We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, staff and welcome!”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangalla
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked this hotel for supper one evening on the recommendation of some friends. We were given a great welcome and the staff were very friendly. The cocktails were lovely and the food wonderful. We chose the local Sri Lankan curry set meal and it was superb. So lovely to try lots of different things that you would not normally order. The hotel was very clean and looks like an old English gentleman's club inside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 464 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

A beautiful little boutique hotel situated in the centre of Galle Fort, probably the smallest Aman we've stayed in. The building itself is beautiful and full of colonial characters. The room was elegantly decorated with fan, olive green shutter and four posted bed. Upon arrival we were assigned with a butler who, other than saying hello to us every morning, didn't really serve any real purpose. The service was reasonable and friendly and the manager was helpful. The food was good (certainly much better than the other Aman in Tangalle) but the selection was limited. We ate out most of the time at hotels/restaurants nearby. The small town was charming with lots of little shops to visit. The pool was also very beautifully set up, tranquil and elegant.

The one small complaint was that the room we were in (for both times) was right next to the side road on the ground floor and next to the service room. Every morning when the service started, the chamber maids would be getting in and out of that room which would make a lot of noise. The wooden floor certainly didn't help either. So for USD700 a night, we should perhaps have asked to change the room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillyBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is truly a great place to stay at. The rooms are huge and just beautiful like so often at Aman but here there is history "en plus". A superb hotel in every respect, butler service that is for real, housekeeping appearing as soon as you open your door, attention to detail and apparently a true concern of guest's wellbeing. The very best food ever experienced in that part of the world, warm congratulations to the chef. Yes the building is along a busy and very noisy road and this can be annoying at meals or drinks only because you will have chosen a room away from the front.
Like all Aman properties all this comes at a very expensive rate (outright shocking in a low wages country like Sri Lanka) but unlike some of "Amans" here we felt it was worth it. Very present management, as always when the experience is good.

Room Tip: Away from the street at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel itself is georgeous. The service is faultless, from the moment we arrived at Colombo; around midnight. We were whisked away in the car and arrived at Amangalla at 2.30am. They showed us to our rooms immediately and even asked if they can rustle up some late night snacks or hot chocolate for us. Now that's going the extra mile.
We did the Fort and Beach experience. The spa that was on offer was great. Once again service was second to none.
The niggly complaint that we had was due to the noise of the people walking above us. We pointed that out to the manager and she told us that the people above us will be checking out the next day and she blocked the room so that we were left in peace and quiet. And we were.
The food was superb. The afternoon tea was to die for. Those scones! And finger sandwiches. Then came dinner, which were another feast onto itself. Sunset drinks on the top floor was pretty spectacular too. All in all pretty amazing place, we were given a tour of the hotel which was originally the Dutch Military HQ then in the late 1890s became the New Oriental Hotel, till Aman took over in 2004, 3 days after opening the tsunami hit and Amangalla was used as a temporary hospital.
Truly amazing history and its service to the community

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrimroseHill219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice setting for a pre dinner drink and much more reasonably priced than we expected...cocktails £5,so we had 2 rounds. Shame though there were not more areas you could wonder into as non guest we were confined to quite a small but lovely area.

Dinner menu also looked good and reasonably prices and saw some people having afternoon tea.

A step back in time to colonial times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a comically good hotel. There are negative reviews on this website that relate to people who weren't given a table for dinner!!! They should really be excluded if we are being honest. This is absolutely and without question the best hotel in Galle.
We had a spectacular time here. It is a stunning hotel with a feeling that cannot be captured through a website or through images. In fact our only criticism to the manager (in a friendly discussion) was that the websites simply do not do the place justice.
Everything from the spa, through to the food, rooms, service and location are excellent. If I was being ultra critical I would say that the only issue with the place is that there are alot of non-guests who have the hotel on their hitlist either for dinner, or for a simple visit. Although that will absolutely not impact your own treatment as a guest (i.e. in relation to dinner reservations etc) its not ideal having people wander in and out of the hotel. The main part of the hotel, beyond the main lobby etc, is completely reserved for guests.
This is the kind of hotel that you arrive at and immediately start thinking of how you'll be able to get back there after you leave.

Room Tip: tried the aryuvedic treatments here which were great. Also if you have the chance (as a male) to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pillarofhercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This grand old hotel has been restored to it's former glory, making it a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautiful, with large bathrooms, original polished floor boards, four poster beds and all the modern conveniences.

Staff are attentive - you will be allocated your own butler, who is on call 24 hours a day to tend to your needs. The manager personally greets and farewells all guest, and spends time ensuring that everyone is relaxed and well cared for during their stay.

There is a fantastic spas - use of the steam room, sauna, spa and plunge pool is dress for guest, and you book a time so that you have it all to yourself. There is a large pool out the back with shady cabanas if you fancy spending a day chilling out.

Try the Amangalla version of a Gin & Tonic - it is amazing! Meals are good, but do explore some of the other great places to eat in Galle Fort while there.

Room Tip: Book a room that faces into the garden area as there can be a little bit of street noise if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaileyC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Galle
568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 25 in Galle
154 reviews
5 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
246 reviews
4.6 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#5 Spa Hotel in Galle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $648 - $1,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing