We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent villa, made our holiday fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rose Villa

Your own private 5 star
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private 5 star
Indian ocean at your feet Magical evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Your own private 5 star
Indian ocean at your feet
Magical evening
Luxury and comfort assured
A home from home
Ocean terrace
Italian styled bathrooms
Relax among the palm trees
Elephants on the beach
Our wonderful beach looking south from the end of the villa
Private pool area
Luxury four poster beds with imported mattresses for added comfort
Large lounge area fully equip
Italian inspired bathroom
Lounge to pool area
Luxury interiors
Let us look after you
Entrance to Rose Villa
Welcome to paradise
Bathroom three robes providing for your comfort
Sunset from the the pool
Handmade kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kmommy77
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent villa, made our holiday fabulous”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The villa is splendid. It's very big, spacious, modern, and clean. We were traveling with 8 adults and 6 children. 6 people were in Rose Villa and 8 other people fro our group stayed next door at Dom's other villa, Moonstone. It was very convenient for us as the kids went from villa to villa safely via the beach (the road would be too unsafe), as there is always a security guard nearby on the beach and there are cameras too. The staff were excellent and very friendly. They brought us our breakfast every morning at a time agreed upon. They arranged dinner for us at the villa several times and the food was very good. The views are stunning and the beach is nice, but the water can be dangerous so kids need to be watched at all times if they want to have a dip. The road is very busy and loud, which can make it hard to sleep at night, so bring ear plugs. Dom said he was working on a few strategies to try and reduce the noise with triple glazing, etc. The WIFI was not working during our stay but apparently that is not usual, it didn't really bother us too much as there was many other great things to do! Going into Galle or Hikkaduwa via tuk tuk is quite easy, they charge you about 1200 rupees and they wait for you. My 10 year old son went to the surf beach in Galle 3 days in a row and loved it (he had lessons). The beds are incredibly comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and have great rain showers. Overall, great holiday, thank you Dom and staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view, the size of the property
Liked least: The road noise
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proyle
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great villa, wonderful location.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 8 days in Rose villa. Is set right on the beach so the view is stunning, especially at sunset. Fishermen drag their boats up and down the lovely sandy beach and you can buy fresh produce of them as they land it. The villa was great and realy well appointed in the Sri Lankan style with lots of local furniture and artifacts.
Dom, the owner, lives next door and is always on hand to help. There are permanent staff, including chef ( awesome guy very helpful and wonderful food ), maid ahmmmmm good do better, handyman, great guy very helpful, pool guy/gardener keeps the outside area clean and very tidy. There is also security at night although we felt very safe in and around Galle, as the locals are so friendly and helpful.
Overall we loved the place, the only negative being the noise from the road that the villa fronts on to, but we soon got used to it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owe G
1 review
“Owe, says "Best Ever"”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Clean, best sevices,everything in function, exelent food from the staff.friendly ..... What more can we say....seven points of maximum five to give!!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildyblue...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Welcome and Comfort after Long Journey”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The place is tastefully decorated and the chef and housekeeper looked after us very well. The rooms are comfortable with en-suite for two rooms. The pool is great and the beach is just a step away. The property is also on the main Colombo to Galle road, and that was the only disadvantage, as the noise was bad at 4am from the traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really comfortable and we were well looked after
Liked least: The traffic and noise from the main road
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your own personal luxury resort”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Rose Villa is an excellent property that exceeded our expectations. The house is beautifully appointed and the back garden with pool that overlooked the beach and the ocean was stunning. This is what drew us to this property in the first place. Dominic, the owner, was there to greet us on check-in and had everything arranged for us. He actually runs the property like a mini-resort, complete with personal chef, daily housekeeping, and optional day trips and excursions (for a price). Breakfast is cooked to order and included in the rate. You can then arrange with the personal chef for lunch and dinner options, cooked and served right in the villa. I highly recommend splurging for the Mixed Grill BBQ one night as well. The food was excellent and the atmosphere quite delightful.

My children loved it here and I felt very comfortable just letting them run and play in the yard. The loved the pool as well as the hammocks strung between the palm trees. The accommodations for the children were perfect as well. The house even has a bathtub, which can be a rare find in places throughout South Asia.

I would give our stay 4 3/4 out of 5 stars. The only real drawback to this place is the road noise. The villa is right along the coastal road that leads into Galle, so the traffic noise can be quite loud and the first bedroom is just a few feet off the street. I always sleep with ear plugs, so the noise did not bother me, but it did keep my children and husband up. I suggested earplugs for all of us the next time.

Overall, this was one of the nicest vacations my family and I have taken. I do hope to return again, but we will have to come up with something to deaden the road noise. But do not let that detract your form this place, as it is just absolutely lovely. The location is just 10 minutes outside Galle Fort, which is just a quick tuk tuk ride away. There are always one or two tuk tuks on the street just outside, so it is easy to get around the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, yard, and ocean.
Liked least: Road noise, mosquitos
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga_Tue
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the “Rose Villa” for the second time in November, 2014… What a lovely place! Going there again was like coming back home, and the house was just the same as we’ve remembered it – cool, clean, bright, cozy and very welcoming.
The hosts, Dominic and Anna, definitely are the nicest people I’ve met in Sri Lanka and their villa – the most pleasant place to stay in.
The location is unbeatable – close to both Galle and Hikka, to lively Unawatuna beach, beautiful Talpe and to marvelous Koggala Lake.
The house is situated right on the beach – you sleep and wake up listening to the ocean there.
The beds in “Rose Villa” are so comfortable, that you feel sorry leaving them in the morning.
Absolutely NO mosquitos or any other bugs in the house or around it – rare thing for Sri Lanka.
Nice and clean small pool.
Charming palm garden.
Fully stocked kitchen.
Bright living-room (with TV, DVD, sound system, books, movies and board games).
Large bathrooms with lots of towels, toiletries and constantly hot water in the shower.
Good WiFi.
Staff that will help you if you need it – and won’t be on sight if you want to be left alone.
Long yellow sandy beach – quite clean and almost deserted, great for a walk and for a picnic, with big waves – yet still quite safe for swimming (without going too far, of course).
All these big and small details turn the “Rose Villa” to a very special place – the one that is hard to leave and impossible to forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, the beach, the view, the beds and our total privacy there.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelled...
South Coast UK
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly as described, wonderful.”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Loved this villa, the four of us had a wonderful two weeks here. Great location, lulled to sleep at night by the waves on the shore. White sand beach at the bottom of the garden, no one to be seen except friendly local fishermen who will sell you Red Snapper and Lobsters from last nights catch. Cool swimming pool in the garden that's well maintained, fresh towels put out by the Gardner each morning. Smiling staff arrive to cook a great breakfast at your convinience.
Dom, the owner could not be more helpful, not intrusive but always around to advise. Fixed us up with a great travel company that dealt with out airport transfers and took us on a trip around Kandy, minibus and driver all inc for just £40 per day ( we provided a hotel room for the driver).
I would not hesitate to go back .

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;