We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with slow service and dated attitude”
Review of Closenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Closenberg Hotel
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is extremely overpriced what it offers. You are paying only for the fact that you are staying in a grand old building, but in terms of service and staff attitude this hotel needs to bring itself out of the 1950s.
The waiters in the main dining area were happy to ignore me whilst I sat down waiting to be served (mind you, I was the only person that morning in the entire dining area). They all saw me sit down but chose to continue with their tasks of arranging forks and spoons. It took a manger who passed by to address my situation, who then got the staff to attend to me. Regardless of being served, the waiters made me feel unwelcome and I could feel I was being given looks.

What this hotel needs to do to improve is to provide a television in each room (this is the year 2014 after all) and make the staff realise that customers are there to be served, not ignored. However what this hotel really needs to do as well is make sure the road leading up to the hotel is well lit and paved - currently it is a dirt track where, in the dark, one has to walk through atleast 3 to 4 minutes of pitch darkness. This is hardly user friendly for guests who like to walk around the area - it makes one feel trapped in the hotel.

If this hotel could make these improvements, it could easily justify the prices it charges, but until then, I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airbus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 341 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel has a nice view with a lovely pool in a quaint rustic building. It's a ways away from both Galle Fort and Unawatuna beach. The rooms are fine, nothing to write home about... lots of ants in our room, though. The restaurant food is mediocre and slow, though the waiter was very nice. The main complaint I have is with the terrible front desk service. The pool had no attendants and I had to walk around the hotel for quite a while to find anyone to help with some towels. The guy at the front desk was somewhat unprofessional. I got the feeling we were one of the few people staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A lovely hotel by the water and the views were great, somewhere to go for some peace and quite also not to far from the main town by Tu Tu that was really cheap as well.
Great spot old but well worth a visit in its charming surroundings.

Room Tip: Any rooms they all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is very nice, very clean, people and staff were excellent and always there for you when needed.
The food was excellent, the breakfast was fantastic and you can have any breakfast you wanted, English or Sr-Lankan.
The view from the hotel was breathtaking . The room were big and comfortable. Also every. Room had a balcony looking out on the bay.
On Xmas eve went to party at the hotel and was fantastic, the meal and atmosphere was Christmassy .
The hotel is good if you are only staying for 2 - 3 nights. As the hotel is too far from the town centre or beach or restaurant and you need the taxi or the rickshaw to go anywhere. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.xxxx

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 36basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Where does one start?

While at the hotel, because there was nothing else to do on a wet Sunday afternoon in a hotel located far from everything in rundown, dirty and broken and not very interesting Galle, I looked the hotel up on Tripadvisor and found reviews ranging from "Faulty Towers" to rustic. We were only in the hotel because we were on a package tour and it had to be the worst place of the trip and in many ways of all the hotels I have stayed in the world. It did have one surprise which I will keep 'til the end. To start:
a. a dump. Not rustic, just rusty everywhere.
b. the staff at reception, concierge(?)/porters, dining room were absolutely clueless and had no idea about how to run a hotel or guest needs.
c. walked into the room and found a phone charging. It belonged to one of the porters. Why not? d. The room was basically dirty.
e. The sheets and bedclothes were filthy and looked slept in.
f. Had to ask for soap for the bathroom.
g. The view of the cement works, the awful dirty beach, the car exhaust checking station and the rundown structures built along the beachfront became better when it rained, ie they were greyed out.
h. There was a dog in the next room which barked all the time.
i. The water supply was yellow and did not work very well. The shower just dribbled.
j. The mosquito nets over the bed were dirty.
k. The air conditioning didn't work.
l. The small bar fridge into which I had to put my keep cool medications was filthy.
m. There were ants everywhere; especially climbing the walls.
n. There was constant traffic noise (great at 0600) in what appeared to be a remote spot.
o. The room's lighting was poor to almost non-existent.
p. Flies came and went as one had to keep the balcony doors open to have some sort of breeze. They couldn't wait to get out.
q. The basin in the bathroom was well and truly cracked. Must have been fomenting quite a bacterial army given the colour of the stuff in the cracks.
r. Couldn't lock the room door.
s. Must be used to guests who steal as the plug for the hot water jug/kettle was GLUED to the wall socket.
t. Loved the hair ball on the bathroom floor from a previous guest. Lot of effort obviously went into cleanliness, not.
u. There was a Jaguar (in one of the world's poorest countries) Mk12 parked out the front. Assume that was the owners.
v. Breakfast was one disaster after another.

Anybody who says this is a charming and wonderful hotel must have stayed in some pretty bad places as this was a dump.

I can only give it one ball or whatever the marks are because there are no crosses.

The only surprise was it had two channel of excellent WIFI. Very odd.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nfwwfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel but stopped on our way through to Negumbo for lunch. Outstanding landscape with stunning views across Galle? Old fashioned inside but clean and staff very attentive - some interesting coral type features in the walls. Good range of food on menu - more international and not just a sri lakan buffet style which for me was a freshing change. Calamari/prawn cocktail to start ; seafood pasta and mushroom taglatelle leavingno room for pudding! Good size portions but service a little slow but food freshly prepared so it didnt impact much - just be aware if time is of relevance. It is a little hidden gem with promising potential if renovated

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stocky425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed only one night but for me it was one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. It is not the fanciest but the view and the sound of the ocean and the warm atmosphere made our stay there very pleasant and memorable.

Special thanks to the General Manager/Cheff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
4.0 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 24 in Galle
134 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
2.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#16 of 24 in Galle
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Closenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $88 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing