We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Closenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Closenberg Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is in a very special spot, located on a peninsula between Galle and Unawatuna. Not many hotels boast similar views, where you can watch sunset rise in the east over the ocean, and set in the west- over the ocean. The rooms are clean and simple, the staff friendly and helpful and the management will bend over backwards to tend to your every need. On top of that, the food is amazing, both the international dishes and the local Sri Lankan cuisine. Would recommend to anyone visiting Galle/ Unawatuna or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    78
    51
    26
    22
See reviews for
56
104
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I went for my honeymoon there. that was such a hell of a hotel. i made the booking on full board at about 7p.m when my way back from Colombo on 15th may. when i ordered dinner that man asked me "can you have it on your way".however i convinced him to give me dinner.it was terrible.when i enter the room it was so untidy. there was no tv in the room even the bed was pity much disaster. the bathroom also a whole disater.the food was terrible. no taste at all. there was no any friendly staff there. i dont know that is because i am sri lankan.no beauty as the images. however it was the worst hotel experience in my life.

Room Tip: Not a single good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

A beautiful colonial building overlooking the Indian Ocean, we had dinner at the Closenberg
the food was excellent , fantastic view and a gracious host and staff , would reccomend it to anyone spending a vacation in Galle its is truly something to crow about !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We were invited to dinner at Closenberg by the owners? We had the most gracious host Mr Abeywardene and his on Emmanuel who joined us for dinner. The meal was prepared by one of the Emmanuels cousins who is one of the best chefs around.
Really enjoyed our dinner that night and will recommend Closenberg for its facilities, unique history and old style charm and first class meals

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Basil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a fantastic location ideally for couples to enjoy the time who seek for more romance,and also for families to spend the vacation.The food was so Delicious and mouth watering and tempted a lot...I selected this hotel for our Honeymoon and for our Home coming function due to lot of comforts that this hotel offer...Thanks to the service and the hospitality of the staff,the quality and the variety of food and the surrounding,and pleasant looking rooms helped us to have an unforgettable Honeymoon stay and a exceptional Homecoming function.....

The service was outstanding not second to the beautiful hotel location....
If you are planning to visit galle,I would recommend this hotel to stay a few days and experience an unforgettable exceptional stay in Sri Lanka that worth the money you spend.

Room Tip: See the availability of a Sea view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed there in 2011, daughter & I were the only 2 in the hotel apart from our driver. We had choice of fish or chicken for dinner & opted for chicken which was 1 small drumstick, chips & salad.
Dessert was ice cream & fruit. there were no staff in the hotel after 10pm, tough if there had been an emergency. Our rep organised the stay needless to say we asked for & got a refund on return to base hotel.

Room Tip: find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmoonpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a delightful hotel on a promontory just outside of Galle with fantastic views. It is an old colonial house and you can imagine how it might have been 150 years ago. The building needs a bit of TLC but you can ignore this and drink in the atmosphere.

The service is great. Lots of staff, many who have been there a long time, who can't do enough for you. I am sure there were more staff at breakfast than guests. There are also a couple of young eager lads waiting on too.

We had six night there. We ate in for four evenings and had great sea food.

Rooms are smallish, no TV, hairdryer on request. But it served its purpose.
If you want something different from the big tourist places, go to the Closenberg

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.6 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.6 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Closenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Property: Closenberg Hotel
Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing