We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ash suite”
Review of Galle Fort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galle Fort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ash suite”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay in the hotel with our 4 children from 14 to 4 years old.
The suite is an excellent solution the only strange points was a small size bed so if you stay there with children up to you to decide who will sleep in a small space
Dinner and breakfast excellent
Swimming pool only for us
Fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugustoPiccagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    156
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
91
294
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location in the heart of the old fort . Staff were friendly and food although limited was good. Hotel ammenities were much in line with brochure description with a swimming pool with limited space for sitting out. The only let down was the Library suite which showed signs of dampness.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Library suite which was damp and had bubbling plaster and discoloration on some walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a suite spread over two floors!

The room was comfortable, clean and had a lovely old four poster bed. Set in a gorgeous old colonial building, it had a great atmosphere and friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious (consisting of both fruit and a cooked breakfast) and although we didn't have any other meals here, we did manage some cake and milkshake - both of which were incredible!!

The hotel is located centrally within the Galle Fort and therefore close to all shops / restaurants and sights.

Overall this was a lovely hotel and a offered a relaxing start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_T32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a fabulous, restful stay at the Galle Fort Hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, and the whole place radiates history, atmosphere and quality, with fascinating artefacts in every room. Food was really good too - the menu choice was small, which suited us fine.

Beds are large and comfortable, as are bathrooms. The pool is a good size for a smallish hotel, though it seems a lot bigger than its 12 rooms.

The hotel is right in the middle of Galle Fort in the main street, with boutique shops just outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Galle itself is lovely and this is most definately one of the better places to stay
A great location , good service, ok food makes it a really good and safe bet
On the negative was the food as only ok , the staff were only just friendly not really friendly
The pool had limited sunlight not bad just limited
The hallway entrance was a little too dark
No regrets but no high ranking either

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

To visit old Galle you need to choose between staying at a beach hotel outside town and using transport, or staying in the fort. I wanted a comfortable base within the fort in order to explore at leisure and soak up the atmosphere at different times of day. This small hotel fits that bill very well. It’s a unique and lovely place to stay, an old Dutch merchant house sensitively renovated and furnished to retain historic character. You step in off the street into beautiful and calm interior spaces (courtyard, verandas). There’s a sizeable swimming pool in the central courtyard. The garden rooms were fully booked quite a long time ahead so I booked a ‘Grand Apartment’ which was spacious, elegantly furnished and light (with several windows on each side). There was also a shaded verandah with two enormous antique divans making a great place to lounge. For town centre accommodation it’s surprisingly peaceful. You wake up to the sound of birdsong and the call to prayers with no traffic noise or other modern intrusions. The only irritant was the fierce air conditioning. Even on the lower fan setting and a relatively high temperature setting it delivered a powerful blast on to the bed. No a/c in the (huge) bathroom. That didn’t trouble me greatly but some cooling would be preferable. Cuisine was outstanding. Menu choices are sensibly limited. In terms of freshness, quality of ingredients and subtlety of flavours, the dinner was probably the best I had in Sri Lanka. One incongruity – and I have to point this out in the hope of sparing future guest – the breakfast marmalade was horrid. Just sweet jelly, really. Service is attentive but mercifully unfussy. The hotel pulls off the trick of making you feel like a welcome house guest. I would book there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mladww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Based on the various reviews on TropAdvisor, took a leap of faith to contact the manager to book for a long weekend. What a lovely hotel! Locates inside the Historical Fort and within walking distance to various shops and eateries. The staff (all male) are warm and helpful in traveling arrangements for sightseeing and transports from/to Colombo. We stayed in the Admiral Cheng Ho Suite. It's a 2 storey unit-- the king bed is on the lower floor, while the twin beds are a walk up to a loft. The bathroom is outside. There is AC, and the beds have mosquitos canopies-- highly needed considering how fierce the mosquitos were. Figured out after the first night when husband and kid got MANY bites. Highly recommend asking for coils and shaking the nets and tucking it in securely before turning in for the night. The breakfast was part of our room rate; basic and good. Had lunch on arrival; food is good but catered for tourists. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,711 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
8.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Fort Hotel

Property: Galle Fort Hotel
Address: 28 Church Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Fort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2007 Unesco Award of Distinction for heritage conservation. A charming, friendly, award-winning and affordable heritage boutique hotel in the heart of the Galle Fort world heritage site and a perfect base for the best beaches, tea plantations, temples, rain forests and cultural attractions in southern Sri Lanka. Famous for its Asian fusion food made from fresh local seafood and market produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Galle Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing