We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I can't understand anyone giving the Amangalla a one star either, you obviously need a good spanking and sent to bed without any dinner for being a spoilt brat and throwing your rattle out of the pram.

I have never stayed in the hotel but I have eaten in the restaurant on many occasions, the last time was at the end of march 2012 and the service and quality of food has not changed much.

The hotel, like the Galle Fort hotel, is a renovated colonial building which opened around 2005. It's a 20 minute trip by tuk tuk from Hikkaduwa where I usually stay, or a 20 minute rise from Una watuna.

The restaurant is beautiful, huge spacious high ceilings hung with enourmous chandeliers from thick beams of hardwood, floors of polished wood and furnished with absolutely gorgeous colonial antique furniture. There is always the most extravagant display of exotic flowers on displayinthe centre of the main reception and, if you are lucky, you'll also be given an show by the fruit bats which sometimes fly in and out through the massive windows to the verandah.
The menu is less limited than the Galle Fort but still only three or four dishes, all of which are cooked and presented a la Raj, white linen and silver. Lovely.

Portions are maybe a bit too 'nouveau cuisine' for my liking but if you are hungry go for the Sri Lankan curry speciality of the house; like an Indian Thali it is a number of different types of veg meat and seafood served in small bowls from a large platter, with wholemeal and white rice and bread.

The last dinner I had there cost around 120 Euros for 2, including wine. There is also a good wine list, not cheap but wine never is is Sri Lanka. Prices range from around $30 - $150. The waiter will fiil up your glass with an endless supply of ice cold mineral water.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheikinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Amangalla during our recent tour of Sri Lanka for the Cricket, and find it very hard to fault anything. I cannot understand the previous reviewer who gives the hotel only one star without having even stayed there. That seems very mean to me. The hotel was full to bursting when we were there, but the staff were always courteous and charming and we got to know them well during our six night stay. The Manager Olivia ran a very tight ship, was a constant presence, and nothing was ever too much trouble. The Amangalla is delightfully old fashioned, and the only fault I can think of is that the rooms, although well appointed and extremely comfortable, are perhaps a little dingy. Also there are a lot of steps in the hotel. Apart from that it really was lovely. The food was very good, with the normal mix of Western and Sri Lankan dishes, and the service always cheerful. The location is ideal for exploring Galle Fort area, and the colonial atmosphere should be relished. Would we recommend it ? Definitely. Will we go back ? I hope so.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Arriving in this hotle after a long travel feels like being darted back to colonial times.
The building and ambiance is so authentic, one can hardly imagine something more fitting in the setting.
The hotel restaurant is excuisite and refreshing.
The staff is very friendly, although sometimes a bit slow. However, everything gets done.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

visited the hotel for luch every day during the cricket
a great building and great atmosphere
a bright oasis in an otherwise grim drab area
very clean and a pleasure compared with the dust and dirt of the cricket ground
it proved that hygeine can be maintained inspite of the surrounding area
excellent

Room Tip: impossible to book when england playing cricket but anyother time would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We came here on two seperate occassions for afternoon tea and for evening dinner.

The building and decor emulate its elegant colonial history. It is a superb place to take in this fine atmosphere. Having a Cream Tea seemed like stepping back in the past and being rather decadent. It was absolutely lovely and some american tourists looked on in envy before ordering the same.

Our dinner here was again absolutely superb. Immaculate and helpful service in grand settings. Very good choice on the a la carte menu and we paid only a little bit more than we would do at our local restaurant back home. If this restaurant was in central London we probably would have had to pay several hundred pounds for the privilege.
Full marks all round

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vespa150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

All the Aman resorts that I have stayed in are excellent, but this one was my favourite!

The hotel itself is a beautiful building, with a tangiable heritage that the staff are happy to discuss. The decor is elegant and tasteful, and the rooms are a great size. The pool area is very comfortable, with large covered daybeds on which to eat lunch, or drink cocktails. The spa area is surprisingly huge, and it is lovely to have the hydrotherapy room to yourself after a day of hardcore touristing.

The food was excellent, whether Sri Lankan or Western. I would heartily recommend the egg hoppers for breakfast. The service was perfect as we have come to expect from Aman, but with your own butler everything is dealt with very quickly. Our butler did help us find a couple of unfindable things during our stay, which we were very grateful for.

Galle itself is incredible, you should hurry there before everybody else catches on. There are so many historical buildings to visit, gentle countryside to cycle through, and beach clubs in which to indulge, I will definitely be returning to Galle and Amangalla.

Stayed: August 2011
1  Thank LondonPika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is my first aman experience. And I must say that olivia and her team made it fantastic for me. This aman is at galle fort. Extremely charming, much like the singapore raffles, or the penang e&o, or the raffles siem reap, except that the team really takes care of u. We had narin as our butler. He is super efficient n never obtrusive. A joy to have him looking after us. As I said, the staff is fantastic, from the cleaners to the guards to the waiters to the butlers to olivia. She is lovely.
It takes 4 hours to reach amangella from the airport. Quite tiring actually, even with the new expressway. But once u reached, the stay is magnificent. Five stars to olivia, narin and the team there. Dinner at lighthouse is fantastic. Go, enjoy.

Room Tip: Level three suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
559 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 24 in Galle
130 reviews
5.0 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $644 - $1,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing