We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, and Galle has its charms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, and Galle has its charms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just spent a couple of nights at Amangalla - a very sympathetic conversion of an old Colonial era hotel in Galle, Sri Lanka. The interior is filled with antiques; our room was huge, with a large balcony overlooking the gardens and a lovely roll-top bath and separate rainforest shower in the bathroom; the staff were fantastic and the service is incredibly personal (everyone remembers your name and you never sign for anything!). The gardens are lovely and there is a great pool and spa complex. The food was excellent. This was our second stay at an Amanresorts property and it was well up to standard. Room rates are high but other prices (food, spa treatments etc) were surprisingly reasonable.

Galle Fort itself is, as others have commented, a UNESCO world heritage site - a small town contained within the walls of an old Dutch fort, subsequently administered by the British. It is fantastically atmospheric - lots of old buildings, many of them converted into nice places to eat or shop; a very laid-back vibe. Wrong continent, I know, but it reminded me of Cartagena as depicted by Garcia Marquez. We spent a very pleasant day wandering the streets and ramparts, with a short excursion into the neighbouring newer town, which was pretty hectic by contrast. I am not sure we would have been able to occupy ourselves for much more than a couple of days in Galle itself, but the hotel sells itself as a good base for other activities in the region - whale-watching in Mirissa, nice beaches nearby - and no reason to doubt them.

Definitely worth a visit - the long drive from Colombo was more than justified!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andski1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    65
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
67
251
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel, beautifully restored to its old world charm. The staff were excellent and really looked after us, making a fuss for our honeymoon. We would love to return and will stay in other Aman properties in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ever stayed in luxury in a UNESCO World Heritage Site? No? Well, here is your big opportunity.
Amanagalla sits within the sea girt Galle Forte, right in a township of cobbled streets and colonial buildings and houses. Views beyond the walls of the Fort to the city of Galle and out to sea are stunning.
Amangalla is a lovingly restored Dutch Garrison Building part of which dates back to the 1600s. The immaculately restored and historical former New Oriental Hotel sits in manicured 200 year old gardens and just exudes historical charm. This graceful colonial charm comes from antique furniture and art, wonderful verandas, teak floors and chandeliers accompanying the modern facilities of large well appointed bathrooms, spa, and a picturesque outdoor swimming pool.
Everything about the hotel is pristine and fresh. Guests are well cared for by friendly and attentive staff and each suite has its own 'butler'. Dining and accompanying wines are classic and befit the class of the establishment. Management is visible and active but nothing intrudes on the guest and the desire to relax and enjoy Galle Fort and surrounds.
Wandering the Fort is a real bonus as you are in the centre of homes, museums, shops, restaurants etc. with day to day town life going on around you.
We spent a delightful two nights and two days in Amangalla and were overwhelmed by the hospitality and the willingness to go the extra mile by the Amangalla team from the manager on down. tripadvisor's travellers' photographs tell the real story. Go and enjoy ...

Room Tip: Something on the garden or upper level looks to be the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first experience at an Aman hotel and it was really delightful. We stayed 3 nights with the main purpose of relaxing and adjusting to the time zone difference before moving on to the Maldives. We are so pleased to have found this gem of a hotel. We were picked up by private car from another hotel in Colombo. Of course this is an extra service we paid for and it was worth the extra $. Upon arrival we were provided with cold towels and a welcome drink, and then shown to our suite by our assigned butler, Yasith. We lucked out with a complimentary upgrade from the Chamber Room to a Suite on the first floor. What a treat! The suite is huge which contains a separate spacious seating area, large bathroom with double sinks, separate free-standing bathtub, and separate shower. The suite was clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. The hotel itself is quite small, but we prefer it that way. It has a pool and is well-attended by staff. The spa is small but beautiful. And the restaurant served delicious western and Sri Lankan dishes. The staff and service were really top notch. They were friendly attentive. My only constructive feedback is around the massage at the spa. I decided to go for an “Amangalla massage” which is basically a Swedish massage. Unfortunately, they did not have any female therapists available (I am female). So, our butler, Yasith, made an attempt to source a female therapist from their sister hotel, Amanwella, but with no success. So I went with the male therapist. Admittedly, I would have been more comfortable with a female therapist. If I had to guess, they simply did not have enough therapists on staff that day. I should also note that it rained a lot that day, so perhaps the hotel was unprepared for so many guests to stay indoors and book spa/massage appointments. I felt a bit rushed at the end of my treatment as the therapist told me that there was another client waiting so I had to vacate the treatment room so he could prepare the room for the next client. That said, this doesn’t preclude me from recommending this hotel. The standout for our experience at this hotel was our butler, Yasith. He was absolutely wonderful and accommodating. Any time we showed up in the lobby he was there and approached us asking if there was anything he could do to assist. He booked all our reservations and excursions. Thank you, Yasith! Btw, I highly recommend a trip to the Handunugoda Tea Factory. The Manager (a very nice man, but I can’t remember his name) gave us a private tour of the tea plantation and gave us a history of the plantation, described the types of teas they grow as well as served us various teas and teacake. Upon our departure from the hotel, Yasith presented me with a gift wrapped in purple tissue paper which turned out to be a lovely fan. And arranged for someone to meet us at the airport and escort us up to security. Overall, this was a first class experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Galle. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the top floor. It has spectacular views of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snownel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were staying nearby for a friend's birthday recently, and went to the Amangalla for dinner one night. The setting is lovely, a beautiful colonial house, vast ceilings with fans circling high above you, gorgeous tiled floors in this 400+ year old building. We were a large group - 16 of us - but the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and the service was seamless. Next time I want to be staying in the hotel, not just visiting for dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumeirahjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is simply a First Class hotel

It has it all - a mixed of British & Dutch colonial style, great location (inside the Fort), great views, a great restaurant, (albeit with a smaller menu that you might expect), and a simply great team of staff

The only disappointment was the (otherwise excellent) Spa was rather spoilt by the loud noise of footfall from directly above the treatment room that I was in - rather destroying the sense of relaxation & calm that otherwise prevailed

If you want the best in Galle, then you will find it here!

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can - you won't be disappointed. Call the hotel before you get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were fortunate enough to get married at the Amangalla in February. The experience was so amazing it is almost impossible to put into words. The Hotel itself is absolutely stunning, an exquisite blend of antique dutch furniture, dark wood floors and lofty high ceilings set in a tropical garden at the heart of Galle Fort.
The care and attention to detail shown by all the staff made this is truly remarkable place to stay, let alone get married! I woke up on my first morning to find a plate of ripe mangos by my bedside, and realised that I had arrived in paradise. There are so many other wonderful memories.
This was the perfect place to start our married life and our travels around Sri Lanka. Thanks to all at the Amangalla for an unforgettable experience. What I'd give to be back on the Veranda with an arrack sour...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hetbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing