We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Galle”
Review of Closenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Closenberg Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of Galle”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been in Sri Lanka now for a couple of months and finally made it to Galle. I'm so happy I found the Closenberg. The hotel is in an absolutely gorgeous spot with a great view of the ocean and surrounding areas. The service was the best I've received yet in Sri Lanka. The restaurant serves a variety of Sri Lankan and Western dishes...some of the tastiest food I've eaten in Sri Lanka by far. The hotel is clean, well taken care of with friendly and attentive staff. If you're looking for a peaceful, safe getaway to the south, the Closenberg is certainly the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    84
    56
    31
    25
See reviews for
65
114
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My experience at this hotel was truely amazing. i was lucky enough to arrive at sunset, and it really was one of the most pictureque places to view this. The hotel is based upon a cliff with the sea either side of it to the east and west. After arriving i went to my room which was very clean, with good facilities and an excellent bathroom. The journey contiuned for me as i woke up, being able to see the sunrise on the opposite side of the hotel to where the sunset, looking over the sea. the position of the hotel is perfect, with a 5 min tuk-tuk ride from Galle and Unawatuna, which offers alternative places for food and drink. Great spot for surfing and fishing also, which i also thought was great.
The restaurant was one of my highlights of the hotel for me though. An amazing cook who engages with customers, sharing a traditional Sri Lankan cuisine buffet. I stayed at this hotel for 9 days and not one of them was i dissapointed. Very friendly staff, although sometimes it takes a couple of goes before they completely understood me, but an overall great find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the Closenberg for three nights over the weekend and had an incredible experience. The property is on a point so there are breathtaking views of Galle and the beautiful coastline in all directions.
The hotel itself is a real treat full of history and character. Feels like your staying in the estate of an old Sea Captain, well preserved in time!
The hotel is located between Unawatuna and Galle fort so both are a short Tuk-Tuk ride away and the friendly staff will arrange transport and even negotiate fair rates for you! (a big relief as a tourist).
Lastly the food, which may as well have been firstly as it was outstanding. The chef himself even came out to check on our meal!
Overall, great resort if you want a real Experience of Sri Lanka's Southern Coast and warm hospitality, instead of another sterile hotel. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKROHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is in a very special spot, located on a peninsula between Galle and Unawatuna. Not many hotels boast similar views, where you can watch sunset rise in the east over the ocean, and set in the west- over the ocean. The rooms are clean and simple, the staff friendly and helpful and the management will bend over backwards to tend to your every need. On top of that, the food is amazing, both the international dishes and the local Sri Lankan cuisine. Would recommend to anyone visiting Galle/ Unawatuna or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I went for my honeymoon there. that was such a hell of a hotel. i made the booking on full board at about 7p.m when my way back from Colombo on 15th may. when i ordered dinner that man asked me "can you have it on your way".however i convinced him to give me dinner.it was terrible.when i enter the room it was so untidy. there was no tv in the room even the bed was pity much disaster. the bathroom also a whole disater.the food was terrible. no taste at all. there was no any friendly staff there. i dont know that is because i am sri lankan.no beauty as the images. however it was the worst hotel experience in my life.

Room Tip: Not a single good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A beautiful colonial building overlooking the Indian Ocean, we had dinner at the Closenberg
the food was excellent , fantastic view and a gracious host and staff , would reccomend it to anyone spending a vacation in Galle its is truly something to crow about !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We were invited to dinner at Closenberg by the owners? We had the most gracious host Mr Abeywardene and his on Emmanuel who joined us for dinner. The meal was prepared by one of the Emmanuels cousins who is one of the best chefs around.
Really enjoyed our dinner that night and will recommend Closenberg for its facilities, unique history and old style charm and first class meals

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Basil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
4.3 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
234 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,737 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
522 reviews
4.0 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#10 of 23 in Galle
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Closenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Property: Closenberg Hotel
Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing