We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing jounrney back in time...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangalla
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing jounrney back in time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed over at the Amangalla as a part of my honeymoon trip and I am at loss for words to relate the fantastic stay I had at the Amangalla. From the point of welcome to the point of saying goodbye you are treated as royalty and every point of details is carefully looked into with so much attention.

I was wowed and I would highly recommend the Amangalla for anybody who is looking for accommodation in Galle. It is the best place to stay whilst you witness the story of Galle.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden chambers, or the bedrooms towards the garden side.. Their Suites are amazing too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UdiWickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    65
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
66
245
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Amangalla for one night on the way back to the airport in Colombo from our week’s stay at its sister property, Amanwella in Tangalle. Originally we were planning on staying at Amanwella for the full trip, but they recommended we spend one night at Amangalla as it’s such a different feel. They arranged everything and we were not disappointed. Knowing that the building is hundreds of years old and the important part it played in the history of Galle and Sri Lanka makes it more special. What I really liked about it is that they kept it authentic – its overall feel stays true to its Dutch heritage – with the Grote Zaal, or “Great Hall.” Also the period furniture, gorgeous hardwood floors and room decorations made us feel that we had gone back in time a century. Afternoon tea on the veranda was a big highlight – sipping delicious teas fresh from the island while we watched everyone come and go through the gates of the Galle Fort. Truly extraordinary. Our butler from the hotel also gave us a tour around the fort while informing us about its history. We found that everyone we met was eager to share knowledge about their beautiful country. The food was excellent and I recommend roti for lunch – best I’ve ever had. This is best for a one or two night stay, but I would find it difficult to spend more time in Galle or at the fort. We will definitely be returning, most likely next year on our way back from Amanwella.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and had a beautiful terrace. It was beautiful but I expect all the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

First things first....I did not stay here but visited the property and enjoyed the spa for a massage. So I cannot speak of the rooms. But what I can speak of is the lobby, the grounds and the spa which are just extraordinary. You must remember that this is Galle in Sri Lanka and this property has been around for quiet some time. Some people may have complaints but I could not find any fault with this place.

As soon as you arrive you are greeted by a drawing room type of a reception that reminds you of a scene from Downton Abby except that all the service personnel are Sri Lankan and have smiles from ear to ear. Kindness etched into their very fabrics.

The spa is in a long narrow space and you are received by someone whom looks like she just came from Mother Theresas convent in Calcutta. You know with the white sarees so well ironed and so well groomed?

If you have the where with all and wish to sample a day or two in Galle, then this is the place to stay. Galle is slowly but surely gentrifying and i do see the day when it looses its current old world charm and becomes something a bit more akin to having being spoilt by outside influences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjy88sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great 2 night stay. It was our last leg of our trip and I sincerely regret not staying longer. Stay made me a true Aman junkie. The service was so effortless and came naturally to all team members, true sign of a proper hospitality which makes to crave for more.
My sincere praise for Nallin who was our butler. Thank you Aman for making our holiday a perfect one. We will come back again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvinhobbes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Exceptional in every way. A wonderfully elegant hotel with every facility you could wish for. The room was beautiful, pool and spa facilities were spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful providing faultless service at every turn. No televisions in sight (but one could be found in a hidden location) and an interesting library well worth browsing.
Great location for touring and watching cricket (if you're lucky with timing).

Room Tip: Stairs could be a challenge for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSB462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Amangalla is an exceptional hotel. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty on the very small details and our butler, Yasith was really excellent attending to our every need.

We had the pool to ourselves and our room on the top floor was grand to put it mildly.

The price was eye watering but as they say, you only regret your economies and this wasn't one of them. Worth every penny.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Elegant and charming - thats the hotel and the staff, who were all most helpful (there seemed to be a lot of staff - perhaps because the hotel was quite quiet)
Wonderful rooms and facilities and right in the old fort, so good to get out and walk around the very interesting area after a week of touring by car

Room Tip: Higher floors in oldest part of building are wonderful, quiet, great views, (but no lift!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#10 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#8 Spa Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#13 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing