We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and a lovely hotel”
Review of Galle Fort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galle Fort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location and a lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were made very welcome on our arrival by Oliver and the staff and management team could not have been more helpful. This hotel has been delightfully converted (it has won a UNESCO award). Our room was beautiful, very different, and with real character. The hotel is right in the middle of the fort which is perfect for wandereing around (a must - go to the shop called Barefoot, 100 yards away, good quality stuff really different. There's also one in Colombo). The first two nights the food was excellent Asian fusion food. The third night was disappointing - just not to our taste. The desserts were the same every night which could easily be improved. The swimming pool was good and cleaned frequently. Very relazed atmosphere which was a welcome change after the rigours of Yala. We went out early one morning on a boat trip not returnign until after 10.00 - providing us with breakfast even at that late hour was offered to us and was no problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    155
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
90
290
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Chose to splurge at this hotel due to previous trip advisor reviews but were disappointed. Possibly the change in ownership is the cause but we found service to be average and maintenance lacking. Odd that there is no concierge and no one to greet you on arrival. Though small, staff never knew who we were or what room we were in. Speaking of rooms, this (G1)was the smallest we encountered of the 7 hotels we stayed in during our Sri Lankan holiday. As it was on the ground floor and the windows had no coverings, the shutters had to be closed whenever we were in the room, which made it quite dark. A mini bar would have been welcome as well as at least one hook to hang wet towels. Also I have to question the use of a free standing room safe which could basically be picked up and carried away! Toilet and shower were merely 2 cubicles off the barroom with rest of the bathroom actually part of the bedroom. The lounge chairs around the pool are very uncomfortable and there is a constant smell of sewage- not to mention dog faeces on the lawn. All in all it was definitely not worth the money. Hopefully management will take these criticisms to heart and restore the property to it's previous reputation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingaussie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

It is as other reviewers say an excellent little hotel and one I could thoroughly recommend. We had a loft room, which kind of looks nice but annoying having to walk down stairs ink a dark room to use the the bathroom in the middle of the night. The toilet would not flush when we arrived, which was annoying, bt staff sorted it out. The air con is very noisy, so much s we could not sleep with it on. The service does seem very good. Dinner at the hotel was very good with quick service and good quality food. Perhaps not the best meal to be had in Sri Lanka, but pleasant hotel food.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

An absolutely stunning hotel. Fantastic location, beautiful rooms and communal areas, great relaxed service and the best food we had on the island. The price makes it a treat but we thought it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

GALLE FORT HOTEL

The creative management that earned such a fine reputation for the Galle Fort Hotel has sold a few months ago and the hotel is under new management. It is now owned by a company rather than individuals.

There seems to be few substantial changes in either the hotel itself or the staff. The senior staff is extremely helpful, courteous and experienced. The new manager couldn‚t be more helpful or charming.

We found it a little difficult to reconcile some of the raves in Tripadvisor and other guides with our experience during the seven days we stayed at Galle Fort Hotel. It is comfortable enough and our loft suite at the end of the verandah was private and quiet if quirky. Other reviewers praised the wash hand basin in an antique cupboard as a cute touch, but we found it to be impractical and bizarre. The polished cement style of the shower room makes it seem dingy and scruffy-looking though it isn't in fact.

Our stay did coincide with the Galle Literary festival so it put a strain on the services of all the hotels in the fort and around. There seemed to be a reduction in experienced staff numbers for a couple of days in the middle of our stay.

Our greatest reservation was with the meals. The dinners about which so many previous clients had expressed such unqualified enthusiasm were uneven. We did have a couple of excellent dinners but also a couple that were frankly very disappointing. The formula is to serve an entrée and then a main course and a vegetable dish or salad. Sometimes the entrée and the main course were the same meats ˆ fish or chicken ˆ not exactly good menu planning in our opinion. The puddings, though good, were the same three choices all week. We tried the Amangalla up the road and thought our dinner there, Sri Lankan curry, very ordinary with dull curried tuna and inedible tough gristly beef.

It proved impossible to get any decent ice from room service.

We had a pleasant enough week at the Galle Fort Hotel but we felt we exhausted the attractions of Galle Fort itself with a few days and weren‚t sorry to leave. Galle is an interesting heritage enclave with a considerable expat community, a substantial Muslim population and a growing number of shops catering for mass tourism.

The best thing ˆ the evening walk round the ramparts in the sea breezes, refreshing after the unpleasantly sticky days.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the alternatives on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Perfectly located in the middle of the fort, a little oasis with large, comfortable and clean rooms, surrounding a courtyard and a welcoming pool. There is a lovely relaxing lounge area and inner veranda for guests to enjoy delicious meals. The staff are helpful and the service is good. This beautifully decorated and charming boutique hotel is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Galle Fort hotel is, as the name suggests, within the Fort at Galle which you enter through a narrow gate and up narrow streets. The Hotel is situated on one of the main road and has been carefully and sympathetically converted from a Dutch merchant's house to provide 12 rooms and suites around a central courtyard with a swimming pool and providing seating and shade. Our suite was on two floors, the top floor containing a large double bed, complete with mosquito netting, tgether with a wardrobe, air conditioning unit and a fan.On the ground floor there is a shower room, separate loo, table, chairs and a sitting area.

The staff were very welcoming, providing cold towels and a cold beer on arrival. There is a bar area and veranda at the front of the hotel where drinks and bar snacks are available all day and within the central courtyard is the main, albeit small, restaurant. This serves all main meals and although there is a limited menu our dinner was certainly very pleasant and tasty - possibly slightly expensive .It is interesting to note that the hotel staff are very aware that you have a choice in where you eat within Galle and are very happy to recommend other restaurants and even book tables for hotel guests - a welcome change from many hotels.

Altogether we had a very pleasant stay of 2 nights in this hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it for visitors to the area. Galle Fort itself is well worth a visit and a walk around the ramparts is pleasant and interesting, if hot during the heat of the day! Whilst the local area around Galle was very badly damaged in the Tsunami, the fort area escaped virtually unscathed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
8.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.7 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Fort Hotel

Property: Galle Fort Hotel
Address: 28 Church Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Fort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2007 Unesco Award of Distinction for heritage conservation. A charming, friendly, award-winning and affordable heritage boutique hotel in the heart of the Galle Fort world heritage site and a perfect base for the best beaches, tea plantations, temples, rain forests and cultural attractions in southern Sri Lanka. Famous for its Asian fusion food made from fresh local seafood and market produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Galle Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing