We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended stay”
Review of Closenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Closenberg Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

In October 2010, we've stayed three nights in the Closenberg Hotel. The building is about 150 years old, and offers a nice few on the ocean. It's in good shape, has a beautiful veranda and exeptionally friendly staff. Although it's a bit isolated, it's still very recommendable for a few days relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaraldWierenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    84
    56
    31
    25
See reviews for
65
114
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed 2 days and 1 night at Closenberg.
This is a very good location, breath taking views of sea and surrounding areas. Situated at an elevated location on the tip of the Galle bay.

Very old colonial building with a story written in every corner and furniture. Very calm and quite place for a long stay.

Rooms were clean and tidy. No television or phones in the room. Thats good in a way because it gives you a true opportunity to get away from the busy life and have a true relaxing holiday.

The garden is small and really interesting but not maintained properly. A proper maintainable to the garden will bring a totally new value to the property. There are large fish tanks.., which were broken. Need removal or repairs.

Local food was very ordinary but European guests who were there seems enjoying the food.

If some one looking for a really relaxing stay for reading, writing or get a way from a busy life yet stay close to a happening town.., this is an ideal place.

There are enough places to visit around the area including Hikkaduwa Coral gardens, Bonavista coral reef, Koggala beach, Unavatuna beach ( one of the most beautiful beaches in the world as Dr. Arthur C Clerk mentions) etc.

You can find places for scuba diving, swimming, surfing, boat rides etc in less than 1/2 hour drive.

A place to try at least once.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great place to have Wedding functions. There is a well supported management. Meals and services are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

After checking in, we had dinner here. There was nobody else in the eating area!
I have never been so sick after this meal, and the next morning all the bed linnen had to be washed.
Dont stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keesDutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This hotel has a great view of bay area and situated on a small mountain. Rooms are nice, but the restaurant and other areas are are not at all maintained properly. Its very much stranded and not clean. Food was also not good. I would recommend to stay at Unawantuna beach instead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I have stayed at The Closenberg twice. The first time was in 1986, and the place inhabited my dreams for more than two decades thereafter. It is a riot of mahogany and ceiling fans. It is also an extremely welcoming, family-run hotel. It is not comparable with the most expensive hotels in Galle in terms modern gizmos, t.v's and phones in the room, access to high-speed internet, and so on. But it does have couple of very nice touches: There are no t.v's in the rooms (which is wonderful, and more than compensates for having no t.v. in the room) and there are no phones in the rooms (which also wonderful, and more than compensates for having no phone in the room). Those things were true in january 2008. I hope they are still true. I believe they have added Wi-Fi since I was there.

I don't know whether the staff is unhelpful, or less helpful, to guests who treat them disrespectfully, or who simply talk down to them, but my own experience with the employees was the exact opposite of that described by the guy who advised people not to stay there. I have no idea how he or they treated the hotel staff, but the behavior he describes is distinctly out of character. As for his advice that you "take pictures, and run!" because there are better hotels in Galle, allow me to give you the run-down. The two "better hotels" in town are better in some ways -- five stars rather than three; room rates about 50% higher than The Closenberg; many more "mod cons" such as phones and t.v's in the rooms; and a swimming pool. But IMHO neither has anywhere near the charm of The Closenberg. Otherwise, there are some seriously expensive boutique hotels inland within a few miles, and a slew of cheaper hotels in a variety of very old buildings inside The Fort. I know all these places, and I choose to stay at The Closenberg.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle-Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed at Closenburg for 2 days ( 5th/6th June) during our honeymoon. I would say this hotel has some of the best view i have ever seen..The view of harbor & Roomathsala mountain was amazing!
Rooms are clean and tidy but i guess a TV is a must. kind of hard some times to stay from information.
Bathrooms are clean, but can improve a lot if they are willing.
Staff is friendly - willing to work, but NOT professional. Some times they take local tourists for granted.

but - how can any one forget the view it offers of indian Ocean!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasun_Arunadeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
4.3 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
234 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,739 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
267 reviews
4.0 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#11 of 23 in Galle
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Closenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Property: Closenberg Hotel
Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing