We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise. Amazing stay in beautiful surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apa Villa Illuketia
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise. Amazing stay in beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

It is our last night and we could stay forever.

We stayed in the Pond House and would recommend over the main house, although the villa itself is stunning. Each morning we woke to an amazing view over the pond with monkey chattering and bird song all around.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all superb. The curry and rice is fabulous - choose this over the western option if you love Sri Lankan food.

We have stayed in luxury boutique hotels around the world but this is really special! Service cannot be faulted. Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GildoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
30
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Living in the sandy desert of Dubai, Illuketia was simply paradise. So lush and green, amazing staff, beautiful room, quiet and peaceful with gorgeous food - we literally did nothing and this was exactly what we wanted.

A tour with the gardener, cooking lesson in the kitchen with the staff and playing board games on the veranda - the perfect amount of action!

Would highly recommend also their sister villa in thalpe. We stayed 2 nights here and 4 nights there - it was perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in Hibiscus - gorgeous terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daniconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for two nights before spending the remaining 4 nights of our holidays at Apa Villas. We were unsure if it was worth going as it is relatively close to Apa, but it really was worth it. Where as Apa Villa has a beautiful beach side location, Illuketia was nestled in the countryside and has a whole different feel to its sister villas. Service was impeccable, the food was fantastic, villas out of this world and the setting very special. We can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kat188London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We arrived in the Villa Illuketia at 4 am after a three hour drive from Colombo and were at once transported. Fuss free welcome, magnificent 30s style room and bathroom, a good night's sleep, and an awakening to a Garden of Eden setting - acres of gardens, charming and friendly Sri Lankan staff (friends after a day!), the heavenly Chathuri ( an incarnation of one of the apsaras at Sigiriya), excellent food both European and Sri Lankan, tuk tuks to order, a heavenly swimming pool, Hans Hoefer's superb library (and I am a bibliophile), and an overall sense of peace ... with every request answered at once and without fuss including car hire, further hotel bookings ... we took a couple of days also at the Villa Thalpe on the seafront. Simply glorious with divine seaside atmosphere and a chance to have fun with the staff (friends) getting helplessly caught up in the semi final and final of the World Cricket Cup. Inexpensive wine (everything was inexpensive!) and here a divine Sri Lankan buffet. People didn't mind if we went to Galle Fort for dinner, there was no sense of 'obligation' - oh and the chattering but unobtrusive monkeys, and the jackfruit, and the canine sculpture frequently attended by a real live dog (excellent photos resulted!), and the vegetation, and the rare but wonderful nocturnal thunderstorms, and the breakfasts!!! Hans and Cynthia Hoefer, Chathuri, everyone, you have crafted in these villas two positive heavens on earth. Graham and May Ling Cadwallader

Room Tip: All rooms are The Best Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 491Yiochukang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We booked two nights at Apa Villa, in the Hisbiscus suite, but within minutes of arriving decided to extend our stay to three. Ideally, I'd live there forever. To add to the praise already on here, I particularly liked how, unlike other luxury hotels in Sri Lanka (and elsewhere), it feels secluded but not sealed off from the local life surrounding it. Being able to see the villagers walk through the paddy fields beyond the Edenic gardens, and hear the chanting from the Buddhist temple nearby, really added to the experience. A magical place which doesn't put a foot wrong, and well worth the money. If you can only splash out on one luxury hotel during your trip, go for this one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank heathrowexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Stayed with friends for a week at the end of December in this absolutely beautiful place. Our room was in the Pond House, which is independent from the main house. We thought we would use Illuketia as a base and spend our days out on the beach but ended up staying on the property most of the time, just relaxing and enjoying the amazing gardens and pool. The food was delicious and the service perfect. I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JCParis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Complete serenity in a beautiful botanical setting. Hans and Cynthia are well travelled, know what a hotel should be and have created this gentle paradise of which they should be very proud.
Ok so its not in Galle, but then why would you want to be? Hotel tuk tuk is 400 rupis (circa 3gbp), appears at a click of the fingers, and is a pleasant 15 minute journey with views of the paddy fields. It just contrasts even better after a morning in the busy town to return to a sublime peaceful home where monkeys play in the trees and the extensive garden opens up past the lazing terrace to a long sloping lawn with a beautfiul natural pool hidden behind the trees.
The room, although lovely decor, was not asthetically amazing ( we had a courtyard room which was very dark) but it was still sublimely comfortable and clean and to be honest, once you see the massive terrace and the lovely open door living room you wont want to spend any time in the room.
Where the hotel comes into its own is the superb service (the staff are extremely professional and personable) and whilst the food is 'hotel price', we
still landed up eating there for most meals, which says a lot as we hate repitition (and- Im ashamed to say-the 'Western' food was just as good as the Sri Lankan)
You really are welcomed and encouraged to use the facilities at the sister property in Thalpe and as the staff are rotated between each property every two days, youll be welcomed just as warmly in each.
If you like modern and busy then dont come here, but if you appreciate the natural and are looking for serenity and hours spent lying by the pool listening to the birdsong then hurry up and book.
ps And real filter coffee in Sri Lanka - it doesnt get any better!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marlowmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
3.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#3 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#10 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#16 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Dutch House
The Dutch House
#15 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Villa Illuketia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Villa Illuketia

Property: Apa Villa Illuketia
Address: Illuketia Watta | Wanchawala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galle
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Villa Illuketia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa hideaway with five suites set in 12 acres of garden and ponds. A luxury that our guests can discern on arrival. Only 15 minutes from Galle town, going to Illuketia is a return to nature and plantation lifestyle. The splendid mansion with original wooden temple doors, carved window frames and Oriental-style furniture is drawn out of a traveller's journal. A swimming pool in the far end of a lush garden allows a dip while watching birds and monkeys at close range. Three differently styled bedrooms are placed around a courtyard fish pond in the main house and two other suites are located in a separate Pond House. Each room varies in size and outlook, with its own walk-in wardrobe, sitting area indoor or outdoor. The Hibiscus Suite is considered the master room with a long private balcony lined with cushions and facing tall jack trees and rice fields. There is a separate walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The Lotus Suite is aligned long and spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Windows look out to a water channel and flowering trees. The Citronella Suite is cozy and comes with a dining table and chairs in a private open-air verandah. It has its own wardrobe and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are air-conditioned with additional ceiling fans and power points. The villa serves organic rice from its own rice fields, fruit, herbs and vegetables from the garden. Apa Villa's Sri Lankan Curry Rijstafel Dinner is all-time favourite among guests.. Apart from this, there is All Day menu of snacks, light meals and tea service. Evening meals are from an A La Carte with our stewards serving in the traditional sarong and tunic outfits. Booking for long-term of Pond House and whole villa welcomed. Illuketia and its grounds is ideal for weddings, anniversaries and birthday celebrations or groups with special interests like bird-watching, workshops, mahjong, painting and photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apa Villa Illuketia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Villa Illuketia Hotel Galle
Apa Hotel Illuketia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing