We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Sri Lanka”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Paradise in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This beautiful landmark hotel defines luxury, service and authenticity. You can stay at the hotel and use it as your base to discover the historical 17th Century, Dutch Galle Fort and the authentic Sri Lankan culture. Or, If your preference is for a relaxing holiday in a five star hotel you never have to leave the hotel. There is an authentic Ayurvedic spa with all the traditional treatments. The spa engages a qualified Ayurvedic doctor if you would like to have a consultation. Every morning there is a yoga class taught by one of the Ayurvedic practioners in the most beautiful outdoor yoga pavilion I have ever experienced. The pool and cabanas are divine, the chef produces the most delicious meals all day and the rooms are tranquil. The sunset bar on the top floor lets you enjoy a few of the Fort and the sunset If you fancy a local adventure to the various markets, there are tuk tuks right outside the door of the hotel ready to take you on anywhere you wish. Make this a holiday destination to see beautiful Galle, Sri Lanka. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are lovely but there is no elevator so it can be quite a hike if stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 252pennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    66
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
254
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there as the last part of our 10 days Sri Lanka trip. We stayed there for 2 days and it was just amazing.

The service was very details from the day we check in and every single times we stepped into the hotels. They would just do the right pleasant thing at the right time.

At the last night, We arranged a private dinner at the 2nd night. Great food great service great setup and environment.

It is located at the most beautiful part of Galle.

If I need to be picky, the only minus would be the air-con. I prefer 18 degree but it couldn't go down to that temperature.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank matchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we did not stay, it was just a sight inspection tour.. this place is just amazing..
very colonial, beautiful decor, beautiful swimmingpool and best location. the rooms are huge and just beautiful like so often at Aman but here there is history "en plus". A superb hotel in every respect, butler service that is for real, housekeeping, attention to detail and apparently a true concern of guest's wellbeing. that' s the great Aman service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beculale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a perfect place to finish our tour of Sri Lanka ! It is a beautiful Manor house inside the Fort of Galle from which you can stroll on the walls or among the little shops which have a good selection of souvenirs and stylist clothes. We had the garden suite, very spacious, well furnished and spotless. The food was excellent so we decided to have all the meals there on the beautiful and peaceful terrace from which we could follow the everyday local life. There is a spot just in front of the terrace where all the newly married couples come for their photoes, very interesting. The swimming pool is large and very elegant, with a good service of bar and snacks. Last and not least, a superb butler service which assists you in every need during your stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift so it is advisable to book a room on the ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is place, is just sound proof.. The silence one feels inside is amazing.. Its just peaceful for both the ears and mind !!! Very relaxing.. The warm and traditional welcome we received, as we checked in, was fantastic... The poolside is fantastic for a nice cocktail and some lone time and just bask all afternoon...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived at the hotel feeling dusty and tired but were welcomed with a mixture of smiles and formality. We were impressed with the grandeur, class and charm of the property, and the staff are obviously very proud of their hotel! We were first shown around the property moving from the lush outdoor grounds and beautiful pool area, to the library, spa, and even viewed the perfect spot to enjoy a sunset in the upstairs bar. When our duomo opened the door to our room by saying, "you've booked our standard room" I had to smile. It was absolutely beautiful....gorgeous antique plank floors, 4 poster bed and the bathroom...wow! Having a luxurious tub centered in the room made me immediately want to jump in! It was one of those rooms where you never cared to leave.

The first evening we enjoyed dinner on the hotel's front entry porch; with candlelight and slow moving ceiling fans it felt as if we were in an old southern plantation. Being in Sri Lanka we were drawn toward the local cuisine and the curry was fantastic. Another day we enjoyed afternoon cocktails on the upstairs veranda overlooking Galle, watching the sunset....I must admit the sunsets were rather dull due possibly to air quality but it still felt exotic and romantic.

Our first morning breakfast was a bit of a fiasco as no one seemed to want to take our order, much less serve us. It was early morning and only a few tables were taken so after 15 minutes of sitting I asked for the manager, who was actually away during our stay, but the hotel's acting manageress quickly acknowledged our concerns and we were immediately assigned a waiter. It seemed we seated ourselves at a table between the waiter's stations so no one knew who to serve us? The Sri Lankan hoppers and fresh coffee soon brighten our moods though.

We spent one afternoon poolside and the staff were quick to offer towels and drinks. The massage here was the best I had in Sri Lanka so kudos to the spa staff. My husband celebrated his birthday here and the staff woke us with a gorgeous chocolate cake and gift. Even at breakfast the staff wished him a happy birthday which was such a nice touch. It was difficult to say goodbye to such fantastic hospitality and charm. Writing about the hotel now just reaffirms my belief that we will be back. Amangalle and Galle are amongst the most beautiful spots in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Decided to have dinner at Amangalla on the 28 th of May 2014. Am familiar with the property as I have been going to the Fort in Galle since I have been a child. Undoubtedly, since the Aman group have refurbished the property it really is something which has retained the old world charm.
The high ceilings with fans circling lazily, glistening brass, wood and cane furniture, bunches of coconuts and pineapples to replace flowers and a smiling staff made me feel very welcome.
We had a table of four. Sadly, the dinner was disappointing. The fish was hard and a tiny quantity the pumpkin soup was good. The beet root and feta salad could have been excellent had the feta been less salty and softer. The Sri Lankan rice and curry had a good variety but grave was lacking so the rice was dry. The desserts were ok. Wattalapam should be more wobbly and have a slight syrup. Found the bill pricey considering both main courses were shared.
Hope the next time we go which will be in the near future, the chef will pay attention to what I have said.

Room Tip: Did not stay over so cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saberatapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
374 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,404 reviews
5.0 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing