We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool!”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely pool!”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We Stayed 3 nights at Amangalla.
The hotel is just amazing. We booked a Suite, which was so beautiful, wonderful view, lovely and relax bed, great living room and nice bathroom.The hotel has a butler, very friendly and helpful. The Location is great, you can look around the hotel and u find many local shop and restaurant.The manager the hotel is very friendly and nice.
All the staff was very happy and great service.
The pool is big and very relax, we should stay all day in the pool. I tried the Spa, the atmosphere was very peaceful and relax.
The hotel have a great restaurant and delicious food.
I recommend a lot this hotel if you are coming to Galle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    66
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
254
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Sri Lanka has some of the most competitively priced boutique hotels in the world. You can stay at an amazing small boutique hotel for the fraction of the price you would pay elsewhere in Asia. That stops with Amangalla. You pay the Aman premium!

It was worth it.

The manager, Olivia Richli, floats glamorously and effortlessly through this hotel which she clearly loves. She has documented the history of the hotel and treats the old girl with love and respect. It was lovely to sit down on the front verandah with Olivia having a cocktail before dinner and to be told about the history of the hotel and regaled with the tales of its larger than life characters.

The hotel has a "butler" concept that works exceedingly well...always at hand yet never invasive.

The highlight for me was the cooking class. The head chef met me after breakfast and took me into the local markets. I brought some red-fleshed fish and a number of vegetables/fruits that I wasn't familiar with - banana flower for instance. When we got back to the hotel, I was ushered into the kitchen where the selection of fish and vegetables I had purchased were turned into 12 amazing curry and dahl dishes. To then have these plated up and served to us on the lovely balcony was definitely a highlight of the trip. The chef hand signed my recipes with the little message "keep up the cooking!" Given the wonderful flavors of the recipes I learnt, this hasn't been a problem at all.

Aman is Aman - you are never going to get a bargain. For me, I saved so much money on all the other hotels I stayed at in wonderful Sri Lanka, I took the splurge. It was worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

For the Aman chain, the food at outlets was appallingly bad. The service however was very good

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traipse_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We ate here in November 2011 because the food in our hotel (Jetwing Lighthouse) was a little uninspiring. This place has an old colonial vibe and is classy but not snobby. The hotel looked charming but we went only for dinner and it was lovely. We were entertained by an unobtrusive flute player as we had an aperitif in the old Dutch style bar with wooden ceiling fans. The food itself was very high quality, especially for Sri lanka, and priced accordingly. I remember a stunning beetroot carpaccio and feta cheese to start and the Sri Lankan curry came with at least 8 separate dishes arranged on a pandan leaf but silver served onto china plates. The steak and ice creams were also very tasty. There were nice little touches that gave the place a certain louche elegance: an array of books to peruse, the owners' friendly Daschund wandering freely and bothering nobody, and very friendly and attentive staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahBB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

excellent hotel in excellent country, beautiful location, good food and ambience, would definately recommend for travellers looking for pure luxury, good aman keep it up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Amangalla was our first Aman stay and we had high hopes and expectations for the level of service, amenities and insider experience. Unfortunately our expectations were only partially met.
What worked: the butler service was fantastic. Indika, our butler, was attentive, learned our likes and dislikes quickly and thus better anticipated our needs, and overall took good care of us. The rooms and furnishings were incredible in combining the British colonial style of the former NOH and merging it with high quality finishes and touches. We stayed in a chamber suite facing the pool and it was well laid out and appointed.
The baths and massage treatments were first class.  Booking a private circuit in the baths is a must. You go from steam room, to hot tub to sauna to cold pool. Fantastic! And our balinese and thai massages were some of the best we have ever had.
From a dining perspective, the hoppers were absolutely fantastic.

What didn't work
Excursions: we were there during christmas season and were essentially underserved by the excursions because there was not enough supply of Aman staff. We got an "overflow driver" for both our excursions because aman drivers were already booked. Our driver spoke no english, and compared to what we saw other aman guests receive in service and experience underdelivered. We made mention of this to the staff and they agreed and credited us for the service. But our advice make sure you demand the Aman service you have paid for. A 5 star hotel is just as much about the experiences it offers!
Buyer beware if you book any excursion through aman - there is a significant markup in price for same experiences you can buy direct from vendors. For example whale watching costs were a good 25% more than going direct.

We mentioned we were spending our 10 year anniversary with the hotel when we booked. We recived no acknowledgement or special treat as part of this! A real let down!
Value. At over $650 a night when you add in all the ++, at the end of the day that buys your room, 2 water bottles and your butler - nothing else. All other charges are extra and you will pay dearly. Breakfast not included and close to $25 a person. Dinner close to $50 a person. Plus the dining facilities used no citronella candles and my leg suffered those consequences with an attack of over 10 bites over one dinner (even though I used the hotel's provided spray).

Overall our first Aman experience didn't really motivate us to rush back for a second!  We will have to think harder next time on whether the magic equation of room + service + experience + value are truly on offer!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jezzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batuwangala, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed two nights at Amangalla. Overall it was overwhelmingly luxurious as all the resorts in Aman. I shared accommodation with my good friend and colleague Louisa and we loved the old style of the room.

The architecture of the whole resort is very delicate and the renovations been done were well planned through as it still encompasses the colonial style and fits in perfectly with the Old Galle Fort.

Privacy is one of the setbacks depending on your travel partner and your timidness as a lot of the facilities like shower and bathtub are open.

Room Tip: Please call Central Reservations - Aman Sales and Reservations. They can help in securing the ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImagineMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,714 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing