We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa, excellent housekeeping.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rose Villa

Your own private 5 star
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private 5 star
Indian ocean at your feet Magical evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Your own private 5 star
Indian ocean at your feet
Magical evening
Luxury and comfort assured
A home from home
Ocean terrace
Italian styled bathrooms
Relax among the palm trees
Elephants on the beach
Our wonderful beach looking south from the end of the villa
Private pool area
Luxury four poster beds with imported mattresses for added comfort
Large lounge area fully equip
Italian inspired bathroom
Lounge to pool area
Luxury interiors
Let us look after you
Entrance to Rose Villa
Welcome to paradise
Bathroom three robes providing for your comfort
Sunset from the the pool
Handmade kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A_Walker5...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, excellent housekeeping.”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The villa is lovely and definitely worth a stay. The beds are very comfortable. There is noise from the road in the bedrooms at the front of the house, but you get used to it. The crashing waves and lovely beach view is very relaxing. Jeffrey (the in house cook) made us wonderful meals most night. The breakfast was included and there was more than enough food, including a selection of fresh fruit every day. The on hand tuk tuk river was extremely accommodating, taking us all over (locally) and waiting for us wherever we went, which was reassuring. We used the tour company recommended by the house and used the driver Vinod, who also collected us from the airport, would highly recommend him. His knowledge of Sri Lanka was fantastic and he took us all over. The price of the day trips was very reasonable and we requested him personally for each trip. We had wanted to use the in house masseuse but she was off sick, another arrangement was made for someone to come in, however she was more than twice the price of the in house masseuse, which we did not know about. It was reassuring to know that there was a security guard at night too. The house is right on a busy road, but other than some noise through the night you don't really hear it from the beach side of the house. The wifi worked brilliantly for the first half of the holiday, but we did have problems for the last couple of days, however these were resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing beach view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed...
Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa, spectacular views of Indian ocean, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time (but too short!) at Dominic & Anna's villa. Great hosts, cook, and housekeeping. We all loved the pool esp. kids, and walking onto the beach with the Indian ocean in front of us. Would love to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karnikara...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect end to our holiday in Sri Lanka with two young children. We stayed here for a week and were joined by friends for a few days in between. The villa is spacious and beautifully done up with everything you need. The pool is very well maintained and the kids had hours of fun there every day. The beach is a few steps away, and although the sea is not that calm there, it was perfectly fine for us.

Dom was a great host and there to greet us when we arrived, he was happy to be contacted at any time as always very helpful. Niman and Malika brought us amazing breakfasts every day and made dinner for us most evenings- our children loved them!

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahyarv20...
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Most ideal villa for holidays with family and Friends”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling with kids and infants can sometimes be a task. But this villa and its owners and staff made our stay a most pleasant one. The Villa which is situated right on the beach is extremely beautiful and fully equipped to make your holiday very comfortable. An ideal setting with the pool overlooking the beach, and the option of stepping onto the beach right from the villa, makes it both fun and leisurely. Facilities for kids were good as well with one infant cot and two bunk beds and both ensuite bathrooms and a detached bathroom with bath tub, made it very easy for us with the kids.

A fully equipped kitchen, maid and chef at your disposal, gives you the option of never leaving the villa during your stay is you so wish. The owner himself was extremely helpful with anything we required including guiding us about the right attractions around the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and setting of the villa, with the pool facing the beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmommy77
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent villa, made our holiday fabulous”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The villa is splendid. It's very big, spacious, modern, and clean. We were traveling with 8 adults and 6 children. 6 people were in Rose Villa and 8 other people fro our group stayed next door at Dom's other villa, Moonstone. It was very convenient for us as the kids went from villa to villa safely via the beach (the road would be too unsafe), as there is always a security guard nearby on the beach and there are cameras too. The staff were excellent and very friendly. They brought us our breakfast every morning at a time agreed upon. They arranged dinner for us at the villa several times and the food was very good. The views are stunning and the beach is nice, but the water can be dangerous so kids need to be watched at all times if they want to have a dip. The road is very busy and loud, which can make it hard to sleep at night, so bring ear plugs. Dom said he was working on a few strategies to try and reduce the noise with triple glazing, etc. The WIFI was not working during our stay but apparently that is not usual, it didn't really bother us too much as there was many other great things to do! Going into Galle or Hikkaduwa via tuk tuk is quite easy, they charge you about 1200 rupees and they wait for you. My 10 year old son went to the surf beach in Galle 3 days in a row and loved it (he had lessons). The beds are incredibly comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and have great rain showers. Overall, great holiday, thank you Dom and staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view, the size of the property
Liked least: The road noise
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proyle
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great villa, wonderful location.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 8 days in Rose villa. Is set right on the beach so the view is stunning, especially at sunset. Fishermen drag their boats up and down the lovely sandy beach and you can buy fresh produce of them as they land it. The villa was great and realy well appointed in the Sri Lankan style with lots of local furniture and artifacts.
Dom, the owner, lives next door and is always on hand to help. There are permanent staff, including chef ( awesome guy very helpful and wonderful food ), maid ahmmmmm good do better, handyman, great guy very helpful, pool guy/gardener keeps the outside area clean and very tidy. There is also security at night although we felt very safe in and around Galle, as the locals are so friendly and helpful.
Overall we loved the place, the only negative being the noise from the road that the villa fronts on to, but we soon got used to it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owe G
1 review
“Owe, says "Best Ever"”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Clean, best sevices,everything in function, exelent food from the staff.friendly ..... What more can we say....seven points of maximum five to give!!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing