day, they told us we could come back after our long day at the beach and shower! So unnecessary, yet so kind! They were wonderful. This was a very, very special weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The villa is set up high above really lovely grounds which make sitting out on the surrounding terrace having breakfast in the mornings magical. The evening meal was also served on the terrace and was excellent as was the service from the staff.
We and our friends were in the Pond House and the downside was the infamous (see earlier reviews) Jasmine Suite with its massive honeymoon bed from Bali. What a struggle to climb up and get in to bed from the bottom and then crawl up to the top! Funky but so impractical especially if you have to get up in the night and have arthritic knees! Also, the room was dark even with the shutters open. The upside was sitting on the swing outside the rooms and watching a fascinating variety of birds flying in and out of the trees and the large monitor lizard sunning itself on the bank. Note: we were told that the management planned to change the bed!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main villa until the Bali bed is replaced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed at Apa Villa Illuketia twice within the last months, and it is a beautiful place with a warm and welcoming staff. We much enjoyed hanging out on the terrace overlooking a wonderful garden and taking in the peace and quiet of the place. The villa is an old plantation house, which has been reconstructed quite ingeniously and with great taste. In the garden we have seen a great variety of birds and also the giant squirrel and several mongoose. The property is surrounded by rice fields, some of them run by the owner of Apa Villa, small villages, and a buddhist temple, which adds to the experience. With only six rooms and a 15 minute drive up the hills and away from the beach, it is a place best suited for couples or friends, whereas families with children are probably better off at the sister hotel Apa Villa Thalpe. The food is excellent, and most guests tend to stay for dinner in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiljeKamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Sadly we only stayed one night, all that was available at short notice early January.

We had the Jasmine Suite which was one of two in a lovely building by a lily pond in the beautiful rain forest gardens. Other suites are in the main house where there are grand public rooms and verandahs.

WiFi was painfully slow at times due to the remote location of the hotel.

The bed in the Jasmine Suite is a museum piece, must have been made for royalty, embellished with massive gilded carving (base, walls and canopy), magnificent to look at but not very practical in use! No access from the side of the bed, only from the foot, and the mattress, a climb of approx. 4ft above the floor, was just OK, but the least comfortable of all I encountered in Sri Lanka. The other beds in this hotel are probably more conventional/comfortable (I took a peek at one!). We also stayed at APA Thalpe and the beds there were excellent.

This is a place for calm and whispering, listening to the sounds of nature all around.

All the plus points in other reviews are fully justified and I must make special mention of the gushing and plentiful hot water supply.

Next time, I would book well ahead, for at least a week, and I would avoid the regal bed for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nevisowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Authentic Sri Lankan feel, beautiful gardens and an oasis in the increasingly busy tourist location of SW Sri Lanka.
Easy to access Galle, beaches (narrow and a little disappointing, with vicious currents if you are not careful), Wijaya beach probably the best, love those pizzas.
Food in Illuketia a little variable with the local food being the best option.

If you want a quiet location in a beautiful setting this is your place. Excellent wildlife, monkeys, monitors etc all around. birdlife spectacular, and the nicest thing to do is to borrow a bicycle and get lost in the surrounding countryside. All very friendly, even the village dogs can't be bothered to chase you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foliumnondefluet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The tranquility of this place is amazing. The chanting of the monks adding to the serenity. Our room in a separate cottage has an enormous 4 poster bed, outdoor bathroom with side by side baths and a tree growing in the corner of the room. The staff are so friendly and the food delicious. A perfect end to our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShirleyanneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
6.3 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 24 in Galle
130 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,797 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#12 of 24 in Galle
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
3.0 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Villa Illuketia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Villa Illuketia

Address: Illuketia Watta | Wanchawala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#6 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $116 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Villa Illuketia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa hideaway with five suites set in 12 acres of garden and ponds. A luxury that our guests can discern on arrival. Only 15 minutes from Galle town, going to Illuketia is a return to nature and plantation lifestyle. The splendid mansion with original wooden temple doors, carved window frames and Oriental-style furniture is drawn out of a traveller's journal. A swimming pool in the far end of a lush garden allows a dip while watching birds and monkeys at close range. Three differently styled bedrooms are placed around a courtyard fish pond in the main house and two other suites are located in a separate Pond House. Each room varies in size and outlook, with its own walk-in wardrobe, sitting area indoor or outdoor. The Hibiscus Suite is considered the master room with a long private balcony lined with cushions and facing tall jack trees and rice fields. There is a separate walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The Lotus Suite is aligned long and spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Windows look out to a water channel and flowering trees. The Citronella Suite is cozy and comes with a dining table and chairs in a private open-air verandah. It has its own wardrobe and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are air-conditioned with additional ceiling fans and power points. The villa serves organic rice from its own rice fields, fruit, herbs and vegetables from the garden. Apa Villa's Sri Lankan Curry Rijstafel Dinner is all-time favourite among guests.. Apart from this, there is All Day menu of snacks, light meals and tea service. Evening meals are from an A La Carte with our stewards serving in the traditional sarong and tunic outfits. Booking for long-term of Pond House and whole villa welcomed. Illuketia and its grounds is ideal for weddings, anniversaries and birthday celebrations or groups with special interests like bird-watching, workshops, mahjong, painting and photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Apa Villa Illuketia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Villa Illuketia Hotel Galle
Apa Hotel Illuketia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing